Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Win10 setup and other questions

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks
    946
    Thanked 356 Times in 234 Posts
    Rep Power
    293
    Reputation
    6084

    Default Win10 setup and other questions

    A "new to me" Win10 machine will be arriving soon. I am used to running as "root" with the current machine so it will take some getting used to the login paraphanalia of M$.

    What is the easiest setup to minimise this procedure?

    What other measures should I take so that M$ is as least informed as possible? I have watched a youtube video about ensuring "cleanliness" of the OS.

    How much hardware change can be made without running into issues? A second HD for instance so that I can run my preferred OS. I am loathe to remove Win10 as it may be useful "one day" ....

    If the above questions seem strange bear with me as I haven't had a M$ machine since Win98.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,971
    Thanks
    8,934
    Thanked 5,640 Times in 2,702 Posts
    Rep Power
    2484
    Reputation
    104060

    Default

    The only way to make sure M$ is not looking over your shoulder is to install Linux and forget about windwoes all together. What is so critical that you need Windwoes anyway. FYI once W10 has been activated on that machine, you can blow it all away and re-load W10 down the road without having to worry about activation, so disposing of Windwoes is so easy.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (13-02-20),tristen (14-02-20),wotnot (13-02-20)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks
    946
    Thanked 356 Times in 234 Posts
    Rep Power
    293
    Reputation
    6084

    Default

    I don't need Windwoes at all on the machine. I was concerned what "might" happen if I got shot of it.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 537 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    250
    Reputation
    10750

    Default

    As lsemmens points out, once the machine is registered at Win10 initial activation, that holds for pretty much the life of the machine (caveat mainboard/bios replacement). If you don't have the installation media for Win10, you can create a USB recovery drive after you've activated the M$ installation, and use that to get back to original starting point if needs be...(and I'm trying to think of what those needs might be, and I'm only coming up with some speculative future juncture where you might want to sell the rig 'as it was bought' with a win10 install =)

    I don't know if it's still about, but there was once a perception that installing another OS than what was originally installed to the machine 'as shipped/sold', invalidated any warranty claims made within the period of warranty cover -- that's bollocks, m'kay? (pretty sure the Apple store is the exception here =) If one were to email all the manufacturers of the components that comprise that machine, "does your hdrive/mainboard/ram/gpu/gpu part run with OS' other than win10?", they will of course say 'yes'. Don't believe this myth if you've heard of it, it's rubbish.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (14-02-20)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,868
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 1,290 Times in 782 Posts
    Rep Power
    613
    Reputation
    16638

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    A "new to me" Win10 machine will be arriving soon. I am used to running as "root" with the current machine so it will take some getting used to the login paraphanalia of M$.

    What is the easiest setup to minimise this procedure?

    What other measures should I take so that M$ is as least informed as possible? I have watched a youtube video about ensuring "cleanliness" of the OS.

    How much hardware change can be made without running into issues? A second HD for instance so that I can run my preferred OS. I am loathe to remove Win10 as it may be useful "one day" ....

    If the above questions seem strange bear with me as I haven't had a M$ machine since Win98.
    its pretty simple, you dont even have to activate 10 if you dont want to, you just lose the fancy features we never use anyway
    when asked, choose a local account instead of signing in to ms\outlook\hotmail watever
    during install when it "asks you" do you want all these things to track you, turn them off !
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (14-02-20)

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks
    946
    Thanked 356 Times in 234 Posts
    Rep Power
    293
    Reputation
    6084

    Default

    The machine is being shipped with a SSD. Swap that for one I have already and I am good to go - yes?

    Meaning that, at some future date, I could reinstall the Win10 SSD without any problem(s)?
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,868
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 1,290 Times in 782 Posts
    Rep Power
    613
    Reputation
    16638

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    The machine is being shipped with a SSD. Swap that for one I have already and I am good to go - yes?

    Meaning that, at some future date, I could reinstall the Win10 SSD without any problem(s)?
    if your current drive is win 10 it should sort itself out fine
    win 7 or 8 could be a drama (use safe mode to remove old chipset drivers 1st) then put it in

    win 10 should be easy.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (15-02-20)

  • #8
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,226
    Thanks
    5,634
    Thanked 4,059 Times in 1,725 Posts
    Rep Power
    1243
    Reputation
    47501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    The machine is being shipped with a SSD. Swap that for one I have already and I am good to go - yes?
    Correct.

    Meaning that, at some future date, I could reinstall the Win10 SSD without any problem(s)?
    Yes.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (15-02-20)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •