Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 81 to 91 of 91

Thread: Elon Musks Starlink

  1. #81
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,329
    Thanks
    686
    Thanked 1,090 Times in 548 Posts
    Rep Power
    558
    Reputation
    19363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    This is why you need a backup, sitting on the couch having a beer streaming mtv 80s and torrenting latest TV episodes and then nothing.... ~
    Hmm... If you have to have a fallback connection as well then it sure as hell ain't worth $139 per month to me!
    Last edited by Bigfella237; 09-04-22 at 08:10 PM.



  • #82
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,133
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,318 Times in 1,835 Posts
    Rep Power
    1683
    Reputation
    64968

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    Hmm... If you have to have a fallback connection as well then it sure as hell ain't worth $139 per month to me!
    Every broadband connection needs a fall back if you want 100% uptime.

    Most mobile phone hotspots will suffice.

    If you can't get broadband at all, a few outages are inconsequential, starlink is a shitload better than any other satellite internet.....

    usages.kangaroos.sound
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • #83
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Update :

    Moved the dish to top of the garage, as tree trimming in existing place didnt work.

    Now getting 90-120 Megs upload, 15-20 megs download.

    Streaming was previously disconnecting every 8-10 mins, whilst it switched satelites.

    Now working v well - pretty impressed - just shows the need for a clear unobstructed placement of dishy.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by LittlePond; 13-04-22 at 08:50 PM. Reason: picture added

  • The Following User Says Thank You to LittlePond For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (14-04-22)

  • #84
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,651
    Thanks
    1,921
    Thanked 2,061 Times in 1,026 Posts
    Rep Power
    931
    Reputation
    31608

    Default

    Can Starlink be jammed by the Russians?
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • #85
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,143
    Thanks
    2,196
    Thanked 4,238 Times in 2,413 Posts
    Rep Power
    1948
    Reputation
    78258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allover View Post
    Can Starlink be jammed by the Russians?
    Yes with missiles on the ground stations.

    It might be possible to beam nasty shyte to the satellites but that would only effect those satellites while they are flying over Russia and there would be too many to target.

    Probably better off trying to hack into the ground stations and create havoc like activating the de-orbit protocol. Hope Starlink has considered this.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 14-04-22 at 01:34 PM.
    Update: A deletion of features that work well and ain't broke but are deemed outdated in order to add things that are up to date and broken.
    Compatibility: A word soon to be deleted from our dictionaries as it is outdated.
    Humans: Entities that are not only outdated but broken... AI-self-learning-update-error...terminate...terminate...

  • #86
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,536
    Thanks
    9,775
    Thanked 2,108 Times in 903 Posts
    Rep Power
    907
    Reputation
    30821

    Default

    Can anyone tell me if Starlink works ok using VPN's ?

    and would you be able to use three vpn's on the network (USA, UK, and AUS for different devices)?

    I think I read one report that Starlink did not work well using VPN's ?

    cheers
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #87
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,133
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,318 Times in 1,835 Posts
    Rep Power
    1683
    Reputation
    64968

    Default

    It's not the most stable with VPN and torrenting...

    Iptv over VPN is fine.

    I've run 4 vpns with no problem.

    There is a 12 month wait for hardware at the moment.

    usages.kangaroos.sound
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (20-04-22)

  • #88
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    I am streaming over a VPN and now my upload is 10-20MB am seeing v few disconnects.

    I ordered my kit the dish via US, 2 months ago, and a router 1 month ago, that has now arrived.

    Am a bit surprised there is a 12 month wait.

  • #89
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    S.E. Queensland
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 152 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    239
    Reputation
    2580

    Default

    Hello Folks, please excuse my ignorance. What does it mean if the 'dish' (dinner plate size) has been driven to elevation aimed straight up position? Is the system waiting for a reset.

    Starlink is doing very well up here on the Beechmont Range (Gold Coast Hinterland). Beats the crap out of NBN's 'Sky Muster'. Not that I have one and have only done limited work for customers but there are dozens of them in our surrounding area.

    Cheers Hos Here

  • #90
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,133
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,318 Times in 1,835 Posts
    Rep Power
    1683
    Reputation
    64968

    Default

    Straight up generally means it's looking for satellites /initialising.



    Sent from my CPH2305 using Tapatalk
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • #91
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,133
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,318 Times in 1,835 Posts
    Rep Power
    1683
    Reputation
    64968

    Default

    Sad day today, I said farewell to dishy.....

    Sold him on eBay as I no longer need him and have done the testing I wanted to do.

    Transfer process was easy, new owner had no problems either.

    Sent from my CPH2305 using Tapatalk
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    william10 (25-08-22)

  • Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •