Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: RF Switch for Mobile Phone/ Caravan Tracker

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default RF Switch for Mobile Phone/ Caravan Tracker

    I have a mobile phone aerial on top of a Winegard TV aerial on our Caravan. I would like to share this aerial between my Blue Tick Mobile Phone with an aerial connection at the back of the phone and with a Caravan Tracker (send SMS messages).

    If we are in the van will have the switch to the mobile phone, away from the van will switch to the Tracker.

    If necessary can have 12v power to the switch. I think the Telstra mobile phone Band is 850 to 2300Mhz.

    Since this will be used in the outback on the Telstra Network, the switch needs minimal losses, otherwise I will just do cable re connects.

    Appreciate the model of the switch and a stockist.

    Thanks

    Peter



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,741
    Thanks
    5,183
    Thanked 11,471 Times in 5,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    4031
    Reputation
    165111

    Default

    Peter,

    A selector switch such as will do the job.

    It uses N type connectors. and has low loss, even up to 3GHz (3000MHz).

    There may be some other types available with SMA connectors, but I use the type in the link for antenna changeover.

    There are cheaper types, but most don't cover the higher frequency bands above 1MHz or if they do, often at considerable loss.

    That type doesn't require power.

    There are several coaxial relay-type antenna switches also available, which require power to change contacts, but for your purpose, a simple mechanical switch would be fine.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    PeterInSa (23-09-18)

  • #3
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,741
    Thanks
    5,183
    Thanked 11,471 Times in 5,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    4031
    Reputation
    165111

    Default

    Andrews Communications in Sydney also have the Avair SW2N switch with similar specs to the Diamond switch.

    Note that they are closed until 2 October.


  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    PeterInSa (23-09-18)

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    Thanks MTV a bit cheaper than:


    Any idea on the loss of signal eg if I have a dot and a small bar on the phone will the small bar disappear?

    Thanks

  • #5
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,741
    Thanks
    5,183
    Thanked 11,471 Times in 5,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    4031
    Reputation
    165111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterInSa View Post
    Thanks MTV a bit cheaper than:


    Any idea on the loss of signal eg if I have a dot and a small bar on the phone will the small bar disappear?

    Thanks
    Impossible to even guess without knowing what those bars and dots equate to in actual signal level, but the switches I linked to specify less than 0.2dB even up to 3GHz which is very minimal.

    It likely wouldn't have any more noticeable loss compared to just joining cables/connectors together.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    PeterInSa (23-09-18)

  • #6
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,009
    Thanks
    2,403
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 401 Posts
    Rep Power
    458
    Reputation
    19657

    Default

    the andrews sw is about right but use good quality n types and no adapters and you wont notice the losses ? what sort of coax are you going to use ?? perhaps more to the point and how long is it going to be ????

  • #7
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks
    2,751
    Thanked 1,259 Times in 409 Posts
    Rep Power
    584
    Reputation
    21522

    Default

    Disregard I should have read the post correctly.
    Last edited by SS Dave; 23-09-18 at 09:28 AM.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    I have a Bracket at the top of the TV antenna with the Mobile Phone GSM Broomstick aerial( approx 1m in length) bolted onto the bracket. The mobile phone cable is around 3m and is type Cellfoil Low loss RG58 Type RF1 Cat 9006 the connector of this cable will screw into the switch, but I may need a converter connector.

    Out of the switch Port1, I intended to use 2m of RG58 cable to the phone, with a small joiner piece/tail to reduce the size of the plug to connect the phone, or if not using the phone a joiner/tail with 2 small aerial plugs for the 3G/4G Telstra modem.

    Out of the switch Port2, similar RG58 Cable 1m long to the Tracker.

  • #9
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,009
    Thanks
    2,403
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 401 Posts
    Rep Power
    458
    Reputation
    19657

    Default

    forget the rg58 and go to rg400 or similar may be a photo to see the connectors then the advice can be better regards don

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    Mobile phone aerial come wit RG58, I do not want to change that.

    Will look at using RG400 for the switch output cables.

  • #11
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,009
    Thanks
    2,403
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 401 Posts
    Rep Power
    458
    Reputation
    19657

    Default

    so ? whats the connectors ??as this is where your losses will occur there are also coaxial sw with sma connectors may be worth a thought as these have less losses in general

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    Will look at getting the switch and connectors in early October.
    RG400 does not appear to be available in Adelaide will look at below to purchase.

  • #13
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,009
    Thanks
    2,403
    Thanked 1,114 Times in 401 Posts
    Rep Power
    458
    Reputation
    19657

    Default connector

    how much do you need may have some here for you ? and what connectors do you need ? ntype ,sma .smb, bnc ?regards don
    Last edited by hinekadon; 23-09-18 at 10:33 AM. Reason: more

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    PeterInSa (23-09-18)

  • #14
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,741
    Thanks
    5,183
    Thanked 11,471 Times in 5,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    4031
    Reputation
    165111

    Default

    For the length of cable, the RG58 you currently use will be fine.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    PeterInSa (23-09-18)

  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    Finally got around to installing the Tracker on our caravan as discussed here:


    Used the switch as mentioned above ie SW2N.
    Comments about my setup. My lo Tek Blue Tick phone had 5 Bars in the caravan, when connected to the mobile phone aerial on top of the winegard TV aerial with the aerial flat on the roof of the caravan the phone dropped down to 3 bars, raising the aerial 1/3 back to 5 bars.

    Switching to the Tracker it worked straight off. However I had previously purchased a Telstra Sim (Post $0) with $30 charge for 6 months. I registered/activated the sim and all good but the replies after a command was sent were slow took about 30 sec. Note I only use the Tracker in SMS mode. However when I sent the command that included Telstra APN, ( This command was not in the instruction manual but the manufacturer in China replied within 2 hours with the details) the following day SMS replys from the tracker were just about instantaneous. Don't understand this since I am not using GPRS or the WEB for tracking only SMS's.

    Purchased the N Type Plugs from Jaycar for the switch connections, and checked Youtube for the method of connect them. Only came across one vid that mentioned the N Type in a very negative way since he showed how to connect the PL-259 that seem a lot easier. Rang Jaycar and they did not know what I was talking about. Wanted to see the switch ( I already knew they may not have the PL-259 since it was not in their online Catalogue.) Anyway I figured it out with a mate who was an ex Ham radio type.

    Peter

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •