Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New DVD Disk won't play all episodes

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Exclamation New DVD Disk won't play all episodes

    I just purchased the first season to Game of Thrones.

    The 'play all' function does not play all episodes on all disks.

    Initially I managed to watch all episodes by selecting them individually from the main menu but on another play through I cannot even access the disk main menu to select anything.

    I have a Samsung Blu-ray player which is only 3-6 months old.
    Even though it can play all regions I always make sure I only buy Australian (local region 4) disks.

    I have not had this issue with any other disks - I have always been able to select the main menu so that I can either choose an episode to play or select 'play all'. Even after a reset of the player it still retains the memory of where it was up to and won't allow me to access the main menu. It does not seem to do this with all of the disks in the set.

    A couple of questions:
    1. Is the disk faulty or is the issue with my blue-ray player?
    2. How can I erase the memory on my player so that it starts at the beginning and not where it left off?


    And for those of you who might suggest I go for live streaming or something similar - I do not like paying a monthly fee for a digital file that I will never own especially when the cost of digital downloads are as expensive as the physical disk. I much prefer to watch my movies and tv episodes from a physical disk on my tv. This also frees up my computer for other things while the disk is playing on my tv in the background. And, finally I don't always have or need internet access.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,817
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 751 Posts
    Rep Power
    587
    Reputation
    15778

    Default

    are they real factory dvds or copies ?
    where did you buy them ?
    maybe you can rip & burn a copy yourself & see if its better.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    enf (28-04-19),tristen (25-04-19)

  • #3
    Member statesmanjeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    154
    Reputation
    222

    Default

    I've had a similar problem where my blue ray player wont read some DVD's. I now have separate DVD and Blu ray rom in my PC, Rip everything to file and watch from there.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to statesmanjeff For This Useful Post:

    enf (28-04-19)

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    65
    Posts
    13,932
    Thanks
    12,247
    Thanked 20,582 Times in 6,150 Posts
    Rep Power
    7745
    Reputation
    356849

    Default

    It's my understanding that bluray lasers are different from DVD lasers and can result in these type of difficulties. I swapped my laptop bluray burner for a dvd burner, and bought an external USB bluray for that if I ever need it.

    Haven't had a problem since.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to enf For This Useful Post:

    tristen (28-04-19)

  • #5
    Premium Member
    TVguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 867 Times in 416 Posts
    Rep Power
    406
    Reputation
    12348

    Default

    Back in the days when I worked for a major manufacturer of AV & TV products, disc playability was a constant source of grief.
    We would always report every issue to the factory and they would continually roll out firmware updates. We would send the disc to the factory so they could apply a firmware fix.
    Sadly, some disc authoring does not adhere strictly to the standards, and equally manufacturers struggle to deal with deviations from the prescribed software standards.
    Report the issue to Samsung and make sure that your firmware is up to date (preferably by connecting to the internet).
    “Confidence is the prize given to the mediocre”

    Robert Hughes

  • #6
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,911
    Thanks
    5,225
    Thanked 11,615 Times in 5,730 Posts
    Rep Power
    4097
    Reputation
    167991

    Default

    Whilst the responses are all useful info, keep in mind the OP hasn't visited the site since their 1 and only post.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    tristen (11-08-19),TVguy (11-07-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •