Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: rohde & schwartz spectrum analyser

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    945
    Thanks
    2,200
    Thanked 940 Times in 363 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    16177

    Default rohde & schwartz spectrum analyser

    I have a fsh 6 spectrum analyser . I wanted to produce a picture out of it to send to a manufacturer so i bought a philips 9080 optical coupler cable with a serial (rs232) plug on it a work mate has a laptop with 232 plug on it so seems logical to pair them up and away we go !!!! no way in hell cant get the spect to see lappy or other way around mate is tearing his hair out . Anyone had any experience with these animals help really needed tia don
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,407
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 3,408 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Rep Power
    1255
    Reputation
    46768

    Default



    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (11-01-19)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    945
    Thanks
    2,200
    Thanked 940 Times in 363 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    16177

    Default

    been there ,done that ,no luck , boohoo?
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,407
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 3,408 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Rep Power
    1255
    Reputation
    46768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    been there ,done that ,no luck , boohoo?
    Take a photo/video of the screen with your phone?


    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    945
    Thanks
    2,200
    Thanked 940 Times in 363 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    16177

    Default

    the screen dont change at all. the lappy dont change & the speccy dont change ????
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #6
    Senior Member
    nomeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,556
    Thanks
    1,366
    Thanked 2,614 Times in 1,546 Posts
    Rep Power
    1206
    Reputation
    45778

    Default

    I don't have the cash to afford something like that so no experience with that one.

    Just my usual dribble which you might or might not have tried:
    Is data transfer activated in the speccy's menu?
    Have you checked that the COM port in the laptop you are using is enabled and working in the device manager. Do you have anything else to test that COM port, like a multimeter with data output?
    Do you need to manually setup the COM port in the software, matching with the COM port number displayed in the device manager?
    Can you manually send something with Hyperterminal through the COM port with the optical cable attached and see anything flashing on it's optical output LED? Use a phone camera if it is infrared. That is only possible if it is bi-directional though.

    Keep in mind that serial ports are not intelligent, nothing is detected on it's own. You must ensure that all parameters are correct before it can communicate.


    Yes taking a photo from the speccy' s display was the first thing that came to my mind too.
    Last edited by nomeat; 11-01-19 at 08:54 PM.
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nomeat For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (12-01-19),tristen (11-01-19)

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    945
    Thanks
    2,200
    Thanked 940 Times in 363 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    16177

    Default

    thanks no meat Im not doing it myself , a mate is so i will take your methodology and throw it in front of him . yep Ive got two of these ones a fsh3 the other is fsh6 with tracking generator both great bits of gear , especially for setting up sat tv dishes . thanks don
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •