Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Fixed Wireless NBN

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default Fixed Wireless NBN

    Anyone running Fixed Wireless NBN here?

    I see there are some unlimited options out there for $50pm

    Just wondering if anyone is using them?
    Happy with results?

    Any good Fixed Wireless NBN + Mobile deals?
    I'm thinking your typical customer will be Husband and Wife (2 mobiles) and WiFi NBN for the Home.

    Trying to work out if there is a Product/Bundle that will encompass this or if we are still better buying separate products?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,859
    Thanks
    3,295
    Thanked 4,417 Times in 2,659 Posts
    Rep Power
    1485
    Reputation
    40691

    Default

    Side note...I wonder if anyone has tried to take their wifiNBN router to another node?
    I remember years ago when I was living in MtBeauty, as long as the line had an enabled service you could take your ADSL modem there and it would work there as well as your own house.

  • #3
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    I thought it was Cell Tower locked?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,863
    Thanks
    5,207
    Thanked 11,571 Times in 5,703 Posts
    Rep Power
    4077
    Reputation
    167111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    I thought it was Cell Tower locked?
    It is.

    Leroy was referring to an ADSL modem being movable in some circumstances.

    NBN wireless is indeed locked to a particular cell/tower.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (21-11-18),OSIRUS (21-11-18)

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    155
    Reputation
    240

    Default

    I have fixed wireless.
    Works well - rare to have drop outs and download speeds are good.
    I am on a 50/20 plan and get very close to that, but it does slow during peak periods.
    Don't think I have seen any bundles yet, but all the phones we use are prepaid so wouldn't need it.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Andrewpv01 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (21-11-18)

  • #6
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Thank you Andrew
    That is the way i see it now too....
    Maybe better to keep the mobile phone plans Pre Paid and separate so you can jump around

    Just need more NBN Wireless towers installed
    Last edited by ol' boy; 21-11-18 at 08:33 AM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,379
    Thanks
    897
    Thanked 332 Times in 219 Posts
    Rep Power
    272
    Reputation
    5604

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Just need more NBN Wireless towers installed
    Fixed Wireless NBN is only for areas not serviced by FTTN or FTTP.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #8
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Yup.
    Which is a shame
    But i have a lot of customers (most of them) that live between 7km and 20km from a town

    So they can't have normal ADSL or any over phone line internet option
    Satellite is just too old school and painful
    3G/4G is an option, but some don't even get Telstra Mobile service.... And even if they do, Unlimited Plans are $$$
    So... Seems Wireless NBN is the only functional and financial option for them
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #9
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,859
    Thanks
    3,295
    Thanked 4,417 Times in 2,659 Posts
    Rep Power
    1485
    Reputation
    40691

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    I thought it was Cell Tower locked?
    you would think so. I was just surprised when testing my adsl modem at someone elses place with my username and login details in modem.

    So maybe NBN wireless might be the same?

    My phone sim worked in sat phone so you never know.....

    Leroy

  • #10
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    I don't know anyone that has tried
    I remember speaking to a Telstra WiFi NBN installer last year, he was telling me how the service is locked to the tower the antenna is pointed too.

    So i guess you could move the modem anywhere with in that towers range?
    Or it might even be locked to a particular array on the tower?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #11
    Member
    Au_radio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    western Australia
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 157 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    129
    Reputation
    3150

    Default Fixed Wireless NBN

    Perhaps they are GPS locked also? As some digital radios as you know have GPS built-in

  • #12
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,794
    Thanks
    7,666
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Au_radio View Post
    Perhaps they are GPS locked also? As some digital radios as you know have GPS built-in
    Not sure how that would work, the WIFI NBN modems i've seen are installed deep in the middle of a house, no hope of a GPS signal from there
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #13
    Member
    Au_radio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    western Australia
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 157 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    129
    Reputation
    3150

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Not sure how that would work, the WIFI NBN modems i've seen are installed deep in the middle of a house, no hope of a GPS signal from there
    Im thinking possibly internet gathered A-GPS .

  • #14
    Junior Member Digitus1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Angry not so good for me

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrewpv01 View Post
    I have fixed wireless.
    Works well - rare to have drop outs and download speeds are good.
    I am on a 50/20 plan and get very close to that, but it does slow during peak periods.
    Don't think I have seen any bundles yet, but all the phones we use are prepaid so wouldn't need it.
    Mine worked well for the first year, the last two have been a nightmare of intermittent dropouts, download speed problems (21Mbps dropping to 0.6Mbps) upload is still good though!
    All on my tower are affected so I am assuming defective components in the tower that they just reboot instead of replacing :/

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Digitus1 For This Useful Post:

    irwazza (19-01-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •