Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tyre pressure sensors

  1. #1
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,799
    Thanks
    1,585
    Thanked 2,634 Times in 1,193 Posts
    Rep Power
    1106
    Reputation
    39206

    Default Tyre pressure sensors

    Hi, quick question, which I may answer myself.....

    The tyre pressure sensors in my Jeep are wireless, obviously.

    When I rotate my tires, how do the sensors align up again with the display?

    I think a NFC (near field connection) receiver placed near each wheel so as to pick up informati9n for the nearest wheel.

    Is that right?

    Thanks
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (03-05-21)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,373
    Thanks
    547
    Thanked 1,185 Times in 638 Posts
    Rep Power
    538
    Reputation
    23710

    Default

    Usually they communicate with an in cabin module, typically the BCM (body control module), although I'm not sure which module Jeeps use.

    edit: found this ->
    Last edited by wotnot; 03-05-21 at 02:01 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    porkop (03-05-21)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    runway.knighted.crypt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,766
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 3,849 Times in 1,663 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    55588

    Default

    My 300srt8, ram 2500 and track hawk all reset themselves automatically after a drive.
    No need to program any of them in.
    I suspect the system knows the new locations from response times to a ping.

    Either that or its magic.....

    All were premium tpms systems...

    Sent from my LE2120 using Tapatalk


    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    porkop (03-05-21)

  • #4
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,799
    Thanks
    1,585
    Thanked 2,634 Times in 1,193 Posts
    Rep Power
    1106
    Reputation
    39206

    Default

    I'm going with magic, or witchcraft!

    Ping times between wheels wouldnt vary too much, then if it dropped a ping, would it think your tyre was on the in the next lane? lol.

    Interesting.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #5
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,799
    Thanks
    1,585
    Thanked 2,634 Times in 1,193 Posts
    Rep Power
    1106
    Reputation
    39206

    Default

    or......



    gotta love google. Just need to ask it the right question.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #6
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,706
    Thanks
    5,153
    Thanked 1,875 Times in 679 Posts
    Rep Power
    786
    Reputation
    33877

    Default

    Im interested how they work and what frequency they radiate at and the distance covered like do they interfere with others on a motorway when all cars are travelling at the same speed and distance from each other or if you park up next to someone elses sensors ?
    reject religion for the planets safety

  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    9,441
    Thanks
    10,249
    Thanked 6,176 Times in 2,910 Posts
    Rep Power
    2724
    Reputation
    114780

    Default

    Generally I can tell what the pressure is in a tyre and what tyre it is when I ask the mechanic to check the tyres, his location when he yell out the pressures is usually a good indicator......................................... Runs hides.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    463
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 183 Times in 114 Posts
    Rep Power
    226
    Reputation
    2421

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinekadon View Post
    Im interested how they work and what frequency they radiate at and the distance covered like do they interfere with others on a motorway when all cars are travelling at the same speed and distance from each other or if you park up next to someone elses sensors ?
    They usually work on 433MHZ and send a burst of data that contains the sensor ID / Tire pressure / Temp etc.. these bursts normally happen during tire rotation i.e. when driving every so often or when the pressure drops suddenly, the vehicle is programmed with the sensor id so will only respond to the sensors that are installed/programmed to the vehicle.

    They also respond to a 125khz signal to activate if you don't want to deflate the tire, we would do this with an audio amp and a coil of wire around the sensor with a signal generator connected to the audio amp to play around with them. Probably not all sensors but the Holden ones we were playing around with activated.
    Last edited by vnboost; 03-05-21 at 09:17 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to vnboost For This Useful Post:

    hinekadon (03-05-21)

  • #9
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,799
    Thanks
    1,585
    Thanked 2,634 Times in 1,193 Posts
    Rep Power
    1106
    Reputation
    39206

    Default

    My query though, is when the mechanic rotates the tyres during a service, the front left becomes the rear right, the front right becomes the spare and so on.

    Yet the tyre pressure display on the dashboard will work out the correct tyre position.

    No reprogramming occurs manually.

    I also believe activation is due to rotation which triggers a centrifugal switch.

    Iím back on the black magic, witchcraft path again.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #10
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,373
    Thanks
    547
    Thanked 1,185 Times in 638 Posts
    Rep Power
    538
    Reputation
    23710

    Default

    If the mechanic retraining the TPMS after rotation?

    edit: not all vehicles require retraining - they do it themselves (I can explain that to you =)
    Last edited by wotnot; 04-05-21 at 05:56 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    VroomVroom (05-05-21)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •