Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: AEG diswasher issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default AEG diswasher issue

    i have an AEG FAV40760 dishwasher that is showing an anti-flood fault according to the error lights , no water in the base and its bone dry.
    I bypassed the switch in case it is faulty but still have the error lights and wont fill, possibly a case of needed the error to be cleared but nothing in the manual or anything i can find online for this model.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 2,131 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    963
    Reputation
    42630

    Default

    This doesn't look promising (error is non user serviceable)



    user manual:

    However, it's made by electrolux, and close match service manual would be:

    Perhaps that will be of use to you.

  • #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    This doesn't look promising (error is non user serviceable)



    user manual:

    However, it's made by electrolux, and close match service manual would be:

    Perhaps that will be of use to you.

    Yeah doesn't look like its possible to clear it without calling them.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 2,131 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    963
    Reputation
    42630

    Default



    That sort of infers the drain pump motor should be running to clear the fault ~ perhaps that pump (or power switching circuit) has failed? It'd be the first place I'd go sniffing around to see what's thrown the error code...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    gulliver (23-06-22)

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post


    That sort of infers the drain pump motor should be running to clear the fault ~ perhaps that pump (or power switching circuit) has failed? It'd be the first place I'd go sniffing around to see what's thrown the error code...
    Pump is working and i poured some water in and its draining properly, no water coming in though and there are no blockages.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 2,131 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    963
    Reputation
    42630

    Default

    M'kay...obviously it thinks it's flooded ~ did you check the operation/type of the anti-flood switch itself?...

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,094
    Thanks
    2,172
    Thanked 4,184 Times in 2,390 Posts
    Rep Power
    1922
    Reputation
    77178

    Default

    Dishwashers are like magnets for cockroaches and that base plate looks like an inviting place for a nest.
    Have you actually accessed that float switch?
    I am an arrogant, irritating RSole.

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    Dishwashers are like magnets for cockroaches and that base plate looks like an inviting place for a nest.
    Have you actually accessed that float switch?
    Yep, no roaches in this house. Float switch is dry and i even bypassed it to see if it was a faulty switch but no difference.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Johnno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    1,091
    Thanks
    1,384
    Thanked 2,026 Times in 513 Posts
    Rep Power
    1023
    Reputation
    40531

    Default

    I had a similar problem on my old Hotpoint. I had no idea how to reset the error. Same pump issue.
    So, I tried holding down different buttons while powering on, eventually holding the start button for 5 sec reset the washer.
    You could try similar.

  • #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnno View Post
    I had a similar problem on my old Hotpoint. I had no idea how to reset the error. Same pump issue.
    So, I tried holding down different buttons while powering on, eventually holding the start button for 5 sec reset the washer.
    You could try similar.
    I saw that mentioned for different AEG models but didn't work on mine, called AEG and off course they'll send out a technician for $185.

  • #11
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 2,131 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Rep Power
    963
    Reputation
    42630

    Default

    Bugger....it's always a bad sign when a known fault condition is listed as non user serviceable ~ the way it's described in the electrolux service manual, this system is there to protect against (quote) 'leaks and/or spills', and you can probably guess there's some activation counter in the MCU controller, that can correlate which part of the cycle it's in when the flood switch triggers, how often it triggers, to differentiate between a leak and/or spill condition....then again, I do recall some machines where the controller would fail not from roaches, but by steam/caustic fumes flowing past a section of the controller PCB used to corrode it to failure.

    My guess is resetting the fault code is one thing ; there may be something else (mechanical) that triggered it (and they already know what that is, and the user can't fix it =)

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,659
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 545 Times in 380 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    7698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    Bugger....it's always a bad sign when a known fault condition is listed as non user serviceable ~ the way it's described in the electrolux service manual, this system is there to protect against (quote) 'leaks and/or spills', and you can probably guess there's some activation counter in the MCU controller, that can correlate which part of the cycle it's in when the flood switch triggers, how often it triggers, to differentiate between a leak and/or spill condition....then again, I do recall some machines where the controller would fail not from roaches, but by steam/caustic fumes flowing past a section of the controller PCB used to corrode it to failure.

    My guess is resetting the fault code is one thing ; there may be something else (mechanical) that triggered it (and they already know what that is, and the user can't fix it =)
    Quite possibly, was working fine one minute and then the flashing lights. Looking for another machine now.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •