Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 76

Thread: How's you Telstra internet ?

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    674
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 203 Times in 131 Posts
    Rep Power
    204
    Reputation
    1858

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    The voip phone can have long delay, echo, modulation and all sorts of spacey sounds whereas uni-v makes for a totally natural sounding phone. We were connected via uni-v before and you couldn't tell it from a normal phone. Another thing with voip phone, if the internet goes down so does the phone. With uni-v the phone runs separate to the internet. Also it's possible to have separate providers, eg: phone with Telstra and internet with Optus.
    What a load of BS. uni-v IS VOIP! The main differences are that UNI-V ONLY uses G711 codecs and is always marked TC-1 priority. ALL packets are still routed to the RSP (that is from both UNI-V & UNI-D ports). A UNI-D VOIP service using G711 with TC-1 priority marking is EXACTLY the same as a UNI-D service as far as the NBN is concerned. The UNI-V service uses EXACTLY the same internet as the UNI-D service - if the internet goes down, so does your phone.

    UNI-V is no different to any other service as far as supplier goes. In fact a lot of lower cost ISPs do not provide a voice service at all and encourage you to go to a third party like MyNetFone if you want one.



  • #22
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,823
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    589
    Reputation
    15858

    Default

    the main reason i stayed with telstra with nbn fttn changeover was the phone service, i need landlines, some isp's wernt even sure if they could transfer my number
    all the phones in my house have a phone line connection,
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #23
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jgm View Post
    What a load of BS. uni-v IS VOIP! The main differences are that UNI-V ONLY uses G711 codecs and is always marked TC-1 priority. ALL packets are still routed to the RSP (that is from both UNI-V & UNI-D ports). A UNI-D VOIP service using G711 with TC-1 priority marking is EXACTLY the same as a UNI-D service as far as the NBN is concerned. The UNI-V service uses EXACTLY the same internet as the UNI-D service - if the internet goes down, so does your phone.

    UNI-V is no different to any other service as far as supplier goes. In fact a lot of lower cost ISPs do not provide a voice service at all and encourage you to go to a third party like MyNetFone if you want one.
    My setup with Skymesh was very reliable, but there was a time when the internet went down but I still had phone, and a few times when the phone went down but I still had internet...Go figure.

  • #24
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    How many email addresses do you get with telstra and how much extra do they cost ?
    Just spoke to one telstra sales person who stated 5 email addresses max for free for 12 months, after that $79 each per year.
    Last edited by loopyloo; 17-05-19 at 06:03 PM.

  • #25
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks
    1,459
    Thanked 2,842 Times in 1,669 Posts
    Rep Power
    1309
    Reputation
    50338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    The voip phone can have long delay, echo, modulation and all sorts of spacey sounds whereas uni-v makes for a totally natural sounding phone. We were connected via uni-v before and you couldn't tell it from a normal phone. Another thing with voip phone, if the internet goes down so does the phone. With uni-v the phone runs separate to the internet. Also it's possible to have separate providers, eg: phone with Telstra and internet with Optus.

    Only a few weeks ago my wife had a call from a friend. She said it was very difficult trying to understand what her friend was saying, then her friend told her she was on a voip phone.
    That is rubbish.
    Been using VIOP for over 10 years and have never any of the issues you mention and would not want anything else. You just need to set it up correctly and use a reliable provider.

    I can still use all my old reliable Panasonic wireless phones, no need to keep paying $$$ for propriety phones that only work with one provider, when every I want to churn my service.
    A neighbour has now 3 useless Uni-V port phones, all a scam for me.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 17-05-19 at 06:43 PM.
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    DB44 (19-05-19),hinekadon (17-05-19)

  • #26
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nomeat View Post
    That is rubbish.
    Been using VIOP for over 10 years and have never any of the issues you mention and would not want anything else. You just need to set it up correctly and use a reliable provider.

    I can still use all my old reliable Panasonic wireless phones, no need to keep paying $$$ for propriety phones that only work with one provider, when every I want to churn my service.
    A neighbour has now 3 useless Uni-V port phones, all a scam for me.
    Can you use your phone in a blackout ?

  • #27
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Signed up with Telstra tonight.

  • #28
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,147
    Thanks
    5,445
    Thanked 3,999 Times in 1,689 Posts
    Rep Power
    1210
    Reputation
    46301

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nomeat View Post
    That is rubbish.
    Been using VIOP for over 10 years and have never any of the issues you mention and would not want anything else. You just need to set it up correctly and use a reliable provider.

    I can still use all my old reliable Panasonic wireless phones, no need to keep paying $$$ for propriety phones that only work with one provider, when every I want to churn my service.
    A neighbour has now 3 useless Uni-V port phones, all a scam for me.
    Agree entirely.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    Uncle Fester (18-05-19)

  • #29
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks
    1,459
    Thanked 2,842 Times in 1,669 Posts
    Rep Power
    1309
    Reputation
    50338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Can you use your phone in a blackout ?
    yes, phone and Internet with redundacy. The only issue is the crap battery in the NBN box that lasted only a year but
    that does not matter as my automatic transfer switch goes to the offgrid system in less than 10msec.
    All calls can also be routed to my mobile and I also have 4g tethering.

    Anything else you wan
    t to say that I might not of thought of?
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (18-05-19),loopyloo (19-05-19)

  • #30
    Premium Member
    Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,018
    Thanks
    4,898
    Thanked 883 Times in 284 Posts
    Rep Power
    478
    Reputation
    14962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    How many email addresses do you get with telstra and how much extra do they cost ?
    Just spoke to one telstra sales person who stated 5 email addresses max for free for 12 months, after that $79 each per year.
    Don't believe this is true. I've had 2 bigpond email address for a number of years.
    You can learn alot using Google, and the search button.....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Keith For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (19-05-19)

  • #31
    Premium Member
    Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,018
    Thanks
    4,898
    Thanked 883 Times in 284 Posts
    Rep Power
    478
    Reputation
    14962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Can you use your phone in a blackout ?
    No, unless you have back up power. Your modem loses power, your phone doesn't work.
    You can learn alot using Google, and the search button.....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Keith For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (19-05-19)

  • #32
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith View Post
    No, unless you have back up power. Your modem loses power, your phone doesn't work.
    That's one of the differences between plugging the phone to the modem or using uni-v.
    If the power goes and you're using uni-v, just plug a standard phone (non powered) into the jack and it will work until the NBN battery dies.

    I made 5 calls to Telstra and spoke to 5 different people. The first 4 couldn't satisfy my questions about price, connection and what I would receive for my money. I could tell they really didn't have a clue. The fifth was good. She new it all and was always polite and professional.
    The emails bit was weird. One said only one email allowed. Another said 5 at a cost mentioned in an earlier post. Turns out you can have up to 14 free.

    One thing I couldn't find out yet is what are the email settings, server name, pop, incoming, outgoing, port#, password (if needed) etc. .... can anyone help me with this ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 19-05-19 at 09:41 AM.

  • #33
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Nsw
    Posts
    4,506
    Thanks
    786
    Thanked 2,419 Times in 1,094 Posts
    Rep Power
    1078
    Reputation
    39136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    One thing I couldn't find out yet is what are the email settings, server name, pop, incoming, outgoing, port#, password (if needed) etc. .... can anyone help me with this ?
    Incoming:
    Username - your email address
    Password - your password
    Server - imap.telstra.com
    Port - 993
    Encryption method - SSL/TLS

    Outgoing:
    Server - smtp.telstra.com
    Port - 465
    My outgoing server requires authentication
    Use same settings as my incoming mail server

  • The Following User Says Thank You to WhiteOx For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (19-05-19)

  • #34
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteOx View Post
    Incoming:
    Username - your email address
    Password - your password
    Server - imap.telstra.com
    Port - 993
    Encryption method - SSL/TLS

    Outgoing:
    Server - smtp.telstra.com
    Port - 465
    My outgoing server requires authentication
    Use same settings as my incoming mail server
    Cool thanks for that.


    They tell me, when he modem arrives to just plug it in and it will work.
    Is there any modem settings I should know about ? .... At this stage, I don't really trust them to help me with any setups. They prob don't have a clue.

  • #35
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,475
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 3,469 Times in 1,510 Posts
    Rep Power
    1287
    Reputation
    47988

    Default

    Yes it will work out of the box.
    If nbn is not activated it will fall back to 4g.

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (20-05-19)

  • #36
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,823
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    589
    Reputation
    15858

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Cool thanks for that.


    They tell me, when he modem arrives to just plug it in and it will work.
    Is there any modem settings I should know about ? .... At this stage, I don't really trust them to help me with any setups. They prob don't have a clue.
    i think there just plug in now
    ready to go, last job i did anyway, maybe go in & setup wireless, altho it comes on a card the settings

    10.0.0.38 admin - admin mine anyway

    emails: wtf would you want telstra jobs, if your a hoarder, 5000 emails later, you change isp, gone.
    get a outlook or gmail, or buy a domain,
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (20-05-19)

  • #37
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Nsw
    Posts
    4,506
    Thanks
    786
    Thanked 2,419 Times in 1,094 Posts
    Rep Power
    1078
    Reputation
    39136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    10.0.0.38 admin - admin mine anyway
    Mines 10.0.0.138

  • The Following User Says Thank You to WhiteOx For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (20-05-19)

  • #38
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,823
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    589
    Reputation
    15858

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteOx View Post
    Mines 10.0.0.138
    ha
    i was close mate
    just 100 out
    thank bloody auto login for that
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (20-05-19)

  • #39
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    2,020
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 410 Times in 269 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    i think there just plug in now
    ready to go, last job i did anyway, maybe go in & setup wireless, altho it comes on a card the settings

    10.0.0.38 admin - admin mine anyway

    emails: wtf would you want telstra jobs, if your a hoarder, 5000 emails later, you change isp, gone.
    get a outlook or gmail, or buy a domain,
    Ha ha no I don't keep old emails, but I do use 7 addresses.
    Thunderbird is my handler.

  • #40
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,823
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    589
    Reputation
    15858

    Default

    in that case, id buy looploo.com & a cheapo web host with cpanel like $36 yr
    & you can have as many @looploo.com emails as you desire
    setup with thunderturd is piss easy
    make them imap & your covered, server has backup
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (20-05-19)

  • Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •