Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 15 amp hoist

  1. #1
    Premium Member bazzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland, Australia, Earth
    Posts
    434
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
    Rep Power
    184
    Reputation
    805

    Default 15 amp hoist

    Hi All

    as part of some work that is being done at my house there is a car hoist being installed.

    I have been in touch with the car hoist mob and they have indicated that they want the shed wired up first. unfortunately in order to do this the bank needs to release the funds however to release the funds they have indicated they need to perform an inspection the property and sight the hoist along with the other components on the renovation to be present.

    I have asked the hoist company if they will please do their calibration with power supplied using a 15 amp power extension lead connected to a 15 amp outlet on the side of the house and they have indicated that the resistance of the lead will cause start up capacitors to fail.

    This sounds like bs to me. if a cable is rated to 15 amps that is its rating.

    Can anyone confirm?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,254
    Thanks
    989
    Thanked 2,063 Times in 1,077 Posts
    Rep Power
    931
    Reputation
    41270

    Default

    Depends on brand/model of hoist. the starting/working current requirement, type of motor/control used and length of wire run ~ it's not necessarily BS ...ie; many single phase hoists are rated around the 2.2kw -working- power, but initially at startup they can consume 3kw+....which is why they stipulate a 20amp supply circuit...(and this gets trickier if it's an inverter controlled motor...like our bore pump)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    freakee1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    somewhere warmer
    Posts
    1,409
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 729 Times in 390 Posts
    Rep Power
    389
    Reputation
    8434

    Default

    Single phase motors use capacitors to change the phase angle of the current during the moment of starting, hence creating the magnetic field which gets the motor moving.

    If they are not happy with a standard 15A lead (which is 1.5mm2) and high starting currents can cause a significant voltage drop. I would ask the hoist company if a 4mm2 lead would be suffice (this is good for 30A) and head off to Middy's or another Electrical Wholesalers and purchase the right length and get them to wire it in or create a super lead for your purposes.

    Caps typically won't fail - and are rated to handle large variances in voltages, but it can put the winding during the starting under duress momentarily.

    goodluck

    f
    Last edited by freakee1; 10-05-22 at 02:41 PM.
    有段者

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,185
    Thanks
    2,734
    Thanked 1,423 Times in 796 Posts
    Rep Power
    734
    Reputation
    25883

    Default

    Sounds like BS to me ,
    a sparkie will not install a fixed line to a hoist until the hoist is installed. Hence why hoist installers set up and commission the unit on fly leads off an extension cord

  • #5
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    323
    Thanked 159 Times in 85 Posts
    Rep Power
    244
    Reputation
    2664

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VroomVroom View Post
    Sounds like BS to me ,
    a sparkie will not install a fixed line to a hoist until the hoist is installed. Hence why hoist installers set up and commission the unit on fly leads off an extension cord
    Yea I have had 2 hoists installed in the past 5 years and know of 3 others and the installers had no problems commissioning them with a fly lead and extension cord

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •