Thread: Software issue

Thanks

Default Software issue

I am not a programmer. Indeed, I have just enough knowledge and experience to run the computers and software for my PC (in the past) and Mac (currently) laptops, tablets and phones. I need some advice from those knowledgeable in this field.

Two years ago I employed a Perth-based software company to write an App for Mac and Android. It took some writing and re-writing to get where it was acceptable, and the bill for this was $5500. It went onto iTunes and Google Play, where it was available to download for free. I did not charge for it - I considered this a gift to aid my patients (I am psychologist) and others who had a similar need.

Two years down the track, and both iTunes and Google Play no longer will retain it for download as they moved from 32-bit to 64-bit software.

What I want to know is whether the software company should have been aware that the app they were writing would end up outdated within two years? If so, are they responsible for either refunding the costs or re-writing the app under 64-bit? I have approached them, and they just palmed me off with "we were taken by surprise as well" (which I do not believe).

Regards from Perth

Derek

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

Moved thread to correct section.

The topic isn't an issue with software, but asking for opinions of a legal question.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

Thanks

The situation you describe is very common and unfortunately it’s just a side-effect of the massive rate of change in this industry. There is always something new around the corner and the manufacturers don’t always let the developer community know what is coming. Having said that, the transition to 64-bit was well publicised before it occurred.