Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Windows 11, it's doing my head in and I don't even have it.

  1. #1
    Senior Member MrRadio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The depths
    Age
    74
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    607
    Thanked 204 Times in 116 Posts
    Rep Power
    241
    Reputation
    1386

    Default Windows 11, it's doing my head in and I don't even have it.

    Play the fanfare and beat the drums. It's here ... but my computer doesn't make the cut OR does it?
    I have a 1 year old purpose built machine running W10 Pro 21H2. The Windows health check reports that I tick the box for all but one requirement, secure boot. The MB is
    Manufacturer ASRock
    Model H410M-HDV (CPUSocket)
    Chipset Vendor Intel
    Chipset Model Comet Lake
    Chipset Revision 05
    Southbridge Vendor Intel
    Southbridge Model IDA3DA
    Southbridge Revision 00

    BIOS
    Brand American Megatrends Inc.
    Version L1.31
    Date 1/04/2021
    I have tried disabling CSM but the PC won't boot with it disabled so I have set the CSM sub sets to UEFI only and yes it boots but still fails the test on secure boot.
    Having trolled through the UEFI setup for most of yesterday and part of today I am ready to throw my coffee cup at the screen. I don't think that will help though.
    Interestingly , when I follow Windows instructions to access UEFI setup through its update and security -> recovery system UEFI isn't even shown. I updated the UEFI/BIOS today but nothing changed.
    Are there any UEFI experts to suggest what I am not seeing with my 74 yr old eyes. I would be grateful for some help

    EDIT: ASRock advertising claims this MB is W11 ready.
    Last edited by MrRadio; 19-11-21 at 07:20 PM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    759
    Thanked 1,632 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    738
    Reputation
    32650

    Default

    Should be in BIOS on the Security tab ;


  • #3
    Senior Member MrRadio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The depths
    Age
    74
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    607
    Thanked 204 Times in 116 Posts
    Rep Power
    241
    Reputation
    1386

    Default

    I have already enabled it.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    759
    Thanked 1,632 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    738
    Reputation
    32650

    Default

    Hmmm ....you're running a beta BIOS -- have you tried dropped back to latest general release (1.30) yet?

  • #5
    Senior Member MrRadio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The depths
    Age
    74
    Posts
    1,330
    Thanks
    607
    Thanked 204 Times in 116 Posts
    Rep Power
    241
    Reputation
    1386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    Hmmm ....you're running a beta BIOS -- have you tried dropped back to latest general release (1.30) yet?
    I have had the P1.30 since it came out, only installed beta today in attempt to fix the problem which I have solved in the last few minutes. I have just converted my drive from MBR partition to GPT partition. Now I tick every box. I'll leave the beta BIOS there for the moment as it seems stable. Thanks for your interest.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 108 Times in 83 Posts
    Rep Power
    214
    Reputation
    2199

    Default

    on mine the cause was ptt was not enabled i found it under
    advanced tab
    pch-fw
    ptt[enable]

    it was Hoe who helped me find it
    Last edited by dai; 20-11-21 at 02:08 AM. Reason: to add

  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    9,717
    Thanks
    11,036
    Thanked 6,495 Times in 3,031 Posts
    Rep Power
    2867
    Reputation
    121160

    Default

    My desktop is supposedly compatible with the exception of UEFI which I have got disabled in BIOS. Given that it took me two full days to get running under W10 AND I dual boot with Linux (which is the main OS) I'm not about to f*** with it just to check out the new viru.... er. Winge.... er windows
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    5,859
    Thanks
    2,062
    Thanked 3,982 Times in 2,269 Posts
    Rep Power
    1826
    Reputation
    73138

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrRadio View Post
    Play the fanfare and beat the drums. It's here ... but my computer doesn't make the cut OR does it?
    I have a 1 year old purpose built machine running W10 Pro 21H2. The Windows health check reports that I tick the box for all but one requirement, secure boot. The MB is
    Manufacturer ASRock
    Model H410M-HDV (CPUSocket)
    Chipset Vendor Intel
    Chipset Model Comet Lake
    Chipset Revision 05
    Southbridge Vendor Intel
    Southbridge Model IDA3DA
    Southbridge Revision 00

    BIOS
    Brand American Megatrends Inc.
    Version L1.31
    Date 1/04/2021
    I have tried disabling CSM but the PC won't boot with it disabled so I have set the CSM sub sets to UEFI only and yes it boots but still fails the test on secure boot.
    Having trolled through the UEFI setup for most of yesterday and part of today I am ready to throw my coffee cup at the screen. I don't think that will help though.
    Interestingly , when I follow Windows instructions to access UEFI setup through its update and security -> recovery system UEFI isn't even shown. I updated the UEFI/BIOS today but nothing changed.
    Are there any UEFI experts to suggest what I am not seeing with my 74 yr old eyes. I would be grateful for some help

    EDIT: ASRock advertising claims this MB is W11 ready.
    If there is one thing I learnt in my near 30 years experience with Windows is NOT to rely on their error/requirements/test messages.

    See my post :


    and simply try the update first.

    Keep in mind I am using the insider channel, so maybe things are less strict. It just takes a few minute to sign up and less if you have a Microsoft account. I have a bogus one.
    I am also not aware of any PC these days that runs Windows without secure boot. On the contrary it can be a PITA to try get it running on legacy
    I suspect a typical Windows false positive.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 21-11-21 at 10:25 AM.
    I am an arrogant, irritating RSole.

  • #9
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 541 Times in 376 Posts
    Rep Power
    403
    Reputation
    7618

    Default

    [QUOTE=dai;


    it was a ho who helped me find it [/QUOTE]

    fixed it for you

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 108 Times in 83 Posts
    Rep Power
    214
    Reputation
    2199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    fixed it for you
    yes gave me enough information to find the setting and enable it the actual wording was different because of a different brand of bios but it put me in the right section to work it out

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •