Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dual boot help

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    loopyloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    1,411
    Thanked 460 Times in 306 Posts
    Rep Power
    391
    Reputation
    7117

    Default Dual boot help

    My games computer has win7 on it to run a few games.
    I want to install another game that will only run on XP. So I created a second partition and installed XP as well.

    I thought boot would give me the option to pick which os I want, but it just jumps straight into XP.
    How do I make that option at boot ?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,472
    Thanks
    1,131
    Thanked 2,226 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1006
    Reputation
    44530

    Default


  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (21-07-22)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    loopyloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    1,411
    Thanked 460 Times in 306 Posts
    Rep Power
    391
    Reputation
    7117

    Default

    A day and a half later and I finally have a XP Win7 computer working. A very frustrating process on this one.
    I ended up using easybcd to get the dual boot at start up.
    Drivers were a huge problem and so was trying to get an internet connection.

    At last I was able to install the game, only to find it required a key which I didn't have. Now waiting for the seller to get back to me on that.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loopyloo For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (22-07-22)

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,472
    Thanks
    1,131
    Thanked 2,226 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1006
    Reputation
    44530

    Default

    Yeah....bcdedit/bootrec are annoying cmd tools at best ~ good to see folks out there creating GUI interface things like easybcd to access these tools and try ease the pain ( I don't use blowz so interesting to know =)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (23-07-22)

  • #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    83
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 180 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    236
    Reputation
    2694

    Default

    i always found it easier to have two hard drives with xp on one and 7 on the other one.f12 on boot up pick the hd you require

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to coalminer For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (23-07-22),lsemmens (24-07-22),wotnot (22-07-22)

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,472
    Thanks
    1,131
    Thanked 2,226 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1006
    Reputation
    44530

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coalminer View Post
    i always found it easier to have two hard drives with xp on one and 7 on the other one.f12 on boot up pick the hd you require
    +1

  • #7
    Senior Member
    loopyloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    1,411
    Thanked 460 Times in 306 Posts
    Rep Power
    391
    Reputation
    7117

    Default

    I might even clone the drive to a larger one (SSD) and add a win10 partition for later model games.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,412
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 923 Times in 428 Posts
    Rep Power
    1140
    Reputation
    39107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coalminer View Post
    i always found it easier to have two hard drives with xp on one and 7 on the other one.f12 on boot up pick the hd you require
    exactly what i do

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (23-07-22)

  • #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    83
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 180 Times in 77 Posts
    Rep Power
    236
    Reputation
    2694

    Default

    before you run xp on a ssd read this
    running windows xp on ssd on google

  • #10
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,043
    Thanks
    11,487
    Thanked 6,725 Times in 3,144 Posts
    Rep Power
    2979
    Reputation
    125760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    exactly what i do
    Ditto!
    Or I run wingewoes in a virtual box in Linux.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •