Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Drone suggestions

  1. #1
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default Drone suggestions

    Hi, Ive become interested in drones.

    Bought my grandson (and me ) a Kings Cyclone drone for his birthday. He's only 5 so didn't want to spend a fortune. His parents can later!!

    Anyway, it has peaked an interest in me now.

    I am looking for drone suggestions, around the $400 to $600 mark, GPS locked, return to home, stabilized, onboard streaming camera, durable, spares available aplenty, etc etc.

    Any suggestions? reputable suppliers in Vic Metro.

    Thanks
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    freakee1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    somewhere warmer
    Posts
    1,401
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 718 Times in 383 Posts
    Rep Power
    378
    Reputation
    8214

    Default

    what you want to do is watch facebook market - most enthusiasts upgrade DJI products and sell off the old one (or get them and get bored) - the Mavic pro is an awesome drone, it's not the latest - but wow.........
    有段者

  • The Following User Says Thank You to freakee1 For This Useful Post:

    porkop (01-09-21)

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Riverina; NSW
    Age
    45
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    149
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    I'd say Mavic Mini, possibly the newer SE.

    I've had mine for a while but still nervous about using it out losing it. I shouldn't though as it tracks quite well.

    It's weight class <250g may keep you out of future restrictions.

    The main limiting factor, due in part to it's weight is it's not likely to be great in any sort of wind.

    Be careful about going for lesser brands. I also got a Xiaomi 4k Mi Drone. It's nice, but now has no support, spares or batteries available.

    Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Mainsail For This Useful Post:

    porkop (01-09-21)

  • #4
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    291
    Thanked 154 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    233
    Reputation
    2564

    Default

    I have had the DJI Mavic Pro for about 2 years and its been great.There are some really good Video tutorials online for beginners to experts as there is for all DJI products

    My grandson now 6 has no problem flying it under supervision

    The DJI Mavic has whats called "Tripod Mode" ( i think mini also has this) which slows the drone movement to about 25% of normal speed and limits it to 30mtrs, great for learning.

    Most DJI drones are available with pro packs or something which include extra batteries etc, would recommend 4 batteries if you're budget will allow and a good carry case.

    I believe the DJI Mini is just as good but is a little harder to fly in stronger winds due to its size

    cheers thomo
    Last edited by RedXT; 02-09-21 at 08:43 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to RedXT For This Useful Post:

    porkop (02-09-21)

  • #5
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default

    Keep an eye out for my Kings drone. Last seen flying North east, backwards in the wind!!!!!!!!! gone like that. bugga.

    Lucky it didnt cost that much.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    Johnno (07-09-21),wotnot (07-09-21)

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Johnno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    1,331
    Thanked 1,991 Times in 489 Posts
    Rep Power
    998
    Reputation
    39831

    Default

    A missing Drone ??.. Some glitches in the return process ?? or maybe a suicide model ?

    Put an add on social media :

    Missing Drone
    Very Unfriendly
    Last seen flying North east
    Response to heat signatures
    Prone to violent outbursts
    Hates Children

    LOL

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Johnno For This Useful Post:

    porkop (07-09-21),shred (07-09-21)

  • #7
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,710
    Thanks
    712
    Thanked 1,551 Times in 823 Posts
    Rep Power
    701
    Reputation
    31030

    Default


  • #8
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    Actual video of me today!!
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (07-09-21)

  • #9
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnno View Post
    A Some glitches in the return process ??


    Nah was just a cheapy model. no special features. didnt hit the stop button quick enough. Probably over the pacific by now
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    Johnno (08-09-21)

  • #10
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default

    Bought a Mavic Mini 2.

    Love it!!

    Great video.

    Easy to use
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    freakee1 (15-09-21)

  • #11
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    291
    Thanked 154 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    233
    Reputation
    2564

    Default

    Yep they really fly themselves.

    But this might be handy

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,299
    Thanks
    669
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 538 Posts
    Rep Power
    532
    Reputation
    18683

    Default

    Do DJI really force you to create an account with them before you can use their products?

    And if so, why? I don't want anything online or "in the cloud" (no pun intended).

    Surely you can download app and firmware updates etc. without needing to log in somewhere?

  • #13
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    497
    Thanks
    291
    Thanked 154 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    233
    Reputation
    2564

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    Do DJI really force you to create an account with them before you can use their products?

    And if so, why? I don't want anything online or "in the cloud" (no pun intended).

    Surely you can download app and firmware updates etc. without needing to log in somewhere?
    Its 2 years since I brought my drone but I think out of the box it was restricted to 30meters flying range until I registered it. This is something to do with CASA and registers the drone serial number with you're details.

    I have a Mavic Pro but I think some smaller drones don't need to be registered
    Last edited by RedXT; 12-09-21 at 10:47 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to RedXT For This Useful Post:

    Bigfella237 (12-09-21)

  • #14
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,596
    Thanked 2,658 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Rep Power
    1121
    Reputation
    39686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    Do DJI really force you to create an account with them before you can use their products?
    Who knows, who cares. I needed to register to activate my 2 year care plan, so I did it.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to porkop For This Useful Post:

    RedXT (15-09-21)

  • #15
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,299
    Thanks
    669
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 538 Posts
    Rep Power
    532
    Reputation
    18683

    Default

    It's just a personal preference, I strongly dislike and try to avoid anything that "phones home" to it's manufacturer over the internet.

    Wandering OT for a second, a prime example is a WD "My Cloud" NAS that I bought years ago, it's on my LAN but I can't access the files on it unless it's connected to the internet and logged into an account, and I know they're monitoring it's contents because they send me emails saying "Your My Cloud Home is filling up"!

    Since then I vowed to never again get sucked into anything that 'requires' an internet connection to work. Give me the option by all means, but don't force me to create an account to use a product I just paid a large sum of money for.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bigfella237 For This Useful Post:

    RedXT (15-09-21),Tiny (17-09-21),WhiteOx (15-09-21)

  • #16
    Premium Member
    Xplorer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mid SE
    Posts
    891
    Thanks
    463
    Thanked 443 Times in 211 Posts
    Rep Power
    301
    Reputation
    5745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    It's just a personal preference, I strongly dislike and try to avoid anything that "phones home" to it's manufacturer over the internet.

    Wandering OT for a second, a prime example is a WD "My Cloud" NAS that I bought years ago, it's on my LAN but I can't access the files on it unless it's connected to the internet and logged into an account, and I know they're monitoring it's contents because they send me emails saying "Your My Cloud Home is filling up"!

    Since then I vowed to never again get sucked into anything that 'requires' an internet connection to work. Give me the option by all means, but don't force me to create an account to use a product I just paid a large sum of money for.

    Couldn't you have formatted the NAS HDD, created whatever RAID you wanted, then perform backups manually.
    That way you don't get sucked in to the so-called cloud, online data storage and telemetry calling back, as you will never need it connected to the internet.

    Some people like to have all the bells and whistling Apps that do come with some NAS Operating Systems.
    Last edited by Xplorer; 15-09-21 at 09:14 PM.
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #17
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    2,028
    Thanks
    1,023
    Thanked 1,102 Times in 662 Posts
    Rep Power
    582
    Reputation
    19198

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    It's just a personal preference, I strongly dislike and try to avoid anything that "phones home" to it's manufacturer over the internet.

    Wandering OT for a second, a prime example is a WD "My Cloud" NAS that I bought years ago, it's on my LAN but I can't access the files on it unless it's connected to the internet and logged into an account, and I know they're monitoring it's contents because they send me emails saying "Your My Cloud Home is filling up"!

    Since then I vowed to never again get sucked into anything that 'requires' an internet connection to work. Give me the option by all means, but don't force me to create an account to use a product I just paid a large sum of money for.
    Sorry, but I beg to differ... I also have a WD Mycloud, and you don't need to be connected to the internet to access files on it, nor be logged into a cloud account. They get you to set it up that way initially, but you don't have to use the cloud at all (I never have). You have to log into the NAS, of course, like any other NAS, to access shares (not public shares though). You can even connect it direct to your PC/laptop and not even be on the LAN, if you want to prove that point. The mycloud is even smart enough to workout that you have two devices connected together, so you don't even need to use a crossover cable.

    And @Xplorer, no you can't format the HDD and just use it like a NAS. It won't work unless the HDD is partitioned with exactly the right partitions (6 of them) apart from the main storage partition, which you can shrink.. And the right OS and firmware.

    Ask me how I know? I spent about a week trying to replace a HDD on mine, because the original has about 100 odd bad sectors. Still a work in progress, but it isn't straight forward. If the new HDD isn't exactly the same as the original, for 6 of the partitions, it won't work.

    Edit: but I do agree, they aren't a good choice for a NAS
    Last edited by bob_m_54; 16-09-21 at 11:57 AM.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •