Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Home network new cabling problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Home network new cabling problem

    I am requesting some advice that may help fix my problem.
    Last week I had a cabler fix up a dodgy home network cabling plus add a extra line to prepare for the nbn. With the previous network bedroom 1 only connected. With the new network nothing connects. The setup is as follows Ė modem/router has the one cable going to the switch (which is has no configuration required and does auto negotiation) and then a cable using any of the ports to the wall plate for the required location.
    All the corresponding sockets of the new cabling on each end of their respective locations have had the continuity checked by a cable tester and are all straight through wired, not crossed over.
    I figured the easiest test was by using a laptop for repeatability. I have 6 patch cables that all tested ok by a cable tester and are either T568A or B. I also tested them by connecting each one into the switch and the laptop one at a time, and everything worked as expected. But when I connect any of the cables to the wall plate with the new cabling and the laptop connected at the other end of any the sockets there is no connection.
    I donít know if I am missing anything, but it seems a little odd. I havenít contacted the cabler yet, because I am expecting him to say that his work is ok and I am doing something wrong. Am I doing something wrong?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,620
    Thanks
    5,158
    Thanked 11,374 Times in 5,597 Posts
    Rep Power
    3974
    Reputation
    162595

    Default

    If I have this right... everything works fine when you connect your laptop directly to the switch with a patch cable, but when connecting via the new cabling, it doesn't work.

    Based on that description, the router/switch is OK, but there appears to be an issue with the new cabling... possibly incorrect termination of pairs.

    When you say the new cabling has been tested for continuity.... have the pairs been tested for correct termination?

    Best to get the cabler back to check and you can demonstrate the problem.

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    7,099
    Thanked 4,564 Times in 2,259 Posts
    Rep Power
    2004
    Reputation
    82540

    Default

    +1 wot MTV sed,

    Just so you have checked the OBVIOUS. you have tested the cable from the router to the wall? The one that feeds the cabling to the rest of the house?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,620
    Thanks
    5,158
    Thanked 11,374 Times in 5,597 Posts
    Rep Power
    3974
    Reputation
    162595

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Just so you have checked the OBVIOUS. you have tested the cable from the router to the wall? The one that feeds the cabling to the rest of the house?
    The OP needs to answer, but my thoughts would be the modem/router has to be connected correctly or it wouldn't be working when the laptop is connected to the switch.

    But, I was wondering if somehow the cabler has the line-in connected across the distribution cables.

    It definitely needs the cabler to return and fix it.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Home network new cabling problem

    Yes to mtv, it doesn't work.
    When you say incorrect termination of pairs, do you mean either end of the new cabling is not in the same colour/number coding, if so, I did check with a cable tester and visually and are the same (as in straight through). According to the cabler the line-in has been made separate and the distribution cables are all separate as well (as it should be).

    Yes to lsemmens. I tested 6 cables in that configuration before the wall plate and all were ok.

    thanks for the help, what could possibly disrupt the signal transfer other than maybe electrical interference.

    walfra

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •