Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: W10 Inbuilt Sandbox.

  1. #1
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,933
    Thanks
    9,876
    Thanked 4,649 Times in 2,379 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73317

    Default W10 Inbuilt Sandbox.

    So since May 2019 Update 1903, windows has given us a built in Sandbox for Pro Users.

    Requirements Minimum; PC running Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise, or Education build 1903 or later
    Virtualization support enabled in BIOS

    For optimum performance;
    64-bit architecture
    Minimum 4GB of RAM
    Minimum 1GB of free storage space
    Minimum 2 CPU cores

    It also needs to be turned on/installed thru Windows features.

    Unfortunately it only has Edge browser & although you can install the browser of your choice in the sandbox, you will have to do so every time you use it, as it's a clean virtual installation every time you open it.

    Anyway I'm giving it a try.

    Anyone else used it?

    Thoughts?

    Comments from the anti windows tin hat brigade not welcome. Thank you for holding that thought.

    EDIT:
    Found a good article with videos for visual info.
    Last edited by Tiny; 03-09-19 at 08:10 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,170
    Thanks
    2,823
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 461 Posts
    Rep Power
    511
    Reputation
    21897

    Default

    Ring ring!
    hello!
    hello this is rashid from microsoft how are you today ,
    Fine ,what do you want ?
    we have seen that you are using our windows ten and you have a fault in it ,
    Is that right ?
    yes , and the good news is i can fix it for you on line
    oh yeah how ?
    well you got a sandbox , and cats use these to go toilet .
    yeah so what
    so if you take the side of your computer and piss in the sand box everything will come right
    What! you want me to piss on my computer ? you must be kidding !!!!
    No sir not kidding just pass me your bank account details and i will save your data to protect it while we do the transfer to linux for you
    Ok then i have nothing to lose as all windows users are losers thanks rashid
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (03-09-19),Uncle Fester (04-09-19)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,670
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    M$ have only just worked this out? WINE and Play on Linux have been around for centuries. And now M$ has finally caught on? How much will it cost?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,735
    Thanks
    1,457
    Thanked 2,825 Times in 1,660 Posts
    Rep Power
    1300
    Reputation
    49998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post


    Comments from the anti windows tin hat brigade not welcome. Thank you for holding that thought.

    ..... Microsoft has finally figured out how to use Windows safely, for the tin hat brigade.

    ...and guess what, Home users can have a go too:
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • The Following User Says Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #5
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,933
    Thanks
    9,876
    Thanked 4,649 Times in 2,379 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73317

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    ..... Microsoft has finally figured out how to use Windows safely, for the tin hat brigade.

    ...and guess what, Home users can have a go too:
    Well at least one of you had something useful to post.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    Uncle Fester (04-09-19)

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,670
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    Actually three of us has something useful to post about that useless piece of software called Windwoes.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,459
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 3,459 Times in 1,505 Posts
    Rep Power
    1281
    Reputation
    47788

    Default

    the home hack doesnt work on latest versions, im running a prerelease version on one laptop.....

    ffs, you linux preachers are getting as annoying as vegans.......



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19),joezep (05-09-19),lsemmens (05-09-19),Tiny (04-09-19)

  • #8
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,170
    Thanks
    2,823
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 461 Posts
    Rep Power
    511
    Reputation
    21897

    Default

    but its fun 2
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (05-09-19)

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,817
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 751 Posts
    Rep Power
    587
    Reputation
    15778

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    Well at least one of you had something useful to post.
    this has been around for years

    does not support linux ha

    i just loaded zorin on test lappy i have here, took forever
    shame anydesk doesnt work on it either.

    zorin = wftm
    well i know now,
    Last edited by Philquad; 04-09-19 at 04:17 PM.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •