Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: DVB-T Modulator Selection

  1. #1
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Novacastrian
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    142

    Default DVB-T Modulator Selection

    Im wondering if anybody has had much luck with budget priced DVB-T modulators since they have dropped in costs?
    This is for my home set up so an affordable choice would be great. All my TV's can support MPEG-4 input but from what I read MPEG-2 will suffice but please correct me if wrong or a better way known. Ch9 HD Regional can be viewed on all TV's. I have reasonable good understanding of distribution.

    I would like to convert the HDMI output of a Blu Ray Player (for example) into a digital RF that I can combine with my normal FTA system but allow IR to be returned to the Blu-ray device.
    My goal is to have the Blu-ray player in a central position and each of my 3 bedrooms to have only a single coax to each TV in each room. I would like to control the Blu-ray player from any of these rooms.
    I understand I would need a separate IR module in each room and 1 at the player. Can this IR be returned through the coax?
    If it helps with pricing I do not require HDMI loop.

    Can somebody recommend a good but well priced set up?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 214 Times in 127 Posts
    Rep Power
    220
    Reputation
    3356

    Default

    If you are up to speed with the latest technology, blue ray can be streaming via bluetooth or Wifi to ALL your "smart TV's"

    Nowadays I don't use the RF spectrum to get local tv channels. Live channels APP does it.
    Last edited by B52; 28-11-18 at 11:15 AM.

  • #3
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Novacastrian
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    142

    Default

    Blu-ray was just an example of possible input. It could even end up being a PC for Netflix/ FoxGo or NVR from CCTV.
    By inputting it back int Antenna signal it can be viewed on more than one TV.

  • #4
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    55
    Posts
    4,485
    Thanks
    1,438
    Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,060 Posts
    Rep Power
    926
    Reputation
    32175

    Default

    They are expensive. Google showed a few and this one looks like good value.......


    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,248
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 3,237 Times in 1,402 Posts
    Rep Power
    1137
    Reputation
    41470

    Default

    hdmi via cat6 extenders work very well if thats an option.......

    hdmi to dvb-t cheaper here.......

    Last edited by hoe; 28-11-18 at 12:11 PM.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    porkop (28-11-18)

  • #6
    Senior Member
    carjackma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    582
    Thanks
    805
    Thanked 329 Times in 213 Posts
    Rep Power
    215
    Reputation
    4210

    Default

    Cheaper here

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,248
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 3,237 Times in 1,402 Posts
    Rep Power
    1137
    Reputation
    41470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carjackma View Post
    Cheaper here

    now that is good value.......



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #8
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Novacastrian
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    142

    Default

    Those modulators are much cheaper. May play with one of these where I do not require IR return.
    Still looking for a Modulator which will do IR return from multiple rooms. Heading to ACE tomorrow. Always good for Knowledge.

  • #9
    Junior Member Rentakill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 46 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    147
    Reputation
    542

    Default

    Hi there.

    Have installed a few of these over the past few years.
    They work well - Can select which Logical Channel Number on your TV it will use, and also Name the Channel, adjust Dbuv Output Levels + a few other bits and pieces.
    Not bad for what they cost..

    See :


    Cheers:

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,508
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 73 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    812

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rentakill View Post
    Hi there.

    Have installed a few of these over the past few years.
    They work well - Can select which Logical Channel Number on your TV it will use, and also Name the Channel, adjust Dbuv Output Levels + a few other bits and pieces.
    Not bad for what they cost..

    See :


    Cheers:
    Just confirming... so this definitely takes HDMI input and DVB-T modulates RF out?

  • #11
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Novacastrian
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    142

    Default

    I think that's what I'm after and very well priced. I've given up on the IR feedback as these start at over $400. Ill just walk into the other room and select the channel first.

  • #12
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    55
    Posts
    4,485
    Thanks
    1,438
    Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,060 Posts
    Rep Power
    926
    Reputation
    32175

    Default

    Maybe a long way round but I use a CAT5 distribution for the video/audio out of my foxtel box. It has IR return and works very well. If you do need HDMI, why not go for a HDMI to video/audio option then feed that output into the cheaper CAT5 distribution for video and audio.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •