Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Oscilloscope repairer in Melbourne

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Oscilloscope repairer in Melbourne

    Hi Folks
    I hoping someone can recommend a repairer in Melbourne, who can fix an old school HP 54602B Oscilloscope
    The display is no longer working
    I borrowed this unit off a friend and would like to get it repaired before I return it
    If I had the skills I would try to fix it myself, but i'm electronically illiterate
    Thanks in advance



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19,272
    Thanks
    6,843
    Thanked 14,233 Times in 6,484 Posts
    Rep Power
    5248
    Reputation
    221710

    Default

    Thread moved to correct section.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thankyou

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    1,287
    Thanked 868 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    485
    Reputation
    16561

    Default

    If you are new to using a CRO, make sure the brightness is turned up before taking it in for repair. Apologies if you are already aware of this one, but it has caught a lot of electronics techs who should know better out over the years!

  • #5
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,254
    Thanks
    989
    Thanked 2,063 Times in 1,077 Posts
    Rep Power
    931
    Reputation
    41270

    Default

    If you do a search on 'HP 54602B display not working' you'll turn up lots of hits (including from Dave at eevblog)

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shred View Post
    If you are new to using a CRO, make sure the brightness is turned up before taking it in for repair. Apologies if you are already aware of this one, but it has caught a lot of electronics techs who should know better out over the years!
    Ah thanks Ill give this a go

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Cheers I see if someone on EEVblog might be able to point me in the right direction

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Unfortunately there is no brightness knob

  • #9
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    2,052
    Thanks
    1,033
    Thanked 1,120 Times in 671 Posts
    Rep Power
    598
    Reputation
    19558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Socket08 View Post
    Unfortunately there is no brightness knob
    Isn't "Intensity" the bottom left most control? Is there an "Autoset Button"?
    Might be better idea to tell your mate that you borrowed it from about your problem, and check that you haven't got something setup wrong. If it was mine, I'd want to know about any problem, even if you are prepared to get it fixed for him.

    Unlike the goose that borrowed my Wavetek Programmable Function Generator, to "wind back" an electronic odometer on a car, and stuffed it up, and didn't bother telling me.

  • #10
    Senior Member
    loopyloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    65
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    1,397
    Thanked 457 Times in 304 Posts
    Rep Power
    387
    Reputation
    7057

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Socket08 View Post
    Unfortunately there is no brightness knob
    Bottom left as mentioned.
    If the knob is missing, try poking a short piece of plastic tubing onto the potentiometer shaft so you can turn it, and set it perhaps about half way.

    Last edited by loopyloo; 22-04-22 at 11:24 AM.

  • #11
    Member
    RFI-EMI-GUY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    266
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 154 Times in 99 Posts
    Rep Power
    151
    Reputation
    3566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bob_m_54 View Post
    Isn't "Intensity" the bottom left most control? Is there an "Autoset Button"?
    Might be better idea to tell your mate that you borrowed it from about your problem, and check that you haven't got something setup wrong. If it was mine, I'd want to know about any problem, even if you are prepared to get it fixed for him.

    Unlike the goose that borrowed my Wavetek Programmable Function Generator, to "wind back" an electronic odometer on a car, and stuffed it up, and didn't bother telling me.
    I had no idea one could wind back an electronic ODO like that. Is it an I/Q type thing where two square waves 90 degrees apart are the trick? Only need to know for educational purposes.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    "Have Spectrum Analyzer, - Will travel".

  • #12
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    2,052
    Thanks
    1,033
    Thanked 1,120 Times in 671 Posts
    Rep Power
    598
    Reputation
    19558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RFI-EMI-GUY View Post
    I had no idea one could wind back an electronic ODO like that. Is it an I/Q type thing where two square waves 90 degrees apart are the trick? Only need to know for educational purposes.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
    To be honest, I don't know. the guy who's vehicle it was seemed to think it could be done. But then again, he ended up stuffing the function generator too.. So who knows.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •