Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Compressor preassure

  1. #1
    Premium Member bazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland, Australia, Earth
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    665

    Default Compressor preassure

    Hi All
    Does anyone know if there is a way to adjust the preassure of a compressor so that it cuts off at a higher preassure?
    at the moment the compressor cuts out at 115psi. can that be increased to 125psi?

    I have a tool that needs the additional pressure.

    Thanks in advance



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    9,411
    Thanks
    10,162
    Thanked 6,147 Times in 2,895 Posts
    Rep Power
    2711
    Reputation
    114200

    Default

    You'll have to look at the pressure cut out switch, if it's designed for 115 psi, then you could be SOOL,
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,656
    Thanks
    4,996
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 659 Posts
    Rep Power
    749
    Reputation
    32097

    Default

    take the cover off the p/sw locate the spring there is a screw on the top of the spring screw it down and see if it increases ok
    reject religion for the planets safety

  • #4
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,987
    Thanks
    996
    Thanked 1,037 Times in 631 Posts
    Rep Power
    549
    Reputation
    17898

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bazzy View Post
    Hi All
    Does anyone know if there is a way to adjust the preassure of a compressor so that it cuts off at a higher preassure?
    at the moment the compressor cuts out at 115psi. can that be increased to 125psi?

    I have a tool that needs the additional pressure.

    Thanks in advance
    What is the tool you need extra pressure for? What does it state on the tool for the air pressure and delivery required?
    Are you sure it's not a higher rate of delivery that is required, rather than higher pressure? ie how many Cubic Feet per Minute (CFM)
    Most air tools will operate at 100PSI OK, but many might need a higher rate of delivery than your compressor can deliver.

  • #5
    Premium Member bazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland, Australia, Earth
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    665

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bob_m_54 View Post
    What is the tool you need extra pressure for? What does it state on the tool for the air pressure and delivery required?
    Are you sure it's not a higher rate of delivery that is required, rather than higher pressure? ie how many Cubic Feet per Minute (CFM)
    Most air tools will operate at 100PSI OK, but many might need a higher rate of delivery than your compressor can deliver.


    it states operating pressure 120-200psi.

    from what i can see my FAD is ok. My compressor is fairly big with 320L FAD but the pressure is 115psi from factory.
    Is it dangerous changing this setting?

  • #6
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,987
    Thanks
    996
    Thanked 1,037 Times in 631 Posts
    Rep Power
    549
    Reputation
    17898

    Default

    The required pressure for the jack, does seem high (generally around the 90PSI to 120PSI), but your Flow Rate or Free Air Delivery is in either Cubic Feet per Minute, or Litres per Minute, or Litres per Second. So are you saying the receiver is 350L (which is pretty big for a home compressor), or your FAD is 350 Litres Per Minute?

    Yes dicking around with the pressure cut out switch isn't a good idea, but your safety valve is probably set to 125 PSI anyway, if your max operating pressure is 115 PSI.

    Do you have the jack already, and it isn't working, or are you hoping to "improve" your compressor in anticipation of getting one?

  • #7
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,656
    Thanks
    4,996
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 659 Posts
    Rep Power
    749
    Reputation
    32097

    Default

    yes you will need the extra pressure at the max load of this jack or it just wont work at max load the air is just to make it easier to handle 20 tons changing the pressure switch is a nothing as the blow off valve is the safety feature so you cant do any damage to the unit I normally run mine at 130 psi as it good for painting some fine paints , and it pumps up tires quickly lol you may have to remove the regulator as they become very unreliable at high pressures but 130 psi is ok . cheer don
    reject religion for the planets safety

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •