Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: WiFi Extenders

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,954
    Thanks
    10,960
    Thanked 16,698 Times in 5,393 Posts
    Rep Power
    6147
    Reputation
    279169

    Default WiFi Extenders

    Do they work as advertised?

    Any recommendations?

    Cheers
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 239 Times in 101 Posts
    Rep Power
    108
    Reputation
    4790

    Default

    Bought one 2 weeks ago.
    Mainly so I could print directly and wirelessly from my camera to printer direct. The one I got is a TPlink Nano router. Multifunction thing that works great.
    It can be setup as a travel router, a hotspot router, a range extender and an accesspoint.

    Because the wireless router is in my office at one end of the house, Mrs and daughter were complaining there wasn't much signal in the main loungeroom 25M away at the other end.
    I put this thing in the Kitchen which is 3/4 the way down in extender mode and the signal all round the house is heaps better, even outside on the verandahs which is handy on these warmer nights when sitting out there.

    It's only a small thing and cost $30 delivered. I think I'll get another couple, one to do what this one was slated for, keep in my gear bag for using on the road when I'm working and leave the other one in situ as it is. The 3rd one I'll take to the holiday house as the Wifi there is crap in most of the place and we can't move the router.

    One I have is model number TL- WR802N
    A lot of this IT gear shits me to tears even though I am not inexperienced with it. Al ot of the configurations and setups they use are stupid though. This thing has been great. Logical, easy to access the setup and controls and straight forward to use. Much better than I would have hoped for . the price was great and the performance from a little thing is excellent.

    Can't really fault it.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to george65 For This Useful Post:

    enf (31-10-18)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,410
    Thanks
    6,788
    Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,146 Posts
    Rep Power
    3310
    Reputation
    133232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by enf View Post
    Do they work as advertised?

    Any recommendations?

    Cheers
    I think from Memory, a WiFi Extender will also halve your data rate possible?

    I have been using the EoP solutions for years, so much better
    If that is an option for you, i'd do that.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #4
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,955
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 384 Times in 181 Posts
    Rep Power
    864
    Reputation
    28327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    I think from Memory, a WiFi Extender will also halve your data rate possible?

    I have been using the EoP solutions for years, so much better
    If that is an option for you, i'd do that.
    i have also setup eop units for people and i think they work much better.

    but if it is wireless that is needed then the units that plug into the power points and
    distribute from there work better that the standard AP in my opinion

  • #5
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,954
    Thanks
    10,960
    Thanked 16,698 Times in 5,393 Posts
    Rep Power
    6147
    Reputation
    279169

    Default

    The 5ghz signal at the other end of the house is very weak. Speed is down to about a third.

    I just want to boost the signal a bit.

    The power circuit at the other end of the house is a different circuit and I assumed EoP isn't feasible.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #6
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,410
    Thanks
    6,788
    Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,146 Posts
    Rep Power
    3310
    Reputation
    133232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by enf View Post
    The 5ghz signal at the other end of the house is very weak. Speed is down to about a third.

    I just want to boost the signal a bit.

    The power circuit at the other end of the house is a different circuit and I assumed EoP isn't feasible.
    It doesn't care what circuit you put it on, if its in the same house
    I've always wondered how far out the street the EoP goes

    It no doubt prefers the same circuit, but ive had it work over multiple!
    IE: 1 x Sender and 4 x Receivers all on different circuits, then to a WiFi AP in each room

    That is what happens when the walls are 600mm solid concrete

    If you can get a Data Cable down the other end of the house (through roof or under floor) i'd do that, then deploy your new AP

    BTW, i find 5Ghz is not as good as 2.4Mhz for penetration
    Last edited by oceanboy; 31-10-18 at 03:26 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to oceanboy For This Useful Post:

    enf (31-10-18)

  • #7
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,070
    Thanked 12,739 Times in 5,469 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    145358

    Default

    I have a couple of TP Link ones somewhere on my network.

  • #8
    Premium Member
    Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    942
    Thanks
    3,781
    Thanked 752 Times in 246 Posts
    Rep Power
    410
    Reputation
    12342

    Default

    I use a netgear ex7000 extender and it works a treat. No drop outs and still receives a signal from the Telstra Smart modem 30 metres away through 3 brick walls and pass the kitchen. Trouble is, as oceanboy nailed it, an extender halves your signal because it's using the 2,4 and 5 ghz to communicate with the modem while your devices use the same. Went into Hardly Normals and looked at the Tri band Orbi. It was explained to me the tri band setup means you retain your signal strength because the third band is the one used for communication between your modem and extender leaving the 2.4 and 5 ghz free for your devices. Also, with extenders normally, your SSID for the extender will have the .EXT on your SSID, meaning as you move around the house your device must access either the modem SSID or extender SSID with the .EXT on the end. The tri banders use the same SSID through both the modem and extender so no changing SSID needs to occur and you can move around your house without noticing whether your device is accessing the modem or the extender. Trouble is the tri banders are expensive. Hope I've explained my understanding properly.
    Last edited by Keith; 01-11-18 at 09:44 AM. Reason: ghz instead of gb. doh
    You can learn alot using Google, and the search button.....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Keith For This Useful Post:

    enf (31-10-18)

  • #9
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,954
    Thanks
    10,960
    Thanked 16,698 Times in 5,393 Posts
    Rep Power
    6147
    Reputation
    279169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    It doesn't care what circuit you put it on, if its in the same house
    I've always wondered how far out the street the EoP goes

    It no doubt prefers the same circuit, but ive had it work over multiple!
    IE: 1 x Sender and 4 x Receivers all on different circuits, then to a WiFi AP in each room

    That is what happens when the walls are 600mm solid concrete

    If you can get a Data Cable down the other end of the house (through roof or under floor) i'd do that, then deploy your new AP

    BTW, i find 5Ghz is not as good as 2.4Mhz for penetration
    My 2.4 reception up the other end is practically non existant. 5ghz gives about a third of the speed. It's not a huge problem, but the missus wants a netbox for tv up there so I have to come up with something.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    942
    Thanks
    3,781
    Thanked 752 Times in 246 Posts
    Rep Power
    410
    Reputation
    12342

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by enf View Post
    My 2.4 reception up the other end is practically non existant. 5ghz gives about a third of the speed. It's not a huge problem, but the missus wants a netbox for tv up there so I have to come up with something.
    You should have 2.4 better than 5 ghz. Whilst 5ghz is faster than 2.4, 2.4 has better distance.
    You can learn alot using Google, and the search button.....

  • #11
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,954
    Thanks
    10,960
    Thanked 16,698 Times in 5,393 Posts
    Rep Power
    6147
    Reputation
    279169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith View Post
    You should have 2.4 better than 5 ghz. Whilst 5ghz is faster than 2.4, 2.4 has better distance.
    That's not what seems to be happening Keith. I have a Huawei modem router from iinet at 2.4. This connects via cable to a dual band router.

    Neither 2.4 is anywhere near as strong as the 5ghz at the other end of the house. This runs at about 1/3 strength. I suppose the router should be located more centrally, but there isn't really anywhere convenient. Even though I have all the gear, I'm getting too old, too fat, and physically decrepit to crawl about laying cat6 as well.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #12
    Premium Member
    Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    942
    Thanks
    3,781
    Thanked 752 Times in 246 Posts
    Rep Power
    410
    Reputation
    12342

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by enf View Post
    That's not what seems to be happening Keith. I have a Huawei modem router from iinet at 2.4. This connects via cable to a dual band router.

    Neither 2.4 is anywhere near as strong as the 5ghz at the other end of the house. This runs at about 1/3 strength. I suppose the router should be located more centrally, but there isn't really anywhere convenient. Even though I have all the gear, I'm getting too old, too fat, and physically decrepit to crawl about laying cat6 as well.
    Same here, too old to crawl around in the roof doing cable install. All my readings and playing about with wifi tells me that 2.4 ghz, whilst not as fast as 5 ghz, will travel further. With the 1/3 strength of your 5, this does happen. The further you are from the wifi modem, strength will be reduced. I can't explain why you are getting 5 ghz and no 2.4 ghz. Is is possible your 2.4 ghz is being affected by cordless phones, microwave oven or other things on the 2.4 ghz band?
    You can learn alot using Google, and the search button.....

  • #13
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,954
    Thanks
    10,960
    Thanked 16,698 Times in 5,393 Posts
    Rep Power
    6147
    Reputation
    279169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith View Post
    Same here, too old to crawl around in the roof doing cable install. All my readings and playing about with wifi tells me that 2.4 ghz, whilst not as fast as 5 ghz, will travel further. With the 1/3 strength of your 5, this does happen. The further you are from the wifi modem, strength will be reduced. I can't explain why you are getting 5 ghz and no 2.4 ghz. Is is possible your 2.4 ghz is being affected by cordless phones, microwave oven or other things on the 2.4 ghz band?
    I don't see how...the router is connected via cable. Halfway up the house the loss is minimal. That's where I would put the extender. Still thinking it over....

    I might just make a longer lead and see what happens when I centrally place the router....
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •