Thread: Which GPS for my phone?

Thanks

Default Which GPS for my phone?

G'day,

I'm new to smartphones and the thing I'm most interested in with smartphones is the GPS. I'm looking to download a GPS program for my nokia 6210 (which i'll be getting in a week or so) but totally unsure which compay is for me. So far i've heard of Garmin, Route 66 and TomTom.

Having never used a GPS before I'm unsure on which features are good etc (that's why I'm asking you) but I DO know that the program I want needs to have pedestrian + in car navigation.

So i'm asking for advice. Which program, in your expert opinions, is the best? Garmin, Route 66 or TomTom keeping in mind it must have pedestrian + in car navigation.

Also I'm unsure of how the pricing works. I understand if you do everything legit you have to buy the program, pay for maps and pay for spoken turn by turn directions plus data charges for assisted GPS. However, if I download a pirated version from here and download maps, the only thing I should be paying for is the data charge for assisted GPS, correct?

I really hope someone takes the time to help. I've tried googling stuff but it's all very confusing.

Thanks.

EDIT: I should aslo say that the program must work with an inbuilt GPS receiver.

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 13,731 Times in 5,823 Posts

Tomtom is your best all round option , though iGo is also popular. I havent used Garmin and Route66 is pretty crap in my opinion.

Have a look at , if you cant find what you want do a Google for IPmart forums as you will find what you are looking for there with a bit of searching.

I am not familar with your phone , but I cant see why you would be paying anything at all. You need the software application , a map and it either uses an inbuilt GPS receiver or a bluetooth one.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 13,731 Times in 5,823 Posts