Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WiFi Extender

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    68
    Posts
    16,648
    Thanks
    15,664
    Thanked 31,055 Times in 8,185 Posts
    Rep Power
    12057
    Reputation
    566309

    Default WiFi Extender

    Anyone recommend a simple to set up 2.4ghz WiFi extender or booster? The signal is a tad weak up the other end of the house...

    The wife likes to watch Netflix in the bedroom, and when she gets pissed off, the pissedoffnaginess tends to flow on to me...if you get my drift...
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,000
    Thanks
    11,463
    Thanked 6,700 Times in 3,130 Posts
    Rep Power
    2966
    Reputation
    125260

    Default

    I had a few spare modems so just wired on of those to to main one as another WAP. Of course that means you need to run a cat 5(or better) cab;e between the two.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    68
    Posts
    16,648
    Thanks
    15,664
    Thanked 31,055 Times in 8,185 Posts
    Rep Power
    12057
    Reputation
    566309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    I had a few spare modems so just wired on of those to to main one as another WAP. Of course that means you need to run a cat 5(or better) cab;e between the two.
    I have cat5 cable, but it's just not a desirable option for me...
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 2,131 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    963
    Reputation
    42630

    Default

    Been a while since I needed to use them, but when in use they worked well -->

    Still sitting in a box somewhere at home...I'd send you one for postage cost but it'll be 2-3weeks before I get back to my place

  • #5
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    68
    Posts
    16,648
    Thanks
    15,664
    Thanked 31,055 Times in 8,185 Posts
    Rep Power
    12057
    Reputation
    566309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    Been a while since I needed to use them, but when in use they worked well -->

    Still sitting in a box somewhere at home...I'd send you one for postage cost but it'll be 2-3weeks before I get back to my place
    Thanks wotnot, but my nagometer imploded. Got a TP-Link extender and set it up. All is good.

    Thanks All.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #6
    Senior Member CONAXLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    783
    Thanks
    85
    Thanked 228 Times in 128 Posts
    Rep Power
    261
    Reputation
    2979

    Default

    I use one of these,they're 1.5 watt and has come down in price.Good if you got a double storey house and the signal does not reach on second floor.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Southeast US
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 21 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    71
    Reputation
    430

    Default

    One option could be to invest in a better access point with beamforming and upgradable antenna. (Replace antenna with better gain). I've not had great experience with Extenders. (Although, it is an option. )

  • #8
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    58
    Posts
    6,093
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 4,273 Times in 1,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    1661
    Reputation
    64068

    Default

    I'm not a fan of extenders either....

    Tplink do an excellent wall plate wifi 6 access point with 3 lan ports. It needs a cat 6 connection with poe.

    Or their av2000 powerline kit works very well, up to a 2 gigabit link. You could add an access point to one of the ports to save running a cat 6 cable through the house.

    I have one of the wall plates in the centre of the house, it's excellent.

    Even though the TV is 3m away from the wall plate, I use a pair of the powerline extenders as I much prefer hard wired connections for 4k streaming......

    Sent from my CPH2305 using Tapatalk
    FTTN, 400m line length, bit faster now with 2x100/20 connection via load balancing.....


  • 22-06-22, 02:00 AM

    Reason
    Do not post crap to increase post count to send unwelcome/uninvited PM's

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •