Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: wifi connection issues.

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,477
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 502 Times in 347 Posts
    Rep Power
    351
    Reputation
    6838

    Default wifi connection issues.

    We have been having speed related issues again with our ADSL which is a PITA but also having some wifi connection issues mainly with our phones, 2 adults and 2 teens so we often have 4 phones , i hard wired PC and 2 laptops on the network.
    Lately it seems that we are having a congestion type problem where either myself or my wife's phone drops off the network and only one of us can reconnect, kids are usually on their laptops at the time.
    Modem router is about 2 years old TP Link TD-W8961N which i just updated the firmware on at the advise of Iinet to see if it helps with out speed/stability issues, i have checked the settings and cant see anything that may limit the amount of connections ?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    You could try and disconnect each device and see which one of the devices might be the problem. Use the process of elimination...

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,844
    Thanks
    7,031
    Thanked 4,535 Times in 2,241 Posts
    Rep Power
    1991
    Reputation
    81960

    Default

    Question being, what are the kids doing on their laptops? Could be a bandwidth issue if one, or both, are playing online games. Is it only the phones you are having issues with? Have you purchased any new wireless capable devices lately? Could be that interfering with signal if it is of a similar band.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,477
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 502 Times in 347 Posts
    Rep Power
    351
    Reputation
    6838

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Question being, what are the kids doing on their laptops? Could be a bandwidth issue if one, or both, are playing online games. Is it only the phones you are having issues with? Have you purchased any new wireless capable devices lately? Could be that interfering with signal if it is of a similar band.
    Nothing new in the house since xmas, 1 kid playing games but this isnt new. After wife left this morning i still couldn't get my phone to connect, just got "obtaining ip address ".
    Reset my phones network settings and rebooted but still the same, kids can get on with their laptops no issue.
    I wonder if its an Android issue as the kids crapples seem ok.

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,766
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 1,227 Times in 733 Posts
    Rep Power
    571
    Reputation
    15378

    Default

    if someone starts streaming on a phone in my house the nbn craps out on speed
    maybe you can ip lock all 4 devices ?
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,844
    Thanks
    7,031
    Thanked 4,535 Times in 2,241 Posts
    Rep Power
    1991
    Reputation
    81960

    Default

    Reset the modem and see if that has any effect.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,477
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 502 Times in 347 Posts
    Rep Power
    351
    Reputation
    6838

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Reset the modem and see if that has any effect.
    I reset it after the firmware update and so far seems to be ok, cant wait for NBN as our copper line is well past its useby date.

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    860
    Thanked 547 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    314
    Reputation
    10141

    Default

    Are either of the phones iPhones? Apple devices are somewhat notorious for having problems with WiFi networks that have been set to use 40MHz bandwidth. Whether they're Apple phones or not, I'd try setting the bandwidth back to 20MHz and see if it helps.




  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •