Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working after hours

Thanks

Default Working after hours

Hi All

Can i get an opinion, I work in the IT industry and i have noticed an alarming lean to unpaid after hours work. now i am not talking about oh no the system is down we need people on it to fix it. but standard day to day work that is being asked to be done after hours.

Now in the past things used to be like if you work hours after work it got made up by either getting paid for it or taking time off. there seems to be an attitude in the industry now that it is "part of the job to work unpaid overtime" and i feel that is a very bad attitude to have.

The way i see it is that lets say your getting paid 38k over a 40 hour week, there are 251 working days less 4 weeks leave is 231 working days in the year that works out to 20.55 per hour. lets say you only work and hour every day that is an additional 260 hours or equal to 30 working days assuming you took all 4 weeks leave entitlements. that works out to a pay cut to 19.80 per hour basically below minimum wage in Australia.

I know those are just figures but any time worked after hours especially if it is administration i feel should be paid appropriately or given as time off.

The attitude i am noticing in companies in recent years is that it comes with the work. i feel this type of attitude of managers today needs to be corrected.
    I remember being told when i was much younger in the workforce, not to put in unpaid or un-credited overtime because you then become treated as a slave to the company and expected to work free of charge. this seems to be happening now days.

its a toxic practice for both the employed and unemployed as not only does it overwork the people who have jobs it robs people of employment who would have otherwise done that work.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to bazzy For This Useful Post:

eaglem (23-03-21)

Look Here ->
    Thanks