Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 76 of 76

Thread: How's you Telstra internet ?

  1. #61
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,426
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 3,438 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Rep Power
    1269
    Reputation
    47368

    Default

    Did you do a factory reset?

    Don't disable ipv6 on the Telstra modems or you will have problems

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-06-19)



  • #62
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    Did you do a factory reset?

    Don't disable ipv6 on the Telstra modems or you will have problems

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk
    If you mean by jumping in through a browser ? ..no I didn't. I don't want to upset telstra while they're supposedly fixing it.
    Anyway, what would that have to do with mobiles not getting through ?

    Today a mate rang the home phone from his mobile and got through. The wife and I are with tpg (which uses vodafone), my 2 boys are with optus, none of us can ring the home phone, but my mate with a telstra mobile can .... That's strange. Sounds like they've got the other networks blocked doesn't it ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 07-06-19 at 04:51 PM.

  • #63
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,426
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 3,438 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Rep Power
    1269
    Reputation
    47368

    Default

    That's why a factory reset and reload of the configuration may fix it.

    When the modem reconnects to Telstra it downloads the configuration for your "landline"

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-06-19)

  • #64
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    That's why a factory reset and reload of the configuration may fix it.

    When the modem reconnects to Telstra it downloads the configuration for your "landline"

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk
    Funny that they haven't thought to tell me to try that then.
    I'm going to ring them again tonight, I'll suggest that and see what they say. Then again I might try it anyway.

    and what's with this telstra air thing ? Is it worth activating ?

    So....is it factory defaults ???

    Last edited by loopyloo; 07-06-19 at 08:10 PM.

  • #65
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,426
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 3,438 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Rep Power
    1269
    Reputation
    47368

    Default

    telstra air shares your connectikon with other telstra customers via wifi.

    nothing to worry about.

    als fon wifi will probably be active.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-06-19)

  • #66
    Member
    Au_radio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    western Australia
    Posts
    287
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 157 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    127
    Reputation
    3150

    Default How's you Telstra internet ?

    Telstra not too bad , but every superb can be different
    Last edited by Au_radio; 08-06-19 at 10:21 AM.

  • #67
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Telstra rang me yesty arvo. She said she wanted to reset the modem to defaults. as you said hoe, but that didn't fix it.
    I then mentioned how only telstra mobiles can get through. She reckons that's caused by incorrect or incomplete porting making the account not setup properly. So I have to wait another week while they cancel my account and create a new one.
    That's just plain weird to me.
    Last edited by loopyloo; 10-06-19 at 09:52 AM.

  • #68
    Junior Member ap5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Au_radio View Post
    Telstra not too bad , but every superb can be different
    Pretty good here too

    Last edited by ap5; 11-06-19 at 08:50 PM.

  • #69
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,081
    Thanks
    7,342
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,311 Posts
    Rep Power
    2053
    Reputation
    84520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Telstra rang me yesty arvo. She said she wanted to reset the modem to defaults. as you said hoe, but that didn't fix it.
    I then mentioned how only telstra mobiles can get through. She reckons that's caused by incorrect or incomplete porting making the account not setup properly. So I have to wait another week while they cancel my account and create a new one.
    That's just plain weird to me.
    What a crock! Back in the day (last century) when I was actually the tech on the end of the phone doing all the connections and disconnections. A fault like this would be reported and fixed within 24hours or questions would get asked. I'm talking about actually having to physically run cables and hardwire programming into equipment. Now, all it needs is one cable (at most) and a few short commands at a computer.............
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #70
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    671
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 202 Times in 130 Posts
    Rep Power
    199
    Reputation
    1838

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    What a crock! Back in the day (last century) when I was actually the tech on the end of the phone doing all the connections and disconnections. A fault like this would be reported and fixed within 24hours or questions would get asked. I'm talking about actually having to physically run cables and hardwire programming into equipment. Now, all it needs is one cable (at most) and a few short commands at a computer.............
    That was when the person on the end of the line was in Australia, did the work, and KNEW what they were talking about. Now you're going through an overseas call centre operator who has never even seen an Australian service. Every response is scripted, and they can't deviate from it.

  • #71
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    What a crock! Back in the day (last century) when I was actually the tech on the end of the phone doing all the connections and disconnections. A fault like this would be reported and fixed within 24hours or questions would get asked. I'm talking about actually having to physically run cables and hardwire programming into equipment. Now, all it needs is one cable (at most) and a few short commands at a computer.............
    Exactly... and I wouldn't mind betting my phone problem is prob just tick a box to enable it.....and up til now, I've had prob around 20 different telstra folks tell me they will fix my problems yet most haven't done a damn thing....They just lie. In any call I've made they say I'll put you on hold for a few minutes to quiz their "specialist team" (ha ha), and they'll do that several times. I'm almost certain all they're doing is switching to another customer and doing the same thing to them. Prob talking to 3 or 4 at the same time.
    At least the last call I got was from someone in the specialist team.
    It'll be interesting to see if they actually fix it this time.
    Last edited by loopyloo; 13-06-19 at 08:46 AM.

  • #72
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Well they obviously had no idea how to fix the phone problem. They're a bunch of jerks.
    The internet went off the other night. The next day I got a call from telstra saying the problem was the phone number was a complex number and needs to be a simple number for them to be able to use it. They reckon the complex number is used for business only or something stupid like that. They said they completely deleted my account (without telling me) and I have to contact my last isp to get the number changed then apply again to telstra for a totally new account.
    I did ring my previous isp. they checked and said there's nothing wrong with the number and it's sitting in a container ready to be used.
    I then promptly joined up with Aussiebroadband.
    Last edited by loopyloo; 25-06-19 at 10:55 AM.

  • #73
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    1,222
    Thanked 391 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    5737

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Well they obviously had no idea how to fix the phone problem. They're a bunch of jerks.
    The internet went off the other night. The next day I got a call from telstra saying the problem was the phone number was a complex number and needs to be a simple number for them to be able to use it. They reckon the complex number is used for business only or something stupid like that. They said they completely deleted my account (without telling me) and I have to contact my last isp to get the number changed then apply again to telstra for a totally new account.
    I did ring my previous isp. they checked and said there's nothing wrong with the number and it's sitting in a container ready to be used.
    I then promptly joined up with Aussiebroadband.
    So,,, a couple of days after that call I received another from a guy saying something about the phone number still being processed. Once again Arthur doesn't know what Martha's doing. I told him about the previous call letting me know the account was closed. I said I had paid the full bill but not received the full service and told him I'm going to another isp and to send a reply paid bag so I can send the modem back, he agreed.
    Next thing I received another bill, this time for the modem (190 odd dollars). haven't seen the bag yet.

  • #74
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,730
    Thanks
    2,140
    Thanked 13,093 Times in 5,600 Posts
    Rep Power
    4214
    Reputation
    152438

    Default

    Many people have had major problems with phone when changing to NBN. I noticed a local business has lost its number after having it for 40 years....not sure what happened there, but Yow !
    My auntie with Telstra lost her phone for 3 months earlier this year..

    None of my friends on Telstra have had any issues.

    I am with Aussie Broadband, but would not have a phone and internet service with anyone such as Telstra or realistically anyone else. My home number is with Mynetfone and is plugged in to an ATA box which then plugs in to my modem/router.
    I am free to change to any internet provider I want whenever I want without worrying about the phone, as all the phone needs to work is an internet connection......any internet connection. It much much easier to have your phone and internet independent of each other.

  • #75
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    671
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 202 Times in 130 Posts
    Rep Power
    199
    Reputation
    1838

    Default

    I also lost my number which I'd had for 40 years. I had TIO cases and ongoing fights with the providers, but to no avail. Phone number are "supposed" to be quarantined for 6 months after disconnection, but Telstra stole mine and gave it to someone else within 3 months. The TIO was absolutley useless. We had been with Dodo who were reselling a Telstra service, but that made absolutely no difference. The TIO would not have anything to do with Telstra and referred us to Dodo. Whenever we contacted Dodo, they could only go through the Telstra overseas call centre who would tell lies. They (Telstra) kept giving us record of conversation numbers and promises to raise an order, but the next time we would contact them after nothing happened within the scheduled time frame, they would deny that the record number existed. There were multiple times when the Dodo rep would conference us in with the Teltra call, and the call centre operator would not answer (just a period of silence) and then without any further action just drop the call. We were NEVER able to get to anyone in Australia, and it appeared that Dodo were in the same boat.

    I think the moral is to steer well clear of ANYONE who has a third party arrangement with Telstra.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to jgm For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (04-07-19)

  • #76
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,081
    Thanks
    7,342
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,311 Posts
    Rep Power
    2053
    Reputation
    84520

    Default

    Sadly, jgm, it ain't only anyone who has a third party arrangement. Telstra, themselves, don't even know that they have a left hand, let alone what it is doing.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •