Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Dual sat tuner stb's

  1. #1
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default Dual sat tuner stb's

    Hi,
    Do any new stb's have dual sat tuners like a X-9200HD? Or able to record 3 channels at once? Just wondering if there is anything better than my trusty old X-9200HD?

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,371
    Thanks
    218
    Thanked 876 Times in 403 Posts
    Rep Power
    1112
    Reputation
    38167

    Default

    look at the VU+ range of units

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default

    VU+Duo 4K SE is pretty cool, 8 x DVB-S tuners and 2 x DVB-T ones.
    Last edited by macca; 07-09-21 at 09:52 PM.

  • #4
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macca View Post
    VU+Duo 4K SE is pretty cool, 8 x DVB-S tuners and 2 x DVB-T ones.
    Really 8 tuners? How many channels can it record at once?

    DVB-T doesn't work here, can i reuse the cable i use to join the 2 tuners on my x-9200hd?

    Guess i could reuse the HDD in my x-9200hd too? Would it need to be formatted?

    I guess being ChromeOS its stable as? The old x-9200hd crashes once a fortnight/month

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soulfear View Post
    Really 8 tuners? How many channels can it record at once?
    Eight

    DVB-T doesn't work here, can i reuse the cable i use to join the 2 tuners on my x-9200hd?
    You should be able to connect your existing satellite cabling to a new STB

    Guess i could reuse the HDD in my x-9200hd too? Would it need to be formatted?
    The new VU+ 4K STBs use a 2.5" HDD/SSD removable cradle at the rear of the box

    I guess being ChromeOS its stable as?
    I've not noticed any unusual crashes with the box.

  • #6
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    Is there a aussie distributor? Doesn't look like there is one in NZ from my searching, only find UK/DE ones on ebay

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soulfear View Post
    Is there a aussie distributor?
    Not that I know of, we don't have the market size for anyone to make a living from selling these STBs down under.

    FYI I bought a new one in from DreamPortugal*, and am waiting on a 2nd-hand unit purchased from * but be warned the freight costs are crippling.

    If you're cashed up, look at the concierge serice on *.

    * I'm not promoting these businesses, just suggesting to have a look to see what's available in EU, so do your own research. Don't really know about the UK scene...

  • #8
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    can someone post some pics of the menu on a Duo 4K SE? is it quite similar setup/menu/epg to X9200?
    how old is a Duo 4K SE like manufacture wise?? as they dont even have the Duo 4k SE on vuplus.com?

    anyone using a Xcruiser XDSR785HDR AVANt?

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default

    Overview of VU+ models,

    VU+ Duo4K SE is current, it was released in 2020, replacing the VU+Duo4K unit.

    What specific menu items do you want pics of? Can't help with X9200 sorry.

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default





  • #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Rivers NSW
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 121 Times in 74 Posts
    Rep Power
    229
    Reputation
    1930

    Default

    Just had a look at your X9200 unit at

    What satellite signal are you receiving? If all you want to do is watch FTA TV, then I think the VU+ range of STBs are a bit of overkill, and overpriced, for you.

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 921 Times in 460 Posts
    Rep Power
    447
    Reputation
    13481

    Default

    The 9200x was made under various Fortis brands,
    Octagon 1028p was the name of it in Germany

    You could look at some of their other models?? if you want a similar user interface?



  • #13
    Junior Member Rentakill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 54 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    189
    Reputation
    702

    Default

    Hi Soulfear.

    If you have used a Ultraplus X9200 for the past few years i would only recommend the Vu+ or any other Linux based Box running Enigma if you are familiar with Networking / Text Editing / FTP etc..
    Your probably more after something that works straight out of the box - where as the Vu+ Boxes require a bit of Tech to set them up and get them where you want.

    Has UltraPlus not come out with a new version multi Tuner box ?. JackSuper should be able to help you out.
    I had a X9200 myself when they were first released - What a Pig of a box... Glitchy , ran Hot and they never seamed to Iron out the Software properly.
    Ive actually got one downstairs that i picked up a while back at the local recycle centre - which i upgraded to the last Software release and saw not much has changed.
    Probably the best thing about the x9200 is it done Powervu/biss along with the newer x1000HD..

    Keep us in the loop with what you come up with..

  • #14
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    thanks for the feedback guys

    my tv power button on the x9200's RC just stopped working from over use, as for my hunt to find a better STB, so Jack just sent a used RC today til i get my sh*t together and make a decision lol

    i just want a PVR that can record 3 FTA channels on multiple transponders as tvnz & mediaworks use different transponders
    along with DLNA as i run a old DNS-323 NAS that downloads my torrents and runs Mediatomb for my DLNA
    would really nice to have something that was android to get Netflix/neon/YouTube/plex or kodi
    i find it hard to pick a movie on the NAS and these guys should be able to lookup imdb info on the device? or atlest create a database once i update the NAS

    all on the one device, H.265 would be nice too, that doesn't have all the cons Rentakill just listed about the X9200, as i wouldn't of called it a pig of a box but the overheating and then crashing does get tiresome

    Vu+ Duo 4K SE would be the ultimate buy but expensive and freight is a killer atm

    Xcruiser XDSR785HDR AVANt would be nice alternative but not twin tuner

    OCTAGON SF8008 S2X TWIN 4K UHD 2x DVB-S2X would work too but id need something to output to my splitter to get to my bedroom, as i tried changing it around once but it must need power from the stb or something? and i dont need wifi
    that or i need to run more coax to the bedroom and link into the quad LNB

  • #15
    Premium Member
    hazman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lurking at the teakdoor
    Posts
    1,700
    Thanks
    6,172
    Thanked 10,148 Times in 1,481 Posts
    Rep Power
    4283
    Reputation
    202864

    Default

    I have a zgemma h10 combo brought it to replace my Powers hd8200s that i've had for some years.
    Its ok but can be a pain in the ass if you are using it on a motorised setup.

  • #16
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    So my x-9200hd has just started crashing on power off, switch off at the back fixes till next time and is also losing the epg data

    Any ideas? Hdd on way out?

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  • #17
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 921 Times in 460 Posts
    Rep Power
    447
    Reputation
    13481

    Default

    Every time the 9200 crashes it creates a dump file in the directory. Once it gets clogged up with these extra files it gets sluggish. You need to login to the receiver and delete them. They are in the same folder as the .ts recordings.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to apsattv For This Useful Post:

    soulfear (10-11-21)

  • #18
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    Every time the 9200 crashes it creates a dump file in the directory. Once it gets clogged up with these extra files it gets sluggish. You need to login to the receiver and delete them. They are in the same folder as the .ts recordings.
    These will be the core.**** files? Is there anything else i can clean up on the device?

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  • #19
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 921 Times in 460 Posts
    Rep Power
    447
    Reputation
    13481

    Default

    yes correct they are .core ,. how many did you find?
    only del the core files

  • #20
    Junior Member soulfear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    103
    Reputation
    40

    Default

    4 or 5

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •