Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Is It A Good Idea/Harmless - To Disconnect The Battery on a BA for a While?

    What will it do to our BA if I take the battery out and use it elsewhere for a few hours?

    Could it actually help things by restoring factory defaults in the same way that rebooting an ordinary computer (rather than a car computer) restores defaults and often fixes problems?

    I think I've heard in the past that actually it screws everything up and cars often won't start after doing that. What's the truth?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,619
    Thanks
    6,722
    Thanked 4,320 Times in 2,152 Posts
    Rep Power
    1895
    Reputation
    77660

    Default

    I don't foresee any problems. Be aware that the car might run like a hairy goat for a little while afterwards whilst the computer "re-learns" your driving style. It WON'T fix any problems with sensors and the like, so a re-boot won't fix that.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,023
    Thanks
    1,538
    Thanked 1,655 Times in 807 Posts
    Rep Power
    704
    Reputation
    23488

    Default

    Radio Code?????????
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • The Following User Says Thank You to allover For This Useful Post:

    enf (09-11-18)

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    65
    Posts
    13,317
    Thanks
    11,405
    Thanked 18,037 Times in 5,675 Posts
    Rep Power
    6698
    Reputation
    305949

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Radio Code?????????
    That's the only issue I can think of.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 44 Times in 39 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    795

    Default

    No worries I do it all the time in my Ed and xh. Radios ok cos no code.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,087
    Thanks
    2,603
    Thanked 1,099 Times in 368 Posts
    Rep Power
    513
    Reputation
    18322

    Default

    I the BA and onward the radio is locked to the VIN number stored in the BCM. If it displays code remove key from ignition lock then reinsert key and turn to run position and then the radio will re link itself.

    SS Dave

  • The Following User Says Thank You to SS Dave For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (09-11-18)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •