Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: One for the Linux/virtual box/windows guruís

  1. #1
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default One for the Linux/virtual box/windows guruís

    Hello guruís,

    I have a Linus base system with a windows7 in a virtual box.

    I am trying to get the windows system to see the serial port on the computer (/dev/ttyS0).

    I have done a chmod to make the /dev/ttyS0 accessible to all users (ie me).

    In virtual box I have enabled COM1 and piped it to /dev/ttyS0 yet applications do not see the serial port.

    I am at a loss what to do next.

    Any pointers?

    Thanks for looking in.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,664
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    Sorry I cannot help. Not may area of expertise, I'm afraid. Sounds like a good question to be posed on the relevant Linux forum. i.e. the forum relating to the version of Linux that you run.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,459
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 3,459 Times in 1,505 Posts
    Rep Power
    1281
    Reputation
    47788

    Default

    Is it a hard wired port or a usb to serial adaptor?

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #4
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    Is it a hard wired port or a usb to serial adaptor?

    Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk
    The serial port is an actual true serial port with linux as the base system (/dev/ttyS0).

    Win7 is the virtual system with a virtual COM1 that I need to access the actual real COM1 (/dev/ttyS0) under linux.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    2,814
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 461 Posts
    Rep Power
    510
    Reputation
    21897

    Default

    Question ? dont you have to put the "ser2pl "thingy into winwoes first ????
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #6
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default

    any help?
    Or maybe ?
    Some more

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jma For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (12-09-19),porkop (13-09-19)

  • #7
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    Question ? dont you have to put the "ser2pl "thingy into winwoes first ????
    the virtual box that windows runs in does not have any actual serial ports. everything is virtual so ser2pl should have no effect as I am trying to link a virtual COM port to an actual COM port (not a com port through USB).
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #8
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    2,814
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 461 Posts
    Rep Power
    510
    Reputation
    21897

    Default

    I dunno but i thought thats what ser2pl did ????
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #9
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quick google talks about serial to USB. I am wanting to go serials to serial. USB is not require to access.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #10
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default

    I can't find it again now but I think I remember when trying similar a few years ago something about having to create or enable the COM port manually from within the guest OS?
    That was with XP as the guest I think & from memory I think I gave up trying after a while.
    Never really had much luck with VB over the years, never seemed to be able to get it working as it was supposed to.

    This might have been what I was thinking of -

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Jma For This Useful Post:

    Uncle Fester (13-09-19)

  • #11
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    56
    Posts
    5,459
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 3,459 Times in 1,505 Posts
    Rep Power
    1281
    Reputation
    47788

    Default

    why not use something like this:



    and run windows live, or even dual boot windows .........



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #12
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    why not use something like this:



    and run windows live, or even dual boot windows .........

    What I was wanting to do was run a rtlsdr under Linux and use my Winradio under windows on the same machine at the same time.

    The solution may have to be solely windows. But that has its own issues.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #13
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default

    Winradio work using WINE?...though I've found WINE & anything USB never seem to play nice together.
    Or perhaps as another option.

  • #14
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,664
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    What about ditching WINE and trying Virtualbox instead? Presumung you still have a valid Windoze licence, of course.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #15
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default

    He's already running Win7 as a guest in VB.

  • #16
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jma View Post
    Winradio work using WINE?...though I've found WINE & anything USB never seem to play nice together.
    Or perhaps as another option.
    Itís not USB. My winradio has a rs232 port.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #17
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by porkop View Post
    Itís not USB. My winradio has a rs232 port.
    Aah ok, never used Winradio or similar, when I looked it up I saw something about USB interface mentioned somewhere.
    Above my level of expertise I'm afraid...

  • #18
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,131 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    35455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jma View Post
    Aah ok, never used Winradio or similar, when I looked it up I saw something about USB interface mentioned somewhere.
    Above my level of expertise I'm afraid...
    thats ok. just my luck there will be some strange solution like a Serial <> USB in Virtual box into the Linux host system where /dev/ACM0<>/dev/ttyS0!!!!!!!

    I might give wine a try at some stage...hopefully when all finished and working will give me a listening station from 100KHz to 4 GHz all modes and digital?????
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    Jma (14-09-19)

  • #19
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,664
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    Sorry, missed the bit about VB. If you can's get it working in VB, I'd give WINE a miss, the Linux forums I inhabit see more problems with WINE than VB.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #20
    Senior Member
    mickstv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    47
    Posts
    4,152
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 2,368 Times in 1,381 Posts
    Rep Power
    612
    Reputation
    17706

    Default

    Hi Porkop, In Virtual Box did you install the guest additions ?
    Last edited by mickstv; 17-09-19 at 10:05 PM.

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •