Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

    What will it do to our BA if I take the battery out and use it elsewhere for a few hours?

    Could it actually help things by restoring factory defaults in the same way that rebooting an ordinary computer (rather than a car computer) restores defaults and often fixes problems?

    I think I've heard in the past that actually it screws everything up and cars often won't start after doing that. What's the truth?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,082
    Thanks
    7,348
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,311 Posts
    Rep Power
    2053
    Reputation
    84520

    Default

    I don't foresee any problems. Be aware that the car might run like a hairy goat for a little while afterwards whilst the computer "re-learns" your driving style. It WON'T fix any problems with sensors and the like, so a re-boot won't fix that.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,095
    Thanks
    1,602
    Thanked 1,687 Times in 828 Posts
    Rep Power
    725
    Reputation
    24128

    Default

    Radio Code?????????
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • The Following User Says Thank You to allover For This Useful Post:

    enf (09-11-18)

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    65
    Posts
    13,709
    Thanks
    11,946
    Thanked 19,674 Times in 5,972 Posts
    Rep Power
    7371
    Reputation
    338689

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Radio Code?????????
    That's the only issue I can think of.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    176
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 50 Times in 44 Posts
    Rep Power
    108
    Reputation
    915

    Default

    No worries I do it all the time in my Ed and xh. Radios ok cos no code.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,156
    Thanks
    2,750
    Thanked 1,254 Times in 408 Posts
    Rep Power
    582
    Reputation
    21422

    Default

    I the BA and onward the radio is locked to the VIN number stored in the BCM. If it displays code remove key from ignition lock then reinsert key and turn to run position and then the radio will re link itself.

    SS Dave

  • The Following User Says Thank You to SS Dave For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (09-11-18)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •