Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ute box alarm

  1. #1
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,183
    Thanks
    1,660
    Thanked 1,740 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    756
    Reputation
    25188

    Default Ute box alarm

    Bought 3# Jaycar security plunger switches to put on the doors of my ute to connect an alarm. Checked the continuity of the switches and was surprised to find that when they are closed they are active, when open (extended) they are off
    My question is how do i get the alarm to sound when the power is off? Is there a relay or similar that will activate the alarm
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    519
    Thanked 250 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    240
    Reputation
    2812

    Default

    Are you talking about the white coloured siren tamper switch. Post a pic of the type you have.

  • #3
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,073
    Thanks
    5,307
    Thanked 11,774 Times in 5,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    4169
    Reputation
    171171

    Default

    Alarms usually have normally open and normally closed connections, so either type of switch contact configurations can be used.

    If the alarm power is off, nothing will work, but I assume you mean just the sensor/switch, not the actual power itself.

    Yes, you could use a relay with double throw contacts in conjunction with the switch, making the circuit closed when the switch is released.

    What alarm are you using... does it have both NC and NO circuits?

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    2,630
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,559 Times in 788 Posts
    Rep Power
    633
    Reputation
    21478

    Default

    Alarm switches are normally closed. That way the simple alarm can tell if the cable to them is cut.
    Once you move up a level, they use End Of Line Resistors so the alarm knows if the cable is cut or shorted.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Reschs For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (08-01-20)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,507
    Thanked 2,907 Times in 1,704 Posts
    Rep Power
    1340
    Reputation
    51638

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Bought 3# Jaycar security plunger switches to put on the doors of my ute to connect an alarm. Checked the continuity of the switches and was surprised to find that when they are closed they are active, when open (extended) they are off
    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    My question is how do i get the alarm to sound when the power is off? Is there a relay or similar that will activate the alarm
    You did not specify what alarm you are using.

    If you just wanted to power on a simple siren with the switches without using any alarm hardware you could do this:
    You wire all the switches in series in a ring.
    The first switch is connected with one pole to chassis (GND) and the other connector with a single wire to the next switch. Then just wire in series from switch to switch(no GND) and the last wire goes to the coil of a 12V double throw relay. The other connection of the coil goes to permanent +12V but through a low rated fuse of course, never directly to the battery
    You connect your siren using the normally closed contact(NC) of the relay and in series to a hidden rocker switch switch to disable the alarm.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 08-01-20 at 11:26 AM.
    This era of thoughtless consumption must end so we can encourage a world of creative geniuses rather than consumer idiots.


  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,183
    Thanks
    1,660
    Thanked 1,740 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    756
    Reputation
    25188

    Default

    bss904, yep see attached


    Guys, thanks for the replies, have only obtained the 3# switches at this point, already have a fuses and power in the tub, thought it only a matter of connecting to switches and a siren (with hidden cut off switch)
    Appears i have to purchase a double throw relay which i will get tomorrow
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • #7
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    519
    Thanked 250 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    240
    Reputation
    2812

    Default

    Those tamper switches come in 2 flavours. NC pin in & NO pin in. The one your after is the NO Pin in and it should have a red dot on the back of the shell to identify it. I have just had a look through my stock and unfortunately I don't have any.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    2,630
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,559 Times in 788 Posts
    Rep Power
    633
    Reputation
    21478

    Default

    Just take them back to Jaycar and swap them for the correct ones.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •