Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

    What will it do to our BA if I take the battery out and use it elsewhere for a few hours?

    Could it actually help things by restoring factory defaults in the same way that rebooting an ordinary computer (rather than a car computer) restores defaults and often fixes problems?

    I think I've heard in the past that actually it screws everything up and cars often won't start after doing that. What's the truth?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,274
    Thanks
    6,249
    Thanked 4,025 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    1761
    Reputation
    71760

    Default

    I don't foresee any problems. Be aware that the car might run like a hairy goat for a little while afterwards whilst the computer "re-learns" your driving style. It WON'T fix any problems with sensors and the like, so a re-boot won't fix that.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,981
    Thanks
    1,491
    Thanked 1,624 Times in 788 Posts
    Rep Power
    687
    Reputation
    22868

    Default

    Radio Code?????????
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • The Following User Says Thank You to allover For This Useful Post:

    enf (09-11-18)

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,946
    Thanks
    10,954
    Thanked 16,654 Times in 5,384 Posts
    Rep Power
    6129
    Reputation
    278289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Radio Code?????????
    That's the only issue I can think of.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    94
    Reputation
    715

    Default

    No worries I do it all the time in my Ed and xh. Radios ok cos no code.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    57
    Posts
    1,072
    Thanks
    2,481
    Thanked 1,054 Times in 358 Posts
    Rep Power
    490
    Reputation
    17422

    Default

    I the BA and onward the radio is locked to the VIN number stored in the BCM. If it displays code remove key from ignition lock then reinsert key and turn to run position and then the radio will re link itself.

    SS Dave

  • The Following User Says Thank You to SS Dave For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (09-11-18)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •