Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: What low cost 4G service works with remote security cameras?

  1. #21
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,640
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 541 Posts
    Rep Power
    595
    Reputation
    19444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    That is the one I was using until it got blocked.The camera's IMEI would be blocked, the SIM still works when I put it in my phone.The seller told me that Telstra whole sale is the problem and they have now a warning on their listing (EBay and Website) that the camera is not suitable for the Telstra network but after I rang they told me it works with a direct Telstra SIM.
    Apologies mate, I mis-read and thought you were using the voice SIM.

    If what you say is the case, maybe a switch out from their data only SIM with a voice/data SIM may work. As you’ve found though, and as was discussed years back, most providers SIMs are intended for phone/tablet use only, not for ‘other’ devices, so YMMV.



  • #22
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,352
    Thanks
    694
    Thanked 1,104 Times in 555 Posts
    Rep Power
    569
    Reputation
    19643

    Default

    Silly question... Do you have a Wireless NBN tower within range?

  • #23
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,208
    Thanks
    2,226
    Thanked 4,286 Times in 2,441 Posts
    Rep Power
    1974
    Reputation
    79218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    Silly question... Do you have a Wireless NBN tower within range?
    Maybe but the cost would be prohibitive as is satellite NBN.

    There is a chance that I might get some outdoor Vodafon coverage, which would be fantastic as I could use a Cmobile Red plan for $5/month.
    It all depends on the mountain right behind the property and also the reception ability of the camera itself.
    The 4G Aldi Telstra strength is 3 bars on my phone but the camera always showed only 1 bar in the app.

    The only way to know is get a SIM and try out but I will have to wait until April.
    Update: A deletion of features that work well and ain't broke but are deemed outdated in order to add things that are up to date and broken.
    Compatibility: A word soon to be deleted from our dictionaries as it is outdated.
    Humans: Entities that are not only outdated but broken... AI-self-learning-update-error...terminate...terminate...

  • #24
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,208
    Thanks
    2,226
    Thanked 4,286 Times in 2,441 Posts
    Rep Power
    1974
    Reputation
    79218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peteramjet View Post
    Apologies mate, I mis-read and thought you were using the voice SIM.

    If what you say is the case, maybe a switch out from their data only SIM with a voice/data SIM may work. As you’ve found though, and as was discussed years back, most providers SIMs are intended for phone/tablet use only, not for ‘other’ devices, so YMMV.
    Alidi Mobile doesn't have a dedicated data SIM or any IoT plans.
    The camera is designed to work with a mobile phone SIM.

    The same SIM is used for voice as well as data only prepaid.
    The only way for Telstra to block is using the IMEI of the device.
    The SIM is not blocked. I checked both data and Voice work fine when I tested it in my phone.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 26-01-23 at 02:39 PM.
    Update: A deletion of features that work well and ain't broke but are deemed outdated in order to add things that are up to date and broken.
    Compatibility: A word soon to be deleted from our dictionaries as it is outdated.
    Humans: Entities that are not only outdated but broken... AI-self-learning-update-error...terminate...terminate...

  • Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •