Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hybrid Inverter Solar Panel System - Is it worth the outlay?

Thanks

Default Hybrid Inverter Solar Panel System - Is it worth the outlay?

Hi everybody,

My wife and I opted for the Government subsidized solar panel grid system some ten years ago. In July the Government subsidy basically finishes.

We are looking at replacing the system with a Hybrid Inverter Solar Panel system. (Redback technologies company.)

I would like to know what everybody thinks regarding value and if it is really worth the outlay in panels and storage batteries. I understand that the best way to go is to get a decent set up to "make it work." 12 panels at least and a couple of storage batteries.

I am an amateur radio operator and am wondering if anybody has had any interference on the HF bands from the inverters. With our current Orion inverter and six panels I have not really noticed any excessive interference on any HF bands from a smaller solar panel grid system.

Thanks in advance everybody.

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

I've seen (or more precisely.. have heard) some shocking interference from some inverters... enough to wipe out 2 metres FM at a distance of 100 metres!

Most newer inverters seem to have less QRM issues.

I'm considering a similar hybrid system myself... and will ensure I get it in writing that any inverter/entire installation does not generate any RFI.

• The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

David071 (01-05-20)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,857 Times in 894 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by David071 View Post

I would like to know what everybody thinks regarding value and if it is really worth the outlay in panels and storage batteries. 12 panels at least and a couple of storage batteries.
    No, no, NO and a thousand times NO!

Here is my crash course rant on solar and batteries.