Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Win 7 - Computer Password

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 111 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    506

    Default Win 7 - Computer Password

    My elderly neighbour has a Win 7 laptop and apparently he can no longer log into his computer using his password. He asked me to help but I do not know how to help him.

    I have been through the usual things like - are you using the right password, are you using the right case for letters etc but he is adamant he is using the password he set up in Win 7 and has been using.

    So is there a simple way to get around/disable the password system so he can gain access to the computer to change his password.

    Thanks

    Garry



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,046
    Thanks
    5,188
    Thanked 3,903 Times in 1,641 Posts
    Rep Power
    1146
    Reputation
    43798

    Default

    Finding the solution to your/his problem is not rocket science.

    Using Google or a similar SEARCH ENGINE ( ) for a solution to the problem yields many results, e.g. .

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    osczzzz (29-10-18)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 66 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    1359

    Default

    from cnet

    Step 1: Restart your Windows 7 computer and hold on pressing F8 to enter Advanced Boot Options. Step 2: Choose Safe Mode with Command Prompt in the coming screen and press Enter. Step 3: In pop-up command prompt window, type net user and hit Enter. Then all Windows 7 user accounts would be listed in the window.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,038
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 450 Times in 217 Posts
    Rep Power
    896
    Reputation
    29647

    Default


  • #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 111 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    506

    Default

    Thanks for all the input and the links - I have passed them on to the elderly gent. I went into my old Win 7 laptop, I could not get it to go into Safe Mode (F8) does not work on my laptop - however from Windows I went into Command Prompt and typed net user and hit Enter. Yes the user accounts came up on my laptop (me) but there was no password information.

    Thanks for the help.

    Garry

  • #6
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,459
    Thanks
    5,103
    Thanked 11,188 Times in 5,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    3879
    Reputation
    158290

    Default

    Hiren's Boot CD allows you to reset the password.

  • #7
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 66 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    1359

    Default



    you can force safe mode by starting and then switching off before it has time to boot usually 3 times then it auto goes into safe mode because it thinks there is a problem with windows

  • #8
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 388 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    168
    Reputation
    7334

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dai View Post
    it auto goes into safe mode because it thinks there is a problem with windows
    There is!

    It's windows.

  • #9
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 66 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    1359

    Default

    it forces it to acknowledge the fact

  • #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 111 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dai View Post


    you can force safe mode by starting and then switching off before it has time to boot usually 3 times then it auto goes into safe mode because it thinks there is a problem with windows
    Mine doesn't - it goes into recovery mode as it thinks files have been corrupted (mine is a HP with the HP bloatware on it so that is maybe why - but you dont need to be in safe mode to get into Command Prompt anyway - you can do it from Windows.

  • #11
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 713 Posts
    Rep Power
    556
    Reputation
    14818

    Default

    this will do the job
    bit of a big download but a good keeper

    Last edited by Philquad; 31-10-18 at 11:18 AM.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (31-10-18),tristen (01-11-18)

  • #12
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,087
    Thanks
    2,603
    Thanked 1,099 Times in 368 Posts
    Rep Power
    513
    Reputation
    18322

    Default

    Had a friend give me her 13 year old daughter's notebook that was locked and they had tried every password she has ever used and really needed homework off it.

    Dr Google sent me to iSunshare software from memory 20 bucks load to a Bootable USB, click on the locked account and reboot, password gone.

    I had told her that it's a waste of time with passwords for Windoze login especially for kids computers.
    She now agrees that password aren't worth-it.

    Cheers

    SS Dave

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •