Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Image link Test

  1. #1
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default Image link Test

    posted using Upload Image from top of forum page & pasting Hotlink code as I usually do, Snip was.JPG with caps.



    These 2 Posted using insert image on thread post Go Advanced toolbar, both with .JPG in caps.

    Cant seem to recreate what saintaholiic was saying was wrong with his.Hmm.
    Last edited by Tiny; 08-09-14 at 02:05 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default

    same file using Quick reply toolbar Insert Image icon.



    Now Copy large image; first one from post #1.
    Interesting the file has been renamed .jpg with lower case by the upload page..


    Insert of above URL into an image insert dialogue.




    I'll be buggered if I can work out why people keep getting these File attachment links that lead to error pages instead of Image Thumbnails or full images?

    Edit; successfully created a brocken image attachment, it seems to be the quick reply dialogue malfunctioning.
    Last edited by Tiny; 08-09-14 at 02:18 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #3
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default



    same process.



    Now this image via the Upload Image at top of Forum in new tab & paste the code.



    rename image before upload via edit toolbar using lower case for .jpg

    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #4
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default

    looks like the best option is to use the external Upload Image link at the top of the forum page.

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    The upload image link on the toolbar loads images is to an external site (postimage.org).

    The inthread attachments for images are images we host on our server.

    In all honestly, its better and easier to use postimage.org as it gives better options.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #5
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default

    The biggest problem with this "Insert Image" error is the PC that posted the image can use the link & still see the image, when I look at the link with another computer the link throws the error message. Assume it is the same for other people.



    If there are no capital letters in the image name including the file extension .jpg does it work?
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #6
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,219
    Thanks
    10,513
    Thanked 5,127 Times in 2,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1985
    Reputation
    82877

    Default



    as above with no caps at all.

    The other interesting thing is when I use the edit function I can see the image even though everyone else including me on my other PC get an attachment error???


    So the conclusion is that the most effective way of posting an image so others can see it, is to use the Upload Image link at the top of the forum. Which takes you to postimage.org.
    You will need to open it in another tab or browser window to get the Hotlink for Forums url/code, copy it & paste into your post. It is simple really & it's free - you do not need to sign in or register. Austech forum has provided the service for you.
    The worst you will get is a little add link under it which takes you to postimage .org, however if you remove the second line of code after pasting it, all is good with just your image.

    The quick reply Insert Image icon is definitely malfunctioning for me.
    Pleas note anyone who reads this that the Insert Image & Upload Image functions are 2 totally different things.


    EDIT: This again from the Upload Image link.



    I left the second line of code to show what you get, it can be edited off if you like.

    When you click on Upload Image next to Rules, you get this page, it's self explanatory.



    After you upload an image, you get this page,

    As you can see the options are many & are self explanatory again. However if anyone want's to ask, I'll do the best to explain it in simple terms.

    BTW; I'm writing all this as if I'm doing a tutorial, it may be currently disjointed due to my experimentation, however with some copy, paste & edit into a new thread, instant tutorial. If anyone wants one.
    All this may not be necessary ofter the Forum renovations are finished.
    Last edited by Tiny; 10-09-14 at 06:12 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Iím on an iPad and I canít see any upload image link

  • #8
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,426
    Thanks
    5,501
    Thanked 12,173 Times in 5,980 Posts
    Rep Power
    4363
    Reputation
    179779

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sindy View Post
    Iím on an iPad and I canít see any upload image link
    Pointless responding to a 6 year old thread.

    Closed

  • Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •