Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Telstra want to replace my Phone & ADSL Landline with Mobile Phone Technology

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,403
    Thanks
    8,087
    Thanked 1,336 Times in 795 Posts
    Rep Power
    567
    Reputation
    15381

    Default Telstra want to replace my Phone & ADSL Landline with Mobile Phone Technology

    Telstra want to replace my Phone & ADSL Landline with Mobile Phone Technology "smart Modem" and a mobile phone outdoor antenna

    Is this a good thing or a bad thing ?

    My Landline got some bad static in the phone line recently, so I rang Telstra to come and fix it ....

    Telstra are saying my landline is a single cable and "they cannot find it" where there must be a corrupted join in the cable (maybe got some water in it)

    I think they may be wanting to get me off the landline because they do not want to service the cable any more .... (now most other people have gone to a flavor of NBN Broadband delivery)

    I am concerned if the mobile phone technology will do everything as well as my trusty old landline has done ?

    Can people be on the phone as well as people on the internet at the same time ?

    I only get one to two bars of Telstra mobile phone reception on my phone and sometimes get breaking up when in the house .... so they suggested an outdoor mobile phone technology antenna

    he made a point to say that it was not like fixed wireless NBN technology (because I said I could not get fixed wireless NBN in my area) he said it was mobile phone technology (maybe 3g or 4g)

    Will I be able to keep my old Landline telephone number ?

    Will I be able to run a Router for a UK VPN, and a Router for a USA VPN and a router for an AUS VPN on this mobile phone technology ?

    I am not sure but I think he is talking about a Telstra Smart Modem Router that turns over to 4g wireless technology if a landline is not present ?

    I also wonder if everything is the same cost and data allowance or not as my landline plan ?

    Not sure if I will have a choice or not either .... he is coming tomorrow with an installation team .... and I have not told him yes or no yet ?

    And will there be drop outs in reception .... ?

    As I said is this a good thing or a bad thing

    Cheers
    Last edited by OSIRUS; 29-06-20 at 09:49 PM.
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 535 Times in 330 Posts
    Rep Power
    249
    Reputation
    10710

    Default

    We have that sort of setup here ~ I think they called it 'fixed wireless NBN' ... had to go that way because rural area, low user density, and telstra are *not* upgrading the copper in the ground.

    It seems to work reasonably well ; we've had it on for around 8months now, and only had a few outages (all NBN manglings according to tpg) ... as far as data throughput goes, it averages better than FTTN in town...runs at an average of 1.4mbps, tower's about 8klms distant, line of sight.

  • #3
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,233
    Thanks
    5,382
    Thanked 11,964 Times in 5,884 Posts
    Rep Power
    4267
    Reputation
    175599

    Default

    A lot of answers only Telstra can give you, mate.

    The 'smart modem' Telstra have can be used with ADSL or NBN and reverts to the mobile network if there's an outage, etc.

    .

    Are they saying it will use the mobile network all the time, or just when there's an issue with your ADSL?

    The smart modem mobile is usually just a backup.

    The concerning part is speed is capped at 6 Mbps for download and 1 Mbps for uploading and you can't use the landline phone via the modem when it's connected to the mobile network.

    Is this only a temporary fix, until your area gets NBN?

    If not, I would be insisting Telstra fix the cable.

    Techs can use a TDR (Time Domain Reflectometer) to measure the distance to the cable fault, so that's crap that they can't find it.

    They need to fix it, or replace the cable if necessary.

    Perhaps a call to the Telecommunications Ombudsman's Office may be worthwhile, as it sounds like Telstra if offering you an inferior service, which will likely cost more, for less data speed and data allowance, plus not being able to use your landline phone.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (29-06-20),shred (30-06-20)

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,233
    Thanks
    5,382
    Thanked 11,964 Times in 5,884 Posts
    Rep Power
    4267
    Reputation
    175599

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    We have that sort of setup here ~ I think they called it 'fixed wireless NBN' ... had to go that way because rural area, low user density, and telstra are *not* upgrading the copper in the ground.
    Yes, NBN wireless is good, but OSIRUS said Telstra have told him they
    made a point to say that it was not like fixed wireless NBN technology (because I said I could not get fixed wireless NBN in my area)
    NBN wireless doesn't use a smart modem... just a network terminating device (which is basically a different type of modem) and a separate router.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (29-06-20)

  • #5
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 535 Times in 330 Posts
    Rep Power
    249
    Reputation
    10710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    Yes, NBN wireless is good, but OSIRUS said Telstra have told him they

    NBN wireless doesn't use a smart modem... just a network terminating device (which is basically a different type of modem) and a separate router.

    Ahh...yes... *we* got told the same things, but when pushed it magically became available (but we were pushing TPG, not telstra) - initially they said our only option was skymuster sat service or whatever it's called, which sucks terribly.

    As I understood it at the time, the 'magic' came from a tower upgrade that'd be pending for 2years, and which was completed but somehow there's some contractual BS between this, skymuster, and wifi modems...ie; even if all these services are available to the property, there's some obligation to use one or another, just depending on local hookup loads...and coverage -- we can get wireless NBN here ; others have to go to sat because hill shadows etc.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (29-06-20)

  • #6
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,403
    Thanks
    8,087
    Thanked 1,336 Times in 795 Posts
    Rep Power
    567
    Reputation
    15381

    Default

    Thanks mtv and wotnot this gives me some things I can talk to them about tomorrow

    cheers
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #7
    Junior Member RFI-EMI-GUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 61 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Reputation
    1706

    Default

    I would be very wary given you have marginal cellular phone reception where you are.

    They may be giving you a bit of BS about this.

    They may be required to fix that existing line by federal regulations and they are hoping to get your consent to go with the wireless option. You should research this further.

    The argument that they can't find the break is nonsense since the technology, time domain reflectometry ( TDR) is as old as Radar.

    They put a TDR instrument on one of the ends of your line, dial in the cable type, press a button and voila, it spits out distance to break.

    Then they have to get busy, dig a hole then splice and perhaps pull in new wire which frightens them.

    I would research this further. Do you have neighbors? How is that wireless working for them?

    Are they using the fixed wireless ? Is it better, why not make Telestra extend that to you. They would have to install a repeater , too bad for them.

    More likely you are sole user at end of town and they want to be rid of you, which is probably illegal in many countries.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by RFI-EMI-GUY; 30-06-20 at 01:14 AM.
    "Have Spectrum Analyzer, - Will travel".

  • The Following User Says Thank You to RFI-EMI-GUY For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (30-06-20)

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,005
    Thanks
    2,455
    Thanked 1,216 Times in 693 Posts
    Rep Power
    622
    Reputation
    21743

    Default

    if youre happy with the existing service , and not ready to change to the new gear as yet , get them to repair the existing copper fault. Telstra have a program in place called CNI ( customer network improvement ) which are a special team able to fix the bad joints or replace lengths of existing copper.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to VroomVroom For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (30-06-20)

  • #9
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,970
    Thanks
    8,934
    Thanked 5,640 Times in 2,702 Posts
    Rep Power
    2484
    Reputation
    104060

    Default

    All of the above. Make sure they do not want to charge you extra for the "privilege" IIRC those who use the mobile network have to pay for every byte over their limit.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (01-07-20)

  • #10
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 535 Times in 330 Posts
    Rep Power
    249
    Reputation
    10710

    Default

    As per my story above, telstra wanted (or claimed they needed us to pay) a $1200 fee for that....but, a lot depends on your exact location relative to local exchange.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (01-07-20)

  • #11
    Junior Member RFI-EMI-GUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 61 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Reputation
    1706

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    As per my story above, telstra wanted (or claimed they needed us to pay) a $1200 fee for that....but, a lot depends on your exact location relative to local exchange.
    1200 for a service they are likely obligated to maintain? Contact the regulatory authorities, or at least threaten to.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    "Have Spectrum Analyzer, - Will travel".

  • The Following User Says Thank You to RFI-EMI-GUY For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (01-07-20)

  • #12
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 535 Times in 330 Posts
    Rep Power
    249
    Reputation
    10710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RFI-EMI-GUY View Post
    1200 for a service they are likely obligated to maintain? Contact the regulatory authorities, or at least threaten to.
    Pretty much all past tense now, and I have zero need for a landline anyhow ~ it'd be my housemate to which this comment applies, because he refuses to own/use a mobilephone...(or a car with EFI, or use a microwave oven, and bitches everytime he notices you can't by incandescent light bulbs =). Eventually he'll die, and all his technology phobias die with him..

  • #13
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,403
    Thanks
    8,087
    Thanked 1,336 Times in 795 Posts
    Rep Power
    567
    Reputation
    15381

    Default

    Thanks for all the reply's

    I spoke to him today and said I would like him to fix my landline if possible, so he spent another day on it and found the cable and has fixed it .... (I think)

    Will give it a go and see how it goes ..... better than changing all my setup a and equipment at this stage anyway

    thanks for all your comments very help full and I can use this information in the future

    Cheers
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OSIRUS For This Useful Post:

    mtv (06-07-20),VroomVroom (01-07-20)

  • #14
    Junior Member RFI-EMI-GUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 61 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Reputation
    1706

    Default

    Its hard to imagine that in some parts of the world ADSL is still used. I had it here and was promised 6 Mbps. ATT could never attain that speed. The CO is only a short distance downtown. The technicians repeatedly came out to tweak the modem profile and at some point, "it was good enough". A year later, the city water department dug up the copper cable by accident. ATT came out and instead of fixing the cable, rerouted mine via a longer route by a hundred feet or so of smaller guage wire. That broke the camel's back.

    I had to switch to a cable TV delivered internet service. Immensly faster, but horribly expensive because they know I have no choice.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    "Have Spectrum Analyzer, - Will travel".

  • The Following User Says Thank You to RFI-EMI-GUY For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (01-07-20)

  • #15
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    341
    Thanks
    870
    Thanked 151 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    149
    Reputation
    2720

    Default

    I am using a 4G wireless modem a Telstra Netgear NightHawk with no problems for years now. Just make sure there is good 4G mobile phone signal in your area. Would not even consider a copper phone cable for internet as know all the cables in my area are ancient and unreliable.

    An advantage of the wireless modem is that should I go on a trip somewhere I have internet access wherever there is mobile phone coverage.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Landytrack For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (06-07-20)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •