Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: bios problems

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default bios problems

    Hi I am not very computer savvy , I have a problem with my asus maximus v formula motherboard when I boot it up it goes into bios , I go to save settings and then windows 10 home comes up , if I restart windows it comes back to windows , if I turn it off today and turn it on the next day I have the same problem , how can I fix this problem so windows come up when I turn on , would doing a bios update fix problem ( I would be very scared to do a bios update because it might stuff it up completely) thanks for any info



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    runway.knighted.crypt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,786
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked 3,920 Times in 1,675 Posts
    Rep Power
    1496
    Reputation
    57008

    Default

    how old is motherboard ? maybe needs new bios battery ? usually a 2032.


    FTTN, 710m line length, bit faster now with draytek modem....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (27-04-21)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    Thanks I will buy a new battery tomorrow , will let you know if that fixes my problem

  • #4
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,740
    Thanks
    5,296
    Thanked 1,923 Times in 696 Posts
    Rep Power
    808
    Reputation
    34837

    Default

    dont leave the battery out for any length of time
    reject religion for the planets safety

  • #5
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,401
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 1,243 Times in 662 Posts
    Rep Power
    563
    Reputation
    24870

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    dont leave the battery out for any length of time
    Doesn't matter ~ as soon as BIOS battery is removed, CMOS resets to default setting and RTC stops ; you can leave these batteries out indefinitely without harm =)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (27-04-21)

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    9,485
    Thanks
    10,373
    Thanked 6,243 Times in 2,934 Posts
    Rep Power
    2754
    Reputation
    116120

    Default

    Definitely sounds like BIOS Battery to me. In case you are wondering it is a CR2032 button battery on the motherboard wazza, so you will need to open up the case.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (27-04-21)

  • #7
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    287
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 101 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    205
    Reputation
    2059

    Default

    is the computer keeping accurate time this will indicate if it is the battery

  • #8
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    HI the mother board is not in a case as such , I am building a virtual pinball machine so mother board is sitting on the base of the old case that I took apart

  • #9
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    287
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 101 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    205
    Reputation
    2059

    Default

    the screws that hold the m/b into the case are earthing points for the m/board

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dai View Post
    the screws that hold the m/b into the case are earthing points for the m/board
    Hi so should I put a earth wire from one of the screws to an earth on my pin cabinet legs or my extra power source
    Last edited by wazza811; 27-04-21 at 02:22 PM.

  • #11
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,401
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 1,243 Times in 662 Posts
    Rep Power
    563
    Reputation
    24870

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza811 View Post
    Hi so should I put a earth wire from one of the screws to an earth on my pin cabinet legs or my extra power source
    Nope.... the earth comes in the ATX power connector, connects to motherboard groundplane, which in turn connects via mounting screws to the baseplate you're using.

    This has nothing to do with your issue -- I didn't comment because hoe has probably nailed it in the first reply =)

    As in I think BIOS battery is to blame as well (mobo made in 2012, these batteries don't last forever)

    Also... regarding on whether or not the system is keeping time, you will only observe that in the BIOS screen ; most OS's update system time via NTP once booted.

    Have you changed the battery yet?

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (27-04-21),Tiny (27-04-21)

  • #12
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    thanks for the info , I have not been to town yet but going Friday so will get battery then , hopefully that is the problem

  • #13
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    Hi I think a new battery fixed the problem , but I will find out when I turn it on tomorrow , will let you know then

  • #14
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 31 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    294

    Default

    Hi guys new battery definitely fixed the problem a big thank you to all who commented wazza

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to wazza811 For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (03-05-21),hinekadon (03-05-21),lsemmens (03-05-21)

  • #15
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    2,004
    Thanks
    1,006
    Thanked 1,064 Times in 644 Posts
    Rep Power
    562
    Reputation
    18438

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza811 View Post
    Hi guys new battery definitely fixed the problem a big thank you to all who commented wazza
    Good to hear you fixed it. Just lucky that MBs these days have a button battery, instead of the solder in battery they used to have.


    Talking to one of the instructors at TAFE many years ago, who also owned a computer shop, he said that if they got a computer in that had a flat CMOS battery, they just replaced the MB, because none of his staff were capable of soldering in a new one without damaging the board. Sounded pretty slack to me at the time, I had done quite a few at the time.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •