Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: W10 Inbuilt Sandbox.

  1. #1
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    6,132
    Thanks
    10,275
    Thanked 4,990 Times in 2,501 Posts
    Rep Power
    1921
    Reputation
    80137

    Default W10 Inbuilt Sandbox.

    So since May 2019 Update 1903, windows has given us a built in Sandbox for Pro Users.

    Requirements Minimum; PC running Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise, or Education build 1903 or later
    Virtualization support enabled in BIOS

    For optimum performance;
    64-bit architecture
    Minimum 4GB of RAM
    Minimum 1GB of free storage space
    Minimum 2 CPU cores

    It also needs to be turned on/installed thru Windows features.

    Unfortunately it only has Edge browser & although you can install the browser of your choice in the sandbox, you will have to do so every time you use it, as it's a clean virtual installation every time you open it.

    Anyway I'm giving it a try.

    Anyone else used it?

    Thoughts?

    Comments from the anti windows tin hat brigade not welcome. Thank you for holding that thought.

    EDIT:
    Found a good article with videos for visual info.
    Last edited by Tiny; 03-09-19 at 08:10 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,461
    Thanks
    3,836
    Thanked 1,584 Times in 583 Posts
    Rep Power
    651
    Reputation
    28057

    Default

    Ring ring!
    hello!
    hello this is rashid from microsoft how are you today ,
    Fine ,what do you want ?
    we have seen that you are using our windows ten and you have a fault in it ,
    Is that right ?
    yes , and the good news is i can fix it for you on line
    oh yeah how ?
    well you got a sandbox , and cats use these to go toilet .
    yeah so what
    so if you take the side of your computer and piss in the sand box everything will come right
    What! you want me to piss on my computer ? you must be kidding !!!!
    No sir not kidding just pass me your bank account details and i will save your data to protect it while we do the transfer to linux for you
    Ok then i have nothing to lose as all windows users are losers thanks rashid
    are you a self appointed hypocrite sheriff or just a nasty person

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (03-09-19),Uncle Fester (04-09-19)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,824
    Thanks
    8,722
    Thanked 5,461 Times in 2,632 Posts
    Rep Power
    2406
    Reputation
    100480

    Default

    M$ have only just worked this out? WINE and Play on Linux have been around for centuries. And now M$ has finally caught on? How much will it cost?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    5,019
    Thanks
    1,614
    Thanked 3,146 Times in 1,827 Posts
    Rep Power
    1446
    Reputation
    56418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post


    Comments from the anti windows tin hat brigade not welcome. Thank you for holding that thought.

    ..... Microsoft has finally figured out how to use Windows safely, for the tin hat brigade.

    ...and guess what, Home users can have a go too:
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • The Following User Says Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #5
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    6,132
    Thanks
    10,275
    Thanked 4,990 Times in 2,501 Posts
    Rep Power
    1921
    Reputation
    80137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    ..... Microsoft has finally figured out how to use Windows safely, for the tin hat brigade.

    ...and guess what, Home users can have a go too:
    Well at least one of you had something useful to post.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    Uncle Fester (04-09-19)

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,824
    Thanks
    8,722
    Thanked 5,461 Times in 2,632 Posts
    Rep Power
    2406
    Reputation
    100480

    Default

    Actually three of us has something useful to post about that useless piece of software called Windwoes.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19)

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,588
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 3,616 Times in 1,566 Posts
    Rep Power
    1355
    Reputation
    50928

    Default

    the home hack doesnt work on latest versions, im running a prerelease version on one laptop.....

    ffs, you linux preachers are getting as annoying as vegans.......



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (04-09-19),joezep (05-09-19),lsemmens (05-09-19),Tiny (04-09-19)

  • #8
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,461
    Thanks
    3,836
    Thanked 1,584 Times in 583 Posts
    Rep Power
    651
    Reputation
    28057

    Default

    but its fun 2
    are you a self appointed hypocrite sheriff or just a nasty person

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hinekadon For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (05-09-19)

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,855
    Thanks
    187
    Thanked 1,280 Times in 773 Posts
    Rep Power
    607
    Reputation
    16438

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    Well at least one of you had something useful to post.
    this has been around for years

    does not support linux ha

    i just loaded zorin on test lappy i have here, took forever
    shame anydesk doesnt work on it either.

    zorin = wftm
    well i know now,
    Last edited by Philquad; 04-09-19 at 04:17 PM.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • 18-11-19, 09:38 PM


  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •