Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 81 to 92 of 92

Thread: Kenwood Food Mixer - No Power - Mint Cond - Dead.

  1. #81
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 195 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    2400

    Default

    Right.
    nomeat - no 240vac, got it! And the CRO Probe was on 10x.

    Tested (out of board), the .33uf cap and it reads .031uf.
    The R205 read 51Ω
    The Cxxx 470uf 16v - read 454uf
    Also tested the yellow cap at the A and N and it read .99nF (had 1.0uF).

    On the front board - off board - I tested C105 as Skepticist mentioned and it read 9.9nf.


    Also R104 read 99Ω.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GT250 For This Useful Post:

    nomeat (14-02-19),Skepticist (14-02-19)



  • #82
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    1,398
    Thanked 675 Times in 276 Posts
    Rep Power
    284
    Reputation
    11769

    Default

    who enjoying this ???? I am
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (15-02-19),loopyloo (15-02-19),nomeat (14-02-19),Skepticist (14-02-19)

  • #83
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks
    491
    Thanked 565 Times in 459 Posts
    Rep Power
    367
    Reputation
    10680

    Default

    Double checked that 0.33uF cap?
    If it's only 1/10 of the marked capacitance (0.031uF) then that's the culprit right there with 10 x the intended reactance
    All the other components are well within their tolerance range
    Last edited by Skepticist; 14-02-19 at 05:10 PM.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (15-02-19),hinekadon (14-02-19),nomeat (14-02-19)

  • #84
    Senior Member
    nomeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,291
    Thanks
    1,215
    Thanked 2,254 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Rep Power
    1050
    Reputation
    38578

    Default

    0.031F !!! What a difference taking it out of board and a '0' makes


    [QUOTE]Also tested the yellow cap at the A and N and it read .99nF (had 1.0uF).[/QUOTE]

    Are you sure? It is much smaller than the 0.33F but must endure the same mains voltage. I would have expected 0.1F from that size.
    Last edited by nomeat; 14-02-19 at 05:34 PM.
    With the latest advances in A.I. now implemented in Windows 10 updates, fault diagnostic and correction has been fully automated:
    << Mouse movement has been detected :: Windows 10 will now re-install >>






  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nomeat For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (15-02-19),hinekadon (14-02-19),Skepticist (14-02-19)

  • #85
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks
    491
    Thanked 565 Times in 459 Posts
    Rep Power
    367
    Reputation
    10680

    Default

    I assumed that should been .99uF but it pays to make certain always

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (14-02-19)

  • #86
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 195 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    2400

    Default

    Sorry guys...
    Yeah, Typos. Big cap was 0.31uF and the little yellow one was 0.1uF.

    It's annoying to be checking all these items (that normally should be), responsible for the no power, yet they are reading ok.

    How about I order a PS board $48 and see ?

  • The Following User Says Thank You to GT250 For This Useful Post:

    Skepticist (15-02-19)

  • #87
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks
    491
    Thanked 565 Times in 459 Posts
    Rep Power
    367
    Reputation
    10680

    Default

    That 0.33uF X2 cap is about the only component that could throttle the voltage without being completely obvious so it would be worth replacing it as they only cost a dollar or two just to be certain it's not somehow intermittent or voltage/temperature related. Until the actual cause of failure is located there can be no certainty of the correct action required to fix it.

    Have you tried running the motor to see if its in good shape?
    I know it 'moved' when you bridged the triac terminals briefly but it would be very inconvenient to spend $100 or more replacing all the electronics only to find the motor needs replacing as well.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (16-02-19)

  • #88
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 195 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    2400

    Default

    OK, I'll source a 0.33uF.
    Is this one ok on eBay 253811263401 - different colour and brand though.

    What seems to be an original is from the UK (got to buy 2 qty), $15 delivered. 183509298121

    Alibaba $US .01cents each!! 100qty though, LOL!!!

    Anyone got one of these in their drawers...?

  • #89
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks
    491
    Thanked 565 Times in 459 Posts
    Rep Power
    367
    Reputation
    10680

    Default

    The Ebay one should do the job - has all the right numbers. The only potential issue is the physical size but it will prove/disprove the existing cap as the problem at least.
    Element14 has a fair selection of X2 caps and way cheaper but the issue is the postage cost which is waived if your order is over a certain figure ($35 I think). RS components might be better for a small order like this (fast too)

    Element14 range:
    They deliver in a day or 2 if the component is in local stock, somewhat longer if it comes from an overseas warehouse
    Last edited by Skepticist; 15-02-19 at 06:12 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (16-02-19)

  • #90
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,019
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 438 Times in 207 Posts
    Rep Power
    891
    Reputation
    29407

    Default

    if you are in Sydney or know some one they can get one from wagners $2





    Last edited by fandtm666; 15-02-19 at 07:44 PM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (16-02-19),hinekadon (16-02-19)

  • #91
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks
    491
    Thanked 565 Times in 459 Posts
    Rep Power
    367
    Reputation
    10680

    Default

    Tried RS components, delivery is free and next day but you have to buy 10 caps so $17 including GST
    Element14 will supply 1 cap next day but shipping charge (vie Toll) is $13 unless you order over $45 worth of components so 10 caps from them is all up around $23 inc GST, or 1 will cost near $15.

    Pressure is on to buy a bag of stuff

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    GT250 (16-02-19),hinekadon (15-02-19)

  • #92
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked 195 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    2400

    Default

    Many thanks for the links people.

    I'll order one today and hopefully it will arrive early next week.

    Cheers.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to GT250 For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (16-02-19)

  • Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •