Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Continual dial tone on voip incoming call

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Continual dial tone on voip incoming call

    Hi list,
    My NBN installation included VoIP.
    The installer did a 'back connection', I think it's called, over the old adsl cable to the old wall phone.
    Every time I get an incoming phone call there's a continual dial tone.
    This means the exchange is still connected.
    I'm trying to find a tech that can come and fix it.
    I live in Turramurra NSW 2074.
    TIA
    John



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,246
    Thanks
    5,681
    Thanked 4,081 Times in 1,735 Posts
    Rep Power
    1254
    Reputation
    47941

    Default

    I understand your frustration, but this is the wrong way to attempt to have the problem rectified.

    Take the matter up with the company that did the connection for you.

    It's their responsibility to correct this, not yours.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (01-06-20),wotnot (01-06-20)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    383
    Thanked 742 Times in 433 Posts
    Rep Power
    341
    Reputation
    14850

    Default

    Happened to us -- connection hadn't been made at the exchange switch.

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tristen View Post
    I understand your frustration, but this is the wrong way to attempt to have the problem rectified.

    Take the matter up with the company that did the connection for you.

    It's their responsibility to correct this, not yours.
    Tristen, I did! With Exetel (NBN) and then with TIO (Ombudsman). They are only responsible for getting the VoIP to the modem! They reject any responsibility for the internal wiring of the house.

    Their only help was to suggest I find a technician that can sort it for me. I've tried, Whirlpool, various cabling people and companies; no joy.

    You're my last hope.

    John
    Last edited by johnhedge; 01-06-20 at 04:40 PM.

  • #5
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,343
    Thanks
    5,476
    Thanked 12,053 Times in 5,926 Posts
    Rep Power
    4310
    Reputation
    177379

    Default

    John,

    Does your modem have a telephone-out connection and is that how the wall phone cabling is connected?

    That is the usual way analogue phones are connected to voip (via the NBN modem/router).

    NBN is only responsible for connecting the NBN side... they don't provide any other cabling/connections, etc.

    However, most NBN installers are contractors and 'may' offer additional services as a private arrangement with customers.

    Is that your situation?

    As tristen said, you need to take it up with the installer.

    Any ACMA licensed cabler can perform the work.

    This might help if the installer can't/won't.


  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    John,

    Does your modem have a telephone-out connection and is that how the wall phone cabling is connected?

    That is the usual way analogue phones are connected to voip (via the NBN modem/router).

    NBN is only responsible for connecting the NBN side... they don't provide any other cabling/connections, etc.

    However, most NBN installers are contractors and 'may' offer additional services as a private arrangement with customers.

    Is that your situation?

    As tristen said, you need to take it up with the installer.

    Any ACMA licensed cabler can perform the work.

    This might help if the installer can't/won't.

    I'm afraid my patience with Exetel has expired. This has been going on for almost 18 months!
    Thanks for the link. I've been there before without luck but this time i noticed an email address to use for advice on a cabler in my area. I've sent them an email. Let's see if they can point me in the right direction.

    Thanks

  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    9,173
    Thanks
    9,286
    Thanked 5,835 Times in 2,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    2571
    Reputation
    107960

    Default

    Back in the bad ole days, Dial tone across a conversation was usually the result of a cable fault out in the street. Occasionally a switch in the exchange would do it, but very rarely. Now, I'd still suggest that the issue is to do with the NBN side of things. Can you disconnect the house wiring and plug directly into the modem? That would then Force whoever to look at the right area.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    Back in the bad ole days, Dial tone across a conversation was usually the result of a cable fault out in the street. Occasionally a switch in the exchange would do it, but very rarely. Now, I'd still suggest that the issue is to do with the NBN side of things. Can you disconnect the house wiring and plug directly into the modem? That would then Force whoever to look at the right area.
    That was one of the tests Exetel and TIO had me do. The phone worked perfectly well. Their conclusion was that the issue is the internal wiring!

  • #9
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,246
    Thanks
    5,681
    Thanked 4,081 Times in 1,735 Posts
    Rep Power
    1254
    Reputation
    47941

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnhedge View Post
    I'm afraid my patience with Exetel has expired. This has been going on for almost 18 months!
    Thanks for the link. I've been there before without luck but this time i noticed an email address to use for advice on a cabler in my area. I've sent them an email. Let's see if they can point me in the right direction.

    Thanks
    I understand your frustration, however, several points need to be emphasized.

    Firstly, Exetel is an excellent company, but they expect you to sort out any internal cabling problems, which is fair enough, as this is your responsibility, as ststed in their Terms and Conditions. They are not installers.

    Secondly, the Yellow Pages, either in the telephone book or via the internet (using Google or a similar search engine...but be sure to ask for a listing for technicians in YOUR area - Google will search the world...a technician in Hamburg is not going to be much use to you!).

    Here, I've done a 5 second Google SEARCH with this result!

    find turramurra-nsw-2074
    216 Results - We have found 216 businesses for Telephone Installation, Repairs & Maintenance in Turramurra, NSW 2074 - Telstra Store St Ives, Telstra Store ...

    As MTV has stated, "Any ACMA licensed cabler can perform the work."

    This is NOT rocket science...just use a little common sense.
    Last edited by tristen; 02-06-20 at 09:37 PM.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •