Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Windows 7 possible issue/malware?

  1. #1
    The Prince of Hardness
    Dr_Mohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cape Town, S. Afr.
    Posts
    1,459
    Thanks
    4,254
    Thanked 3,122 Times in 715 Posts
    Rep Power
    1350
    Reputation
    62430

    Default Windows 7 possible issue/malware?

    Hey guys, been using Windows 10 for a long time now but recently decided to fire up Windows 7 to run some older programs I have.

    I did a complete fresh install on the one PC I have and noticed a few strange things. One is that you get an error when trying to download updates, the others are that .ttf font files are trying to be opened with other programs other than windows font viewer by default, same with .zip files are suddenly set to open with VLC media player as default program, and really odd messages about windows recovering from an unexpected shut down when coming out of sleep mode.

    This sounds like a virus? What do you guys think? Is it still safe to connect Win 7 to the web? Yes, I have anti-virus installed, but they say nothing's up.

    Edit: Also, external HDD doesn't start up sometimes, so you can't access it (little light doesn't even come on) -- almost like a dead USB slot.
    Last edited by Dr_Mohs; 13-03-19 at 08:34 PM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member forbirun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    48
    Posts
    628
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    476

    Default

    First thing I would do with a new installation of windows 7 is chase all the updates online as quick as possible including drivers. Once you have finished then I would start running other tests. Connecting it online is always a risk so get a antivirus set up as soon as possible.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to forbirun For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (14-03-19)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 713 Posts
    Rep Power
    556
    Reputation
    14818

    Default

    is winzip installed?
    right click a zip file, go properties, change what it opens with to winzip
    now all zip files should be winzip.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (14-03-19)

  • #4
    The Prince of Hardness
    Dr_Mohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cape Town, S. Afr.
    Posts
    1,459
    Thanks
    4,254
    Thanked 3,122 Times in 715 Posts
    Rep Power
    1350
    Reputation
    62430

    Default

    Thanks guys, yes one can set all these things of course, but to me, I find this default behaviour just a little odd. It shouldn't, as far as I know, be doing these things by default.

    It bothers me that you can't update Windows (gets error) as these would be the security updates needed. Just a few things of a whole lot of strange behaviour I see.

    Maybe some guys could share here some other strange things they find a bit odd on Win 7 as well.

    Edit: it would be expected with an older OS to be under attack, similar to what happened with Win XP.
    Last edited by Dr_Mohs; 14-03-19 at 04:20 PM.

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 713 Posts
    Rep Power
    556
    Reputation
    14818

    Default

    ive seen windoz default to vlc lots of times if say winrar or zips not installed
    with 7 you really need the mobo drivers, not just windoz jobs, hence usb not working
    updates, well who knows, even win 10 cant decide that
    is it a humm legit win 7?
    if not, i can point you in a direction that has a updated to december 2018 win 7
    or 8 feb-19
    or 10 march-19
    i find this eliminates the wasted hours of updating a 2010 copy with 5gb downloads lol.

    oh if only they had a better option then windoz

    wait, i think i hear someone coming

    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Al Bundy (15-03-19),Dr_Mohs (15-03-19),lsemmens (14-03-19)

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,625
    Thanks
    6,725
    Thanked 4,324 Times in 2,154 Posts
    Rep Power
    1897
    Reputation
    77740

    Default

    You are so right, Philquad.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (15-03-19)

  • #7
    The Prince of Hardness
    Dr_Mohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cape Town, S. Afr.
    Posts
    1,459
    Thanks
    4,254
    Thanked 3,122 Times in 715 Posts
    Rep Power
    1350
    Reputation
    62430

    Default

    Thanks guys. Yep, legit copy of Windows 7 (came with a Lenovo machine). You basically just load it using recovery partition and you get a fresh install.

    Thanks phil, OK so if someone else has seen it do things like this, then it puts me a bit more at ease.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    370

    Default

    search for Askwoody.com

    click on forums and in the search box enter 2000003

    this will give you the info for Win 7

    you will also find info on security only updates.

    73
    Last edited by osczzzz; 15-03-19 at 05:50 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to osczzzz For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (15-03-19)

  • #9
    Grumpy Old Fart
    Al Bundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tazzie
    Posts
    3,042
    Thanks
    1,268
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 1,200 Posts
    Rep Power
    1235
    Reputation
    49850

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    ....wait, i think i hear someone coming

    Geezus, you have good hearing Phil if you can hear him “coming” you sicko...
    Cheers
    Ted (Al)

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Al Bundy For This Useful Post:

    DB44 (18-03-19),Dr_Mohs (15-03-19),lsemmens (15-03-19),Tiny (18-03-19)

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 713 Posts
    Rep Power
    556
    Reputation
    14818

    Default

    gee thats a bit " below the belt " so to speak

    think your version has a U in it not a o lol
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (15-03-19),lsemmens (15-03-19)

  • #11
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,625
    Thanks
    6,725
    Thanked 4,324 Times in 2,154 Posts
    Rep Power
    1897
    Reputation
    77740

    Default

    All attempts at humour aside. Phil was right, I just did not pipe up as he expected, then. You could always try Linux as an alternative. It does not have these issues and it is free. Yes, some hardware can be a nuisance, but that is pretty rare these days. Unless you are using bleeding edge stuff.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (15-03-19)

  • #12
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    59
    Posts
    5,752
    Thanks
    9,504
    Thanked 4,465 Times in 2,287 Posts
    Rep Power
    1684
    Reputation
    69637

    Default

    Couldn't you just run those programs in Win7 emulation mode on your Win 10 OS. That's what i do.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (18-03-19)

  • #13
    The Prince of Hardness
    Dr_Mohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cape Town, S. Afr.
    Posts
    1,459
    Thanks
    4,254
    Thanked 3,122 Times in 715 Posts
    Rep Power
    1350
    Reputation
    62430

    Default

    Yeah, I can I guess. I was actually wanting to just get away from Win 10 a bit. It was nice initially, but I've grown to dislike it, the look, the feel, the everything. There's no way to change the look of the thing in any considerable way, or how it works. Even the dark theme is not that great. Win 7 works great on my PC, smoother, faster, looks much better, just like it more.

    As an aside, lsemmens, I've taken the plunge and installed Ubuntu (Bionic Beaver) as dual-boot and I can see why you like it so much. Very nice to use (using it now).

  • #14
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,625
    Thanks
    6,725
    Thanked 4,324 Times in 2,154 Posts
    Rep Power
    1897
    Reputation
    77740

    Default

    Try Linux Mint. It is the version I use. The Mint Forums are very friendly and helpful. just like the blokes (and birds) here.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    Dr_Mohs (19-03-19)

  • #15
    The Prince of Hardness
    Dr_Mohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cape Town, S. Afr.
    Posts
    1,459
    Thanks
    4,254
    Thanked 3,122 Times in 715 Posts
    Rep Power
    1350
    Reputation
    62430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Try Linux Mint. It is the version I use. The Mint Forums are very friendly and helpful. just like the blokes (and birds) here.
    I might one day. At the moment, I like Ubuntu very much. For example, it installed my TeXLive distribution in a matter of minutes, versus 4 hours on Windows! Both were from a pre-downloaded iso. It also displays the text of the console in a text size that is suitable for human eyes (versus the one in Windows).

    Yes, it is challenging trying to come to grips with the terminal and trying to install some of the software, but I'm kinda getting the hang of it already. At this point it's more just a fear of irreparably damaging something.

    PS: there are birds on this forum? Hope they haven't been reading my joke-thread posts.
    Last edited by Dr_Mohs; 20-03-19 at 05:54 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Dr_Mohs For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (20-03-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •