Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Weird keyboard issue.

  1. #1
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,276
    Thanks
    6,252
    Thanked 4,029 Times in 2,015 Posts
    Rep Power
    1762
    Reputation
    71840

    Default Weird keyboard issue.

    I purchased a laptop at auction and, whilst it performs brilliantly, I've found that two keys do not work. Given that they are not critical to the operation of the computer it's no biggie...but.

    Has anyone ever come across a situation where two keys (in this case the "UP" key and the "Left square Bracket" key) do not work. Everything else is fine but not combination of keys i.e. <shift><ctrl><Fn> can get even a peep out of them. Given that they are not adjacent one another, it seems odd that both keys would display the same symptom.

    I can live without them, I'm just curious. (Of course wee all know what happened to that cat.)
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,671
    Thanks
    177
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 691 Posts
    Rep Power
    532
    Reputation
    13898

    Default

    2, 3 whole keyboards
    depending model, most are easy replaced for $18
    i had 1 other week only 2 keys worked !
    it was shat
    bought a clone, popped it out
    done
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    dashinson (03-11-18)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,276
    Thanks
    6,252
    Thanked 4,029 Times in 2,015 Posts
    Rep Power
    1762
    Reputation
    71840

    Default

    I know I could replace the keyboard, and may do so if it becomes a nuisance. I just found it odd that two non-adjacent keys, and keys that would not necessarily be used a lot, would not work in exactly the same manner.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,969
    Thanks
    5,032
    Thanked 3,824 Times in 1,600 Posts
    Rep Power
    1109
    Reputation
    42218

    Default

    The problem you experience might not be due to faulty keys/switches, but a to fault in the keyboard decoder circuitry, which is integral to the keyboard. Therefore keyboard replacement cures the 'problem'

    There is more than one possible cause for this particular malfunction.

    (Unable to see the forest for the trees?).

  • #5
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,981
    Thanks
    1,491
    Thanked 1,624 Times in 788 Posts
    Rep Power
    687
    Reputation
    22868

    Default

    I was trying to do a business email on Sunday and keys had swapped places, the # became a Pound note, several others changed config, so put it off until am Monday, switched on computer and all was normal?
    Have an expensive micro soft split key board so wont be turfing it
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,276
    Thanks
    6,252
    Thanked 4,029 Times in 2,015 Posts
    Rep Power
    1762
    Reputation
    71840

    Default

    keys had swapped places, the # became a Pound note,
    Sounds like someone, or something has changed your "locale" or whatever they call it in Windwoes.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,671
    Thanks
    177
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 691 Posts
    Rep Power
    532
    Reputation
    13898

    Default

    exactly dear watson
    just change keyboard to united kingdom & presto
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •