Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Beginner Networking Question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Beginner Networking Question

    Hi Everyone,

    As I was talking about in my intro I have been doing some reading on the web as I'm looking to setup my own little network at home with my 4 computers to be able to share files but have a main computer which will hold my files.
    I was wanting to do it through wireless without having a router but from all my reading I don't think this is possible as from the sites and documents are all saying a router is needed otherwise I would need to make one of them a hotspot which I don't really want.

    I hope this question makes sense basically 4 computers.. I want to have 1 of them the main one which holds all my files and the others can go and get things from it when needed and basically just storage and eventually have a little app center interface

    Any suggestions or help on where to start would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,964
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 392 Times in 185 Posts
    Rep Power
    868
    Reputation
    28487

    Default

    a cheap $10 second hand wireless router plugged into the main comp and all others
    can connect to it

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    NumbNut (05-10-18)

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,255
    Thanks
    1,240
    Thanked 1,180 Times in 567 Posts
    Rep Power
    530
    Reputation
    19788

    Default

    There are a number of ways to achieve what you seem to want with or without a router. How are you connecting to the Internet at the moment? Are your computers currently sharing an internet connection? Do you want to use the internet at all on these computers? If not, take a look at the second option (ad hoc wireless network) .
    If you do want to share an internet connection from a Windows machine there are various options including "internet connection sharing" which I believe still exists in Windows 10.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to DB44 For This Useful Post:

    NumbNut (05-10-18)

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DB44 View Post
    There are a number of ways to achieve what you seem to want with or without a router. How are you connecting to the Internet at the moment? Are your computers currently sharing an internet connection? Do you want to use the internet at all on these computers? If not, take a look at the second option (ad hoc wireless network) .
    If you do want to share an internet connection from a Windows machine there are various options including "internet connection sharing" which I believe still exists in Windows 10.

    My computers connect currently through router to the interwebs..

    Is it possible to have that still continue but have this main computer have a router connected directly to it and have the other connect to that for file sharing and cool things ?

    sorry I have tried searching this but couldn't find much.

    Thank you again

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,671
    Thanks
    177
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 691 Posts
    Rep Power
    532
    Reputation
    13898

    Default

    i dont think so
    which modem is it, that will help, if its a basic modem-router with wireless & 2 or 4 lan ports
    you can share files through that, on your main rig, pick some folders to share, movies etc, check share permissions etc, if windows 10 though, they have killed the homegroup sharing, but its ok

    1st, on your share rig, go to network connections & find your local ip, eg. 192.168.0.50 or 10.0.0.56 < telstra modems
    on another computer,in your start button or cortina, find the "run" dialog box, type in \\192.168.0.xxx or \\10.0.0.96 (my main rig) & your share folders should appear

    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    NumbNut (05-10-18)

  • #6
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,964
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 392 Times in 185 Posts
    Rep Power
    868
    Reputation
    28487

    Default

    if your setup is similar to my terrible picture then as phil mentioned
    all you need to do is create a share on the main comp and then you can connect to
    that share from your other computers because they would all be on the same network ip range

    the only thing you would need to double check is if they are all on the same home group
    the default being WORKGROUP





    Last edited by fandtm666; 05-10-18 at 12:24 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    NumbNut (05-10-18)

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thank you everyone I will try that.. thanks for your time.

  • #8
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,331
    Thanks
    6,330
    Thanked 4,069 Times in 2,036 Posts
    Rep Power
    1781
    Reputation
    72640

    Default

    Are you running the same version of Windwoes on all of your machines? It gets messy if you aren't. Be prepared for some crazy issues where windoze "forgets" that there is a computer connected to your network.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    AB8XL (10-10-18),Tiny (06-10-18)

  • #9
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    59
    Posts
    5,698
    Thanks
    9,350
    Thanked 4,381 Times in 2,253 Posts
    Rep Power
    1645
    Reputation
    67957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Are you running the same version of Windwoes on all of your machines? It gets messy if you aren't. Be prepared for some crazy issues where windoze "forgets" that there is a computer connected to your network.
    yep +1 on that, it gets very weird if they aren't all on the same OS.


    Also if he has the 1803 or later build of W10 there is no HomeGroup.
    Instructions & links to setting up network without HomeGroup can be found at


    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Morning everyone.. I did some playing and well I couldn't get it to work so I'm gonna try Tiny's suggestion with the link as I didn't see that when I was playing around with it.. oh well back to it

    I have tomorrow off so I will try again.

  • #11
    Junior Member AB8XL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    I'm thinking a router and mapping shared directories on the other computers would be the quickest way to share files between machines.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •