Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unable to boot from any bootable medium

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default Unable to boot from any bootable medium

    Okay so I bought a lightweight setup consisting of:
    * Gigabyte H310M S2P 2.0
    *Corsair VS650
    *8GB Vulcan DDR4 RAM
    *240GB Kingston SSD
    *Intel i5-9500 LGA1151

    So the problem is that when I try to boot off a Windows 10 bootable USB it will start to boot and then freeze on the blue windows logo screen with no spinning dots. I have tried with multiple USBs, creating the disk with RUFUS and the windows media creation tool. I've tried using a Ubuntu boot USB, I've even tried installing windows 10 on the SSD with another computer, with still the same results. I've tried changing settings in BIOS like CSM. It's definitely starting to boot off the USB but just freezes as soon as it tries to do anything else. This is my first PC build so please go easy on me. Any help at all much appreciated



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,862
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 1,284 Times in 777 Posts
    Rep Power
    609
    Reputation
    16518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rothackerben8 View Post
    Okay so I bought a lightweight setup consisting of:
    * Gigabyte H310M S2P 2.0
    *Corsair VS650
    *8GB Vulcan DDR4 RAM
    *240GB Kingston SSD
    *Intel i5-9500 LGA1151

    So the problem is that when I try to boot off a Windows 10 bootable USB it will start to boot and then freeze on the blue windows logo screen with no spinning dots. I have tried with multiple USBs, creating the disk with RUFUS and the windows media creation tool. I've tried using a Ubuntu boot USB, I've even tried installing windows 10 on the SSD with another computer, with still the same results. I've tried changing settings in BIOS like CSM. It's definitely starting to boot off the USB but just freezes as soon as it tries to do anything else. This is my first PC build so please go easy on me. Any help at all much appreciated
    have you got a dvd drive you can try to boot off a dvd?
    thats what id try 1st
    different usb sticks?
    has the other computer got a dvd drive?
    ruling out usb errors would be my advice
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,859
    Thanks
    8,784
    Thanked 5,490 Times in 2,647 Posts
    Rep Power
    2419
    Reputation
    101060

    Default

    Will those devices boot a known good computer? I'm suspicious of dud media.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 85 Times in 68 Posts
    Rep Power
    185
    Reputation
    1739

    Default

    can you boot into the bios to check the voltages any bios beeps when you try to boot

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,470
    Thanks
    3,859
    Thanked 1,593 Times in 589 Posts
    Rep Power
    655
    Reputation
    28237

    Default

    Isnt the i5 a lga1156?
    are you a self appointed hypocrite sheriff or just a nasty person

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,862
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 1,284 Times in 777 Posts
    Rep Power
    609
    Reputation
    16518

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    Isnt the i5 a lga1156?
    you can have i5 in 1156,1150,1151
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #7
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    59
    Posts
    1,420
    Thanks
    3,273
    Thanked 2,453 Times in 608 Posts
    Rep Power
    1081
    Reputation
    45402

    Default

    Just thinking out loud

    I had problems trying to use a USB 3.0 port and had to use a USB 2 only port for a windoze install.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •