Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hard Drive Issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MEL
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation
    10

    Default Hard Drive Issue

    hey guys,
    wanted to get some advice on a hard drive that's failed in a laptop of mine.
    i plan on putting a new one in there but I've got data on there that was fresh that I don't have backups of. (stupidity says don't store data where you can't get it off easily) but the drive details are
    HGST z7k500-500 MLC DA6605 PN 0J43955, does anyone have one of these drives lying around (that's got a working PCB as I'm fairly sure that's the issue) as it spools up but doesn't read anything off the drive.

    Anyone come across this and what was the solution?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,151
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 888 Times in 503 Posts
    Rep Power
    406
    Reputation
    17770

    Default

    A quick search on the 'net suggests the failure is likely the head-stack (more succinctly, failure of pre-amp on head assembly) ; if that's the case, you'll be wasting your money on a working PCB.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MEL
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    yeah but that also comes with the drive being read by bios doesn't it?

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,151
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 888 Times in 503 Posts
    Rep Power
    406
    Reputation
    17770

    Default

    Not necessarily - some drives will just go tah-tahs merely because the controller board *hasn't* detected any data from the heads ; depends on firmware (some will even spin down in such a scenario)

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,529
    Thanks
    4,247
    Thanked 1,660 Times in 611 Posts
    Rep Power
    689
    Reputation
    29577

    Default

    what brand and how big is it ?
    "I can't believe you believe that bullshit!"

  • #6
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,529
    Thanks
    4,247
    Thanked 1,660 Times in 611 Posts
    Rep Power
    689
    Reputation
    29577

    Default

    another read of the post >? got hgst 500 gb but different p/n oj23435 mlc da5280 its a working drive where to from here
    don
    "I can't believe you believe that bullshit!"

  • #7
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,151
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 888 Times in 503 Posts
    Rep Power
    406
    Reputation
    17770

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    another read of the post >? got hgst 500 gb but different p/n oj23435 mlc da5280 its a working drive where to from here
    don
    Just FYI -- model/PCB numbers have to be *exactly* the same to do a PCB swap

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (21-10-20)

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MEL
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Yeah thanks Watnot. i have basically an identical drive. you've gotta swap the BIOS chip as well from memory

  • #9
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,151
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 888 Times in 503 Posts
    Rep Power
    406
    Reputation
    17770

    Default

    Yep, the bios holds the specific drive data (physical calibration), which is on the base platter - it's different for every drive for the most part.
    Often the controller PCB is specific to the head assembly used (again, specifically the pre-amp chip employed) ; this one thing is the reason for same model/PCB number -- head pre-amp & PCB are type matched.

    Have you checked the TVS diode(s) on the power-in rails? They're not unknown to simply fail for no reason over time....ie; if the 12v TVS was good but logic level TVS was kaput, you might end up drive drive spin but no brain

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MEL
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    109
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I havent checked that ill find out where it is and check for continuity.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •