Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: coax to rj45 adapter

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    234

    Default coax to rj45 adapter

    Hi I am getting a huawei b818 modem but I need a rj45 from the modem to coax adapter (wall plate) to a yagi antenna I have looked but cant find what I need can someone point me in the right direction please and thanks



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    3,273
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 524 Posts
    Rep Power
    584
    Reputation
    25057

    Default

    sorry to laugh but you have the wrong end of the stick hahaha coaxial is for antennas !!!!rj45 is for audio /data connection !!! you need to buy the antenna from huawei which is available as a optional extra that takes the data and transfers it to a rf signal on wifi frequencies ??? did you even google what you were buying ?
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    234

    Default

    I talked to optus and they said I can use one of the rj45/ethernet ports with a coax adapter to my yagi antenna and yes I did google it and theres no need to be a nasty f###
    Last edited by wazza811; 11-02-20 at 05:29 PM.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    3,273
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 524 Posts
    Rep Power
    584
    Reputation
    25057

    Default

    the joke was on me and thanks for the laugh as I said you have to have some electronics to get your rj45 data to a rf stage and I wasnt being nasty either !!!!
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #5
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    16,005
    Thanks
    3,394
    Thanked 4,544 Times in 2,718 Posts
    Rep Power
    1545
    Reputation
    43231

    Default

    I hear where hinekadon is coming from. It is an odd question. Maybe buy the cable with the modem.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    59
    Posts
    1,339
    Thanks
    3,068
    Thanked 1,985 Times in 539 Posts
    Rep Power
    887
    Reputation
    36042

    Default

    The modem you have quoted (huawei b818) is a modem to go from 4G (LTE) to 2.4ghz and 5ghz Wifi and has two LAN ports (Cat5) with one of the lan ports able to be set as a WAN in case you have a Satellite modem maybe? and looking at the setup guide the only mention of poor signal is to move the modem to a near a window.
    Death smiles at everyone. Grumpy old men smile back.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 66 Times in 41 Posts
    Rep Power
    34
    Reputation
    1330

    Default

    Aer we talking different b818 version? According to this vid, the external antenna connections are separate (under the wee cover)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    mtv (11-02-20)

  • #8
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,077
    Thanks
    5,307
    Thanked 11,782 Times in 5,804 Posts
    Rep Power
    4173
    Reputation
    171331

    Default

    Did you read the manual?



    "The Huawei B818 allows the connection of up to two external antennas or a MIMO antenna. For this purpose, two TS-9 connectors are available on the back. If the external antenna is not detected automatically by the router, then you can manually switch to the operation with an external antenna in the web interface."

    So yes, you can connect a suitable yagi antenna... to the antenna ports, which are under the little flap (not the RJ45 sockets.)

    You will need a TS-9 adaptor cable for the type of connector on the coax from the yagi.... (which for the bands these use, you should be using a type 'N' connector.)

    EDIT: wotnot beat me to it while I was typing my reply.

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (12-02-20),SS Dave (11-02-20),tristen (13-02-20),wotnot (11-02-20)

  • #9
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17,011
    Thanks
    7,780
    Thanked 9,618 Times in 4,877 Posts
    Rep Power
    4063
    Reputation
    167432

    Default

    Shoosh.... The Optus 3G/4G home internet idea might catch on
    Cos NBN is soooo good





    Your external antenna request is a pretty common thing for regional uses
    Just look up any antenna supplier, they will have what you need

    Complexity of set up is up to you and your wallet
    Last edited by ol' boy; 11-02-20 at 09:24 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to ol' boy For This Useful Post:

    gulliver (12-02-20)

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,848
    Thanks
    187
    Thanked 1,274 Times in 768 Posts
    Rep Power
    602
    Reputation
    16318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ol' boy View Post
    Shoosh.... The Optus 3G/4G home internet idea might catch on
    Cos NBN is soooo good





    Your external antenna request is a pretty common thing for regional uses
    Just look up any antenna supplier, they will have what you need

    Complexity of set up is up to you and your wallet
    shit, do you live under a tower
    my mates getting a 5g optus modem or watever, with a promise of 50mbs lol
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #11
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    234

    Default

    I got the wrong info from optus sorry hinekadon. I now know what to do thanks to a second look on google and this forum

  • #12
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,583
    Thanks
    8,036
    Thanked 5,212 Times in 2,520 Posts
    Rep Power
    2296
    Reputation
    95500

    Default

    We all make mistakes. If we can't laugh at ourselves, we have no right to laugh at anyone else.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #13
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    3,273
    Thanked 1,434 Times in 524 Posts
    Rep Power
    584
    Reputation
    25057

    Default no sweat at all Im not offended

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza811 View Post
    I got the wrong info from optus sorry hinekadon. I now know what to do thanks to a second look on google and this forum
    Its not a problem for me ! ive had worse but just have a little thought that some of us know , better still believe a techy over a sales person . Did you get the t9 antenna sorted I think fleabay has t9 to n type adaptors quite cheap carry on
    . Please treat people as you would like to be treated yourself.

  • #14
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    234

    Default

    I got the huawei b818 modem optus $68/month/500gig plan I went to my daughters place to test it , she lives in a big town/small city in nsw , I turned it on then wifi to my phone and done about 8 speed tests over 6 hours , the speed was between 80 to 100+ mbps d/l on 3 dots/bars , I went home the next day in the afternoon plugged it in and got 3 dots/bars on a little table near my front glass sliding door and get around 20 mbps d/l , I have not plugged the yagi antenna into it yet but am very impressed with new modem , I have lived with second rate satellite net for last 10 years , the latency has gone from around 580ms to around 20/30ms which is the best thing ever , I have gone from 65gig peak for $55/month to $68/month 500gig anytime , hello first rate/modern internet , I am as happy as a pig in shit (as the saying goes) will let you know if connecting yagi makes speed any better when I connect it

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to wazza811 For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (16-02-20),mtv (16-02-20),SS Dave (16-02-20)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •