Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: DVB-T Modulator Selection

  1. #1
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default DVB-T Modulator Selection

    Im wondering if anybody has had much luck with budget priced DVB-T modulators since they have dropped in costs?
    This is for my home set up so an affordable choice would be great. All my TV's can support MPEG-4 input but from what I read MPEG-2 will suffice but please correct me if wrong or a better way known. Ch9 HD Regional can be viewed on all TV's. I have reasonable good understanding of distribution.

    I would like to convert the HDMI output of a Blu Ray Player (for example) into a digital RF that I can combine with my normal FTA system but allow IR to be returned to the Blu-ray device.
    My goal is to have the Blu-ray player in a central position and each of my 3 bedrooms to have only a single coax to each TV in each room. I would like to control the Blu-ray player from any of these rooms.
    I understand I would need a separate IR module in each room and 1 at the player. Can this IR be returned through the coax?
    If it helps with pricing I do not require HDMI loop.

    Can somebody recommend a good but well priced set up?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    643
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 268 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    257
    Reputation
    4436

    Default

    If you are up to speed with the latest technology, blue ray can be streaming via bluetooth or Wifi to ALL your "smart TV's"

    Nowadays I don't use the RF spectrum to get local tv channels. Live channels APP does it.
    Last edited by B52; 28-11-18 at 11:15 AM.

  • #3
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    Blu-ray was just an example of possible input. It could even end up being a PC for Netflix/ FoxGo or NVR from CCTV.
    By inputting it back int Antenna signal it can be viewed on more than one TV.

  • #4
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,686
    Thanks
    1,509
    Thanked 2,483 Times in 1,148 Posts
    Rep Power
    1025
    Reputation
    36095

    Default

    They are expensive. Google showed a few and this one looks like good value.......


    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,509
    Thanks
    226
    Thanked 3,496 Times in 1,521 Posts
    Rep Power
    1301
    Reputation
    48528

    Default

    hdmi via cat6 extenders work very well if thats an option.......

    hdmi to dvb-t cheaper here.......

    Last edited by hoe; 28-11-18 at 12:11 PM.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    porkop (28-11-18)

  • #6
    Senior Member
    carjackma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    598
    Thanks
    919
    Thanked 336 Times in 217 Posts
    Rep Power
    233
    Reputation
    4350

    Default

    Cheaper here

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,509
    Thanks
    226
    Thanked 3,496 Times in 1,521 Posts
    Rep Power
    1301
    Reputation
    48528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carjackma View Post
    Cheaper here

    now that is good value.......



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #8
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    Those modulators are much cheaper. May play with one of these where I do not require IR return.
    Still looking for a Modulator which will do IR return from multiple rooms. Heading to ACE tomorrow. Always good for Knowledge.

  • #9
    Junior Member Rentakill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 48 Times in 26 Posts
    Rep Power
    163
    Reputation
    582

    Default

    Hi there.

    Have installed a few of these over the past few years.
    They work well - Can select which Logical Channel Number on your TV it will use, and also Name the Channel, adjust Dbuv Output Levels + a few other bits and pieces.
    Not bad for what they cost..

    See :


    Cheers:

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,550
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 79 Times in 62 Posts
    Rep Power
    217
    Reputation
    932

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rentakill View Post
    Hi there.

    Have installed a few of these over the past few years.
    They work well - Can select which Logical Channel Number on your TV it will use, and also Name the Channel, adjust Dbuv Output Levels + a few other bits and pieces.
    Not bad for what they cost..

    See :


    Cheers:
    Just confirming... so this definitely takes HDMI input and DVB-T modulates RF out?

  • #11
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    I think that's what I'm after and very well priced. I've given up on the IR feedback as these start at over $400. Ill just walk into the other room and select the channel first.

  • #12
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,686
    Thanks
    1,509
    Thanked 2,483 Times in 1,148 Posts
    Rep Power
    1025
    Reputation
    36095

    Default

    Maybe a long way round but I use a CAT5 distribution for the video/audio out of my foxtel box. It has IR return and works very well. If you do need HDMI, why not go for a HDMI to video/audio option then feed that output into the cheaper CAT5 distribution for video and audio.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #13
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    I have just had a play with the above unit Carjackma recommended and what a ripper. Perfect modulation and crystal clear. Mind you it was a small set up on the bench at home but this weekend I plan to run some cables and back feed it into my antenna system. For the moment I will be back feeding a HDMI out from my PC (netflix) but if this works like I think it will then I can buy another module, set it on a separate channel and back feed my CCTV as well. Should only need a single antenna cable to each TV and view everything as its own dedicated TV channel.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to statesmanjeff For This Useful Post:

    carjackma (30-01-19)

  • #14
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    I have had this modulator for quite a while now and its brilliant. It will re distribute absolutely everything I throw at it from my CCTV system, blue ray, and my PC, and all into my antenna system so I can view it from any room in the house just by simply selecting The channel on that TV, but there is 1 problem. Fuxtel. I use Fuxtel GO to watch FUXTEL when at home. My decoder is at work in my office as i am there 90% of the time. When i go home I watch it on my PC and can be viewed on my PC perfectly. Everything I watch on my PC can be redistributed throughout the house with the modulator flawlessly. I can watch pre-recorded movies to the modulator as well as you tube and other sites and all through a normal browser then through the modulator on any tv in the house but the second I try to send the picture from FUXTEL GO to the modulator or from the browser to the modulator, there is a black screen. I have also tried the CHROME browser method and same thing. I know it is due to a form of HDCP encryption stopping it from being viewed on an external monitor. I am not trying to do anything I shouldn't or haven't paid for.. I just want to put my PC in a central location and view it in any room via my modulator rather than dragging the decoder from work to home each day.. I appreciate possible suggestions but I am more looking for a solution. I think it will come down to the brand and model modulator. There are Fuxtel approved modulators out there but will they work with GO? Has anyone played with a HDCP stripper device. From what I am reading the HDCP is my issue. Is there anyone currently playing with one of these HDCP Strippers?
    Last edited by statesmanjeff; 09-02-20 at 01:05 AM.

  • #15
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,131
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 1,028 Times in 407 Posts
    Rep Power
    417
    Reputation
    11627

    Default

    I've never played with a stripper (the HDMI kind anyway lol!) but I have had success using stock standard HDMI splitters. A lot of them remove the HDCP part of the signal successfully. If you have one lying around give it a go!

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •