Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RF Modulator headache

Banned
    Thanks

Thumbs up RF Modulator headache

This is a new experiment for me so I'm no expert, so I hope somebody can help...

I have connected an RF Modulator to a CCTV camera system via HDMI and want to display to all TV's. So the setup I have tried is:
    I have a 4 port splitter from FTA with masthead amplifier;
    I have the modulator and FTA connected to a combiner (reverse 2 port splitter with all port power pass), connected to the input of the 4 port splitter, making sure the cable connection to the
    masthead amplifier power supply is in correct port.

I just want to know if this is a correct setup? As I lose all TV channels when connected like this (I have tried 3 different combiners)
    The two splitters are from different manufacturers, does this matter?
    The modulator is working as if I connect it direct to a TV it works

Any suggestions or tips/tricks and don't do's would be appreciated.
    thanks..

Look Here ->
    Banned

Thanks
    Thanked 1,964 Times in 714 Posts

the modulator is getting up the masthead amp and squashing it

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

More info needed.

What frequencies are your TV channels and your modulator?

What type of modulator.. analogue or digital? Make/model or specs would be helpful.

What signal levels are each of your off air channels and the modulated signal (at the amp input?)

Make/model of amp... or specifications?

The connection method you are using is OK, however it's essential that signal levels are balanced... eg: all around the same level.

If not balanced, the modulated signal may be overloading the amp, or causing errors in the digital data stream.

Make of splitter/combiner doesn't matter, providing they cover the frequencies used.