Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 81 to 89 of 89

Thread: Elon Musks Starlink

  1. #81
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,317
    Thanks
    677
    Thanked 1,070 Times in 542 Posts
    Rep Power
    545
    Reputation
    18963

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    This is why you need a backup, sitting on the couch having a beer streaming mtv 80s and torrenting latest TV episodes and then nothing.... ~
    Hmm... If you have to have a fallback connection as well then it sure as hell ain't worth $139 per month to me!
    Last edited by Bigfella237; 09-04-22 at 08:10 PM.



  • #82
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,074
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,256 Times in 1,815 Posts
    Rep Power
    1652
    Reputation
    63728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    Hmm... If you have to have a fallback connection as well then it sure as hell ain't worth $139 per month to me!
    Every broadband connection needs a fall back if you want 100% uptime.

    Most mobile phone hotspots will suffice.

    If you can't get broadband at all, a few outages are inconsequential, starlink is a shitload better than any other satellite internet.....

    usages.kangaroos.sound
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • #83
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Update :

    Moved the dish to top of the garage, as tree trimming in existing place didnt work.

    Now getting 90-120 Megs upload, 15-20 megs download.

    Streaming was previously disconnecting every 8-10 mins, whilst it switched satelites.

    Now working v well - pretty impressed - just shows the need for a clear unobstructed placement of dishy.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by LittlePond; 13-04-22 at 08:50 PM. Reason: picture added

  • The Following User Says Thank You to LittlePond For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (14-04-22)

  • #84
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,615
    Thanks
    1,890
    Thanked 2,030 Times in 1,013 Posts
    Rep Power
    913
    Reputation
    30988

    Default

    Can Starlink be jammed by the Russians?
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • #85
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,027
    Thanks
    2,154
    Thanked 4,137 Times in 2,354 Posts
    Rep Power
    1899
    Reputation
    76238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Can Starlink be jammed by the Russians?
    Yes with missiles on the ground stations.

    It might be possible to beam nasty shyte to the satellites but that would only effect those satellites while they are flying over Russia and there would be too many to target.

    Probably better off trying to hack into the ground stations and create havoc like activating the de-orbit protocol. Hope Starlink has considered this.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 14-04-22 at 01:34 PM.
    I am an arrogant, irritating RSole.

  • #86
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks
    9,541
    Thanked 2,095 Times in 900 Posts
    Rep Power
    897
    Reputation
    30561

    Default

    Can anyone tell me if Starlink works ok using VPN's ?

    and would you be able to use three vpn's on the network (USA, UK, and AUS for different devices)?

    I think I read one report that Starlink did not work well using VPN's ?

    cheers
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #87
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,074
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,256 Times in 1,815 Posts
    Rep Power
    1652
    Reputation
    63728

    Default

    It's not the most stable with VPN and torrenting...

    Iptv over VPN is fine.

    I've run 4 vpns with no problem.

    There is a 12 month wait for hardware at the moment.

    usages.kangaroos.sound
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (20-04-22)

  • #88
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    I am streaming over a VPN and now my upload is 10-20MB am seeing v few disconnects.

    I ordered my kit the dish via US, 2 months ago, and a router 1 month ago, that has now arrived.

    Am a bit surprised there is a 12 month wait.

  • #89
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    S.E. Queensland
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 152 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    2580

    Default

    Hello Folks, please excuse my ignorance. What does it mean if the 'dish' (dinner plate size) has been driven to elevation aimed straight up position? Is the system waiting for a reset.

    Starlink is doing very well up here on the Beechmont Range (Gold Coast Hinterland). Beats the crap out of NBN's 'Sky Muster'. Not that I have one and have only done limited work for customers but there are dozens of them in our surrounding area.

    Cheers Hos Here

  • Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •