Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Hard Disk Recovery software

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default Hard Disk Recovery software

    Hi All

    I have a 1tb drive that's from win10 setup. It was the slave drive and all files stored on it

    My Friend that it belong to told me yesterday that she was tring to copy pic's from the phone to the computer and after an hour still no progsess .

    A quick look and windows is saying that the recycle bin is corrupt and needs to be deleated so I let it do it thing then the computer wanted to run check disk after a reboot. About 10 minutes later it spring's to life and it look's good untill trying to write to the slave drive.

    The drive is now reporting as unformated.

    I have the drive pluged in a USB adaptor at the moment and the same report as unformated.


    I have tried Easeus partition master partition recovey and and hour later it stop responding
    Acronis Disk Director can't find any files on it.

    Any idea's bar paying for data recovery

    Thank's

    Dave
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,124
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 592 Times in 257 Posts
    Rep Power
    964
    Reputation
    32487

    Default

    i have used this in the past

    Active.File.Recovery.Enterprise


  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    SS Dave (28-09-19)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,817
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 751 Posts
    Rep Power
    587
    Reputation
    15778

    Default

    or minitool pdr
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    SS Dave (28-09-19)

  • #4
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    i have used this in the past

    Active.File.Recovery.Enterprise


    I will let you know allthough it's been reported as a 7.5tb drive with this software.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #5
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,933
    Thanks
    9,876
    Thanked 4,649 Times in 2,379 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73317

    Default

    Seatools does some good stuff with fixing odd drive problems. It uses the drives inbuilt self test to determine problems, can do repairs on corrupt sectors.
    It doesn't need to be a Seagate drive either.
    They have Windows version, a bootable USB version & some others for SSD, worth a look.
    Last edited by Tiny; 28-09-19 at 04:43 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    SS Dave (28-09-19)

  • #6
    Do big things!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 274 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    5400

    Default



    The only one worth using IMO.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Jma For This Useful Post:

    SS Dave (28-09-19)

  • #7
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    65
    Posts
    13,913
    Thanks
    12,230
    Thanked 20,528 Times in 6,138 Posts
    Rep Power
    7723
    Reputation
    355769

    Default

    Easeus Data Recovery.....

    Used it a few times....gets everything that is getable....and puts it on another drive that must be the same size at least.

    Takes quite a lot of time to chug through the drive though.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to enf For This Useful Post:

    SS Dave (28-09-19)

  • #8
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,670
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    Whatever you do, if you manage to recover any files DO NOT SAVE THEM TO THAT DRIVE whilst the recovery process is happening.

    Acronis is a tool I have used in the past. If you boot from a Live USB (something like UBCD4WIN - or Linux) you may be able to see it there.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #9
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default

    Hi Guys

    After giving Phills program a crack (minitool pdr) with limited success after 10+ hours it reported it had 57Tb recovered of a 1Tb drive.

    I loaded up Active.File.Recovery.Enterprise from "fandtm666" on the same laptop launch the software and it going to take 14 hours.

    A light bulb moment why not put the drive in a desktop computer I have set aside for a mame cab and as it has a spare SATA port.
    Set it up on the dinning table boot it up install "Active.File.Recovery.Enterprise" power down plug faulty 1tb drive boot computer windows stuff's around for 5 minuts and hay presto the drive is back to normal.

    I am copying all 200,000 oddd file's/180gb to a portable drive as I type this.

    Do I put this drive back in to service and risk the same or should I replace it. I am thinking the latter.

    Thanks for all your suggestions

    Cheeers

    Dave
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,817
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 751 Posts
    Rep Power
    587
    Reputation
    15778

    Default

    think you just answered your own question

    altho i still use old drives for expendable things like movies
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #11
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    think you just answered your own question

    although I still use old drives for expendable things like movies
    Thanks I was think along the same lines but with the cost today it will more likely be a paperweight.

    I have also just found out that it was reporting problems and running slow for over 2 months.

    Cheers

    Dave

    I sould put it on ebay as referb drive with sold as is. HAHA
    Last edited by SS Dave; 29-09-19 at 11:35 AM.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #12
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,309
    Thanks
    7,670
    Thanked 4,852 Times in 2,396 Posts
    Rep Power
    2138
    Reputation
    88300

    Default

    Once recovered, I'd re-format it and use it for non-critical stuff. i.e. anything you can easily replace should it go belly up. (In my setup, this usually means the OS as it only takes me about 30 mins to re-load my OS and get everything back to where I was (including updates), but then I am running Linux. Windows - Hell no! That usually takes a couple of days!
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #13
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default

    The more I think about reusing the drive as any thing more than a paperweight it will come back and bite me on the ass.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #14
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,817
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 751 Posts
    Rep Power
    587
    Reputation
    15778

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SS Dave View Post

    I sould put it on ebay as referb drive with sold as is. HAHA
    thats a joke, i put a older i7 cpu on fleabay to recoup some cash from a mates pc, the guy must of fried it & they expect you to refund it,

    as far as backup, i run macrium reflect with a incremental daily schedule of c drive, the rest on other drives, & it has a "1 click" from boot screen to restore in 15 mins flat
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #15
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks
    2,901
    Thanked 1,658 Times in 477 Posts
    Rep Power
    750
    Reputation
    29502

    Default

    Thanks for all your help I was able to retrieve the data and copy to a new drive.

    As the hard drive that I was asking about in this thread was still siting on my desk and I had a light bulb moment thinking that 6 months earlier I had a 500 gig drive in xbox give random failures and with some cleaning of the contacts on the PCB it came good and with nothing to loose I removed the PCB and cleaned the contacts for the spindle motor and heads a week ago and it has not missed a beat since hot, cold, shacking the crap out of it giving it a technical tapping it just keeps going.



    2 drives 1 WD and the other a Seagate same fix.


    Looks like a new drive for the next Original Xbox I mod.



    SS Dave
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to SS Dave For This Useful Post:

    Philquad (21-10-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •